Online Photo Course - Creative Close-ups with Kerry Drager

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Creative Close-ups Photography Course
Course Instructor: Kerry Drager
4-Week Short Course: Creative Close-ups

Find out how close-at-hand subjects can result in larger-than-life images. Detail photos provide the accent that can set a mood, reveal pattern, line, and shape, and add visual variety to your collection of photographs. As instructor and author Kerry Drager will show you, the more intimate view can often reveal more about a subject than the broader scene! This class will show you how to use either everyday camera gear or specialized macro equipment to capture great close-up (and sometimes abstract) images of just about anything - nature subjects, still life scenes, architectural details, close-up portraits, etc.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Creative Close-ups


First 10 of 46 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Kalena Randall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/13/2011
Contact Kalena
Kalena's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2014 5:44:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2014 5:44:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2014 5:44:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2014 5:44:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2014 5:44:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Kerry Drager is a excellent instructor. His lessons are clear and concise, yet very informative. All of the sample photos help to demonstrate the concepts in each lesson very well. I learned a bunch by looking and comparing each photo as well as Kerry's teaching of the concepts.

The evaluations were completely positive. They helped me enjoy the class and gave me a strong desire to accomplish the next lesson.

Kerry's additional tips in each lesson were great in helping me get what I needed for each photo I took. His insights also helped me to develop the habit of constantly looking around me for a photo to take even if I didn't gave my camera - a great habit to develop!

I would recommend his classes and articles to anyone who wishes to advance their photography skills. I'm looking forward to taking his 8-week course.

2/1/2014 5:44:47 PM
 
Jan Marshall 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2012 4:29:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2012 4:29:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2012 4:29:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2012 4:29:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/3/2012 4:29:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learnt so much on this course .Even though I had read about some of the different aspects of this course
I really began to understand so much more.Kerry gave very supportive and helpful critiques and wouldn't hesitate to do another course with him. I have gained so much more confidence in the last four weeks.
10/3/2012 4:29:01 AM
 
Ralph McBride IV
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/2/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2012 1:19:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2012 1:19:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2012 1:19:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2012 1:19:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2012 1:19:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great class and would recommend to anyone. I look at every scene differently after taking this class and see photo opportunities everywhere. Mr. Drager provides great feedback and is willing to answer any question and will supply supplemental reading to strengthen his feedback. GREAT CLASS!!
9/26/2012 1:19:33 PM
 
Joan M. Reuben 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2012 7:57:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2012 7:57:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2012 7:57:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2012 7:57:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/18/2012 7:57:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
"I really enjoyed being a part of your Creative Close-ups class. It was fun and I really learned a lot of valuable information. The thing that stands out the most is your emphasis on light while taking close-ups. This has opened up a whole new world of photographic possibilities for me. Now I long for cloudy days!! I hope I will able to take other classes with you in the near future. Thank you again, Kerry!
9/18/2012 7:57:56 AM
 
stephen barney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:38:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:38:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:38:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:38:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:38:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is such a good course and Kerry is fantastic. If you can only ever do one more bettephoto course in your life, do this one. Kerry has an amazing way of engaging with the class. He was quick to respond and we had long ongoing conversations as a group that helped me to learn far more. I cannot praise this class - and especially its instructor - highly enough.
6/12/2012 2:38:15 AM
 
Janice Carter
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/23/2010
Contact Janice
Janice's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2012 3:00:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2012 3:00:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2012 3:00:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2012 3:00:21 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/2/2012 3:00:21 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an amazing course. The sidebars that Kerry gives are worth the price of the course by themselves. He is so helpful and his critiques are very spot-on. He tells you what is right and what is wrong with the photo and explains how to make it better. The technical aspects of the course are very easy to understand and to put into practice. You get so much more for your money with this one! I strongly recommend this course; I only wish it were 8 weeks...it is worth 8 weeks!
6/2/2012 3:00:21 PM
 
Carol A. Grady
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/23/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2011 6:57:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2011 6:57:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2011 6:57:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2011 6:57:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/23/2011 6:57:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This review is late as I just got back from vacation.

Kerry Drager is the BEST! This is the second course I've taken from him. All I can say is that I have taken many courses from many different instructors, from many different sites. His instruction, tips and techniques, and believe it or not - his voice is in the back of my head telling me how to get that perfect shot. His critiques are gentle, but right on. His instruction is clear and precise. His recommendations for a better shot after the critique show you how you can improve. Need I go on? Take this course.

You will not be sorry.

Carol Grady
Another pleased that I took another course from BP student!

9/23/2011 6:57:05 PM
 
Rebecca  West 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2011 2:38:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2011 2:38:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2011 2:38:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2011 2:38:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2011 2:38:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent course. I learned so much about composition, lighting, and creative ways to shoot in macro. Kerry's critiques were very helpful, too. Highly recommend this course! Rebecca West
7/7/2011 2:38:35 PM
 
Maureen M. Reschke
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/26/2009
maureen-reschke-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 12:14:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 12:14:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 12:14:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 12:14:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 12:14:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Creative Close-ups with Kerry Drager has been a remarkable class. Because of the close- nature of the assignments, I became more comfortable with my camera, my tripod, and even began using a remote shutter release. I also began to really analyze my focusing and learned how to readjust for close-up situations. Most importantly, I began to find art everywhere, and now my eyes find a great photo opportunity every day in the most ordinary circumstances. Whether macro is your thing or not- this is a great class that re-energizes your love of photography. Thanks, Kerry!
7/6/2011 12:14:22 PM
 
Sandra Oliver 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2011 4:08:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2011 4:08:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2011 4:08:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2011 4:08:55 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2011 4:08:55 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This course encourages the participant to look at the world in a different way. It was both interesting and informative. The teacher was positive in his manner of judging the work done by the students. He answered question immediately. I recommend the class.
6/29/2011 4:08:55 PM
 
Henrik Herskind
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/8/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2011 8:46:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2011 8:46:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2011 8:46:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2011 8:46:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2011 8:46:43 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I felt very inspired during this course.

I can get better on making macros, but the whole "closing-up" thinking is extremely valuable for making better photos. I even managed to do a wideangle close-up that I didn't imagine would be part of this course!

I missed some more interaction between the students themselves. But never feel shy coming to one of Kerry's courses! He will lead you the way gently and very thouroughly. And be prepared for the day the course ends. You're gonna miss it!

/Henrik

5/6/2011 8:46:43 AM
 

First 10 of 46 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist