BetterPhoto Q&A
Category: New Questions

Photography Question 
Aimee S. McMaster
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/20/2005
Contact Aimee
Aimee's Gallery
 

how to save favorites on deluxe websites


how to save favorites on deluxe websites


To love this question, log in above
6/1/2010 11:46:01 AM

 
Gregory LaGrange
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/11/2003
gregorylagrange.org
  I think it works by when you click somebody's photo as being a favorite of yours , it shows up in your member center.


To love this comment, log in above
6/1/2010 1:26:06 PM

 
Aimee S. McMaster
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/20/2005
Contact Aimee
Aimee's Gallery
  ..thanks Gregory! I should have been more explicit; I meant, my customers are trying to save their favorites from their private galleries on my website & apparently the favorites disappear when they visit the website again!This is a new feature on the pro websites so I am not sure if it is even possible for them to be saved!


To love this comment, log in above
6/1/2010 1:30:57 PM

 
Gregory LaGrange
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/11/2003
gregorylagrange.org
  I see. Don't know about that. Maybe they need a deluxe site or gallery of their own.
I saw in the descriptions that pro sites have visitor stats, but it didn't explain how anything works.
Could be something about their computer retaining cookies form websites.


To love this comment, log in above
6/1/2010 1:50:53 PM

 
Jeff Moore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/28/2006
  The way the Favorite feature works is when a person marks a photo as a Favorite, a cookie is written in their browser cache that associates that browser on that computer with that Deluxe/Pro BetterPholio in our database. As long as the visitor comes back using the same computer/browser combination and the cookie is still intact, they will see a customized gallery titled My Favorites on that Deluxe/Pro BetterPholio's Gallery page. that My Favorites gallery will contain every photo they've marked as a favorite on that website. If a different browser on the same computer is used, or a different computer, or the cookie is deleted, there will be no My Favorites gallery listed for them.

I hope that helps you understand how this new feature works.


To love this comment, log in above
6/21/2010 7:05:34 PM

 
Log in to respond or ask your own question.