Online Photo Course - Photoshop: Creative Techniques with Jim Zuckerman

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Photoshop: Creative Techniques Photography Course
Course Instructor: Jim Zuckerman
Photoshop: Creative Techniques

Through these innovative methods, create almost anything you can imagine in your mind. Join us for Jim Zuckerman for his 8-week beyond-the-basics Photoshop course - Creative Techniques in Photoshop - open to Photoshop users of every level. Jim will show you how to make reflections, flawlessly composite photos, hand color black and white images, turn a photo into a painting, create silhouettes, use layer modes, and more.

Category: Photoshop Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Photoshop: Creative Techniques


First 10 of 35 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Mike Weimer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2013 2:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2013 2:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2013 2:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2013 2:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/4/2013 2:59:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim really stretched my imagination. Not only did I learn to use parts of Photoshop that I was unfamiliar with - I learned to evaluate my images in different ways. I used to just look at them in terms of how they might fit a judge's criteria for our local camera club competitions. Now, in addition, I look at them for their potential to go beyond the obvious and look for ways to stretch the content. Not all will fit the latter criteria, but at least I'll be aware of the opportunity.
9/4/2013 2:59:20 PM
 
Aernout Zevenbergen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/16/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2012 3:31:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2012 3:31:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2012 3:31:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2012 3:31:36 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2012 3:31:36 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Yet another perfect course by Jim Zuckerman, my favourite instructor here at BetterPhoto.com. As always, very clear, very experienced, and his critique is fair and honest. No unnecessary niceties: businesslike and, usually, spot-on.
6/21/2012 3:31:36 AM
 
Sue Brown-Moseman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/30/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2012 12:21:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2012 12:21:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2012 12:21:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2012 12:21:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2012 12:21:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thought I knew a lot about PS, but quickly realized that there were many PS techniques in this course that I was not aware of and definitely needed to know.
2/28/2012 12:21:57 PM
 
Carla Maddox
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2011 10:22:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2011 10:22:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2011 10:22:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2011 10:22:49 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2011 10:22:49 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Creative Techniques with Jim Zuckerman pushes students to expand their Photo Shop skills in areas new photographers really don't think about, i.e., portraiture, reflections, combining elements from 2 or more photos. This course helps us to "think outside the box" when it comes to creativity. It isn't about the assignments, it's about the tools that are available and how to use them - knowledge of tools that can separate photographers by degrees of creativity and saleability.
6/28/2011 10:22:49 AM
 
Adrienne L. Hill 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2011 10:51:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2011 10:51:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2011 10:51:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2011 10:51:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2011 10:51:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the 3rd course I have taken with Jim and I find that his straight forward approach suits my learning style perfectly. I now feel comfortable with Photoshop and am excited about the amazing effects that can be accomplished quite easily. I also liked how Jim would critique the photo and give tips on lighting, aperture, graphic design etc. Not only did I improve my Photoshop skills (which were next to none before this course)but I learned something about photography too.
3/15/2011 10:51:44 AM
 
Carolyn McIntosh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/3/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2011 9:41:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2011 9:41:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2011 9:41:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2011 9:41:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2011 9:41:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim Zuckerman in hands down the best online instructor I have ever had. His comments are respectful, honest and caring. His travel schedule allows a bit more time to get assignments done which is always a good thing !!!!

I will look for his courses in the future as I work my way towards certification. It has been a pleasure to be in his class and to learn from such a gifted professional.

2/23/2011 9:41:53 AM
 
Thomas Eriksson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 9:07:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 9:07:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 9:07:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 9:07:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/12/2010 9:07:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Good course and Teacher.
Recommended
3/12/2010 9:07:49 AM
 
Pamela L. Moore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 3:47:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 3:47:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 3:47:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 3:47:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2010 3:47:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I think Jim does a great job explaining, but not all photoshop programs go with his instructions which gets a bit frustrating. I did learn a lot and happy I walk away with the knowledge I received from this class. Nothing against Jim. He was a good teacher, just different photoshops are set up differently.
3/2/2010 3:47:44 PM
 
Sarah A. Christian
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/31/2008
schristian-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 5:12:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 5:12:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 5:12:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 5:12:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2009 5:12:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class was one of the very best I have yet taken and Jim has made it so. His own love of and passion for photography is contagious. The class outline and his willingness to work with each of us on any challenge or question makes the learning process so much easier to come by. Alot of things came together in this course for me and my photos. The digital darkroom is a very exciting place, and the new techniques I have learned I am already using repeatedly. I also miss the class already and the challenges we had each week. Outstanding altogether, and I come away with so much more than I had when I started! Thank you, Jim, and BP!
Sarah Christian
6/11/2009 5:12:59 AM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2009 9:30:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2009 9:30:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2009 9:30:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2009 9:30:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2009 9:30:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
While I found this course a major challenge because my brain missed important information. I later realized this information was in the lessons. Jim Zuckerman assisted students with repeated walk throughs (telephone calls and a just released DVD) which helped me personally in conquering my missing data. Now, I can enjoy the wonderfully Creative Techniques of his instruction. Jim is extremely helpful in providing efficient, yet helpful critiques, and patiently repeated gentle guidance. I am grateful to him for teaching us techniques outside the box.
4/4/2009 9:30:58 AM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2009 6:14:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2009 6:14:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2009 6:14:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2009 6:14:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/7/2009 6:14:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I don't know what I'm going to do with myself now that Creative Techniques is over. I'm going to miss Jim Zuckerman and my classmates. I've learned so much, more than any other instruction taken anywhere, all the way back to the fall of 1960 when I began studying photography in college.

Never thought I'd enjoy digital darkroom as much as I do now, thanks to Jim. However, my education is not over. I've only just begun.

We are spending what's left of our retirement money on education, and my education with photography is continuous. I've become addicted to instruction through BetterPhoto.com as all my instructors to date have been patient and helpful, offering good critiques.

So does Jim, but he does more.. When a student, such as myself, just doesn't understand or cannot get action to take place, Jim telephoned twice and walked me through my problem areas. On the telephone, he asked questions and diagnosed the reason I was having so much trouble and came up with a solution that worked! No other instructor has done this in this way for me and I'm extremely indebted.

This helped with my learning experience. But, I wish there was a way to share problems we have each had because I learn from the mistakes of others, as well as my own. I like the personal telephone calls but, they are one on one and not shared with the group at large. This means that others cannot learn from my mistakes, if they wish to avoid pitfalls. On the other hand, Jim may be putting problems that others have had into his lesson, for he lets us know precise ways to attain desired effects. Deviation from those directions can be disastrous as far as achievement is concerned.

Jim Zuckerman is a superior instructor and I'm so thankful I was able to take Creative Techniques under his guidance.

3/7/2009 6:14:48 PM
 

First 10 of 35 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist