Online Photo Course - A Darkroom Called Lightroom with Rob Sheppard

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: A Darkroom Called Lightroom Photography Course
Course Instructor: Rob Sheppard
4-Week Short Course: A Darkroom Called Lightroom

Learn to bring out the best in your images by using Adobe Lightroom to its full potential in video-based course. Lightroom lets us apply traditional darkroom techniques to our photography. Instructor is pro photographer Rob Sheppard, editor-at-large of Outdoor Photographer magazine and author of over 30 books about photography. A challenge we all face is that the camera does not see the world exactly as we do. Therefore, photos coming straight from the camera can be misleading or even wrong. In this course, you'll learn how Lightroom's great tools can help you better interpret and more accurately translate reality into a photo.

NOTE: Updated for Lightroom 5! Also, this interactive course features video lessons!

Category: Photoshop Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: A Darkroom Called Lightroom


First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Rajiv Chopra
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/25/2006
Contact Rajiv
Rajiv's Gallery
crookedimagez.biz
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2014 8:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2014 8:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2014 8:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2014 8:13:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2014 8:13:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent course. This is, in fact, the third that I have done with Rob, and I did all three on the trot.
The videos are excellent, and very clear. His passion for the subject rings true in his voice.
His critiques are sharp, to the point, and respectful.
At the end of the Lightroom course, I fell in love with Lightroom, and a lot of the credit for this goes to Rob
4/30/2014 8:13:24 PM
 
Lucia Cooper 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2014 12:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2014 12:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2014 12:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2014 12:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2014 12:20:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob Sheppard's 4-Week Course "A Darkroom Called Lightroom" is excellent. By the end of the course, you will be fully competent to adjust photos in Lightroom.
2/8/2014 12:20:39 PM
 
Richard J. Boyle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2013
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2014 9:03:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2014 9:03:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2014 9:03:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2014 9:03:22 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2014 9:03:22 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob Sheppard is an insightful instructor whose review and critique of your work goes the extra mile. In each assignment Mr. Sheppard picked one image from each student and utilized it to emphasize the salient points of the week's assignment. Mr. Sheppard suggested outside reading and highlighted several texts for additions to students' libraries: Andreas Feininger's Principles of Composition in Photography and Ansel Adams' The Print, as two noteworthy examples.

The videos in the course were well crafted and imparted significant knowledge and were the key to successful learning. Being able to review all course materials and videos for up to a year after course completion is an added bonus.

Mr. Sheppard encouraged students with unique photographic perspectives and challenged those of us who are less gifted.

This is a definite "two thumbs up" course taught by an instructor obvious taken with all that photography has to offer. It was a pleasure taking it.

Dick Boyle

1/1/2014 9:03:22 AM
 
Rebecca Barkley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/27/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2013 1:03:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2013 1:03:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2013 1:03:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2013 1:03:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2013 1:03:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a fantastic class! If you don't know how to develop in LR, you'll definitely want to take this. Rob is a great instructor- always helpful, and has a great eye for analyzing what a photo needs. My photos have really improved as a result of this class!
12/5/2013 1:03:16 PM
 
Nancy de Flon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/24/2006
Contact Nancy
Nancy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2013 6:09:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2013 6:09:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2013 6:09:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2013 6:09:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2013 6:09:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent intro to the basics of processing photos in LR. As always, Rob is an excellent, thorough, dedicated teacher, clearly interested in each student and their work. You get your money's worth in Rob's courses. A brilliant idea of BetterPhoto to offer these video-based courses; especially useful for one such as this, covering processing techniques.
6/7/2013 6:09:42 PM
 
Mark Calibo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/8/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2013 11:54:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2013 11:54:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2013 11:54:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2013 11:54:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2013 11:54:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a must course for all LR users. Rob does a great job of taking your photographs from dull and simplistic to ones with balance and pop
3/3/2013 11:54:53 AM
 
Nora Leonard 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2013 7:35:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2013 7:35:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2013 7:35:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2013 7:35:12 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/23/2013 7:35:12 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
While I have been working in Lightroom before the course, Rob presented some tools that I had not used frequently - ie., graduated filter and adjustment brush. These tools don't seem as intimidating as they were before. Thanks !!!!!
2/23/2013 7:35:12 AM
 
Denise Aulie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/19/2007
deniseauliephotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2013 11:51:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2013 11:51:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2013 11:51:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2013 11:51:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2013 11:51:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This course has helped me not only post-process in a more fluid way, but has explained why certain adjustments work and why they don't. Those "whys" are important. I appreciate Rob's reviews of each student's work which are lessons in themselves with pointed, specific critiques and instructions with just enough repetition to make things stick. There is no doubt that this course was transformational for me both before and after taking the shot. I feel this Lightroom instruction is a "must do" and I wish I had taken it years sooner. Thank you Rob.
1/7/2013 11:51:30 AM
 
Kalena Randall
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/13/2011
Contact Kalena
Kalena's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2013 1:25:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2013 1:25:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2013 1:25:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2013 1:25:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2013 1:25:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great Class! It was very informative on the use of LR4 and the local adjustments. I enjoyed the learning experience of this class. I would definitely recommend it. I have been using LR for a while, but didn't know about the local adjustments in it. I also now view my photos in more ways and that is very helpful to getting the best photo I can get. I find myself looking through the view finder very differently!

Thanks Rob and Better Photo for a great class! Looking forward to my next one!

1/3/2013 1:25:16 PM
 
sigal petersen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/25/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2012 7:47:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2012 7:47:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2012 7:47:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2012 7:47:41 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2012 7:47:41 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for a fabulous class! I have definitely understood and learned Lightroom, and along with it, I feel like I have stepped up in my photography. Thank you very much again!
6/15/2012 7:47:41 AM
 
stephen barney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:56:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:56:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:56:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:56:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2012 2:56:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
DO THIS CLASS
This class was brilliant and useful from the get go, the first lesson sets you up to dramatically improve every photo you take and the lessons build from there. Robs basic methodology is excellent and can make even the drabbest photos pop.

I highly recomend this class great class great instructor I am sad this one is over

6/12/2012 2:56:30 AM
 

First 10 of 19 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist