Online Photo Course - The Creative Use of Shutter Speed with Doug Steakley

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: The Creative Use of Shutter Speed Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Doug Steakley
4-Week Short Course: The Creative Use of Shutter Speed

Learn how to create dazzling photos through the creative use of shutter speed. In this exciting 4-week online course - taught by pro photographer and author Doug Steakley - we will photograph a variety of subjects and shoot at various shutter or exposure speeds to see the differences. Fast exposures freeze the action, for example, while slower exposures allow subject motion to become soft or blurry. The class will also examine how aperture and ISO settings work together with shutter speeds to create different photographic effects.

Category: Lighting / Exposure
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: The Creative Use of Shutter Speed


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Utila Matzke
Contact Utila
Utila's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2012 4:00:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2012 4:00:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2012 4:00:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2012 4:00:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/9/2012 4:00:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I want to thank Doug for this exciting class. He is a great teacher and I learned a lot from his classes, his critiques, his comments and advice. I didn't expect the course to be so interesting, it is fascinating what your can do with your cameara's shutter speed.
12/9/2012 4:00:50 PM
 
Denise Aulie
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/19/2007
deniseauliephotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2012 4:17:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2012 4:17:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2012 4:17:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2012 4:17:55 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2012 4:17:55 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
There are courses where one learns and then there are courses where one learns and leaps. That is what Creative Use of Shutter Speed did for me. Doug is the finest of instructors. His individualized comments and critiques made you feel that you had a personal tutor cheering you on. I appreciate that he treated every one with focused attention and responded to all submissions in a very timely and thorough manner. A great plus was the atmosphere he created to let us know we could ask any question regarding photography specifically and generally. Besides his own phenomenal photography to compliment the lessons, his step by step explanations were just what was needed to nail each technique down. It was work and it was fun. I really could not ask any more of a course and feel any level of photographer would see a major improvement in his images by taking absorbing all he could from these lessons. I look forward to future learning and leaping in other courses with Doug's over-the-top capable instruction.
8/20/2012 4:17:55 PM
 
Carmen GUTIERREZ
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/9/2011
Contact Carmen
Carmen's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2012 6:53:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2012 6:53:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2012 6:53:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2012 6:53:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2012 6:53:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course has learned me a lot about the possibility with the camera and made me discovered new artistic aspects of the photography. Thank you Doug for your help and your comments. I was also amazed by the quality of the photos presented by my class mates. It is really inspiring. I really recommend this course to others students to open a new door to your photography.
4/8/2012 6:53:51 AM
 
Stephanie Lewis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/27/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 4:30:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 4:30:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 4:30:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 4:30:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 4:30:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an outstanding course. The best part of the course is Doug's thorough and constructive feedback. His feedback was very individualized. I have not done much with motion in my photography so this course really broadened my skill set and Doug did a good job of pushing me to stretch beyond my comfort zone. I'd consider taking this course again once I further developed my skills just to get Doug's feedback and another push to stretch even more.
11/9/2011 4:30:46 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2011 12:06:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2011 12:06:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2011 12:06:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2011 12:06:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2011 12:06:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Doug is an excellent instructor and photographer. His website is informative and his way of discussing topics helps you to see it as well as feel it as the art that photography is. I have learned a lot from his lessons and critiques. I highly recommend his course to those who choose to learn more and are will to try new things. I especially appreciate his helpful insights into night photography.
9/8/2011 12:06:57 PM
 
Deborah C. Lewinson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/25/2003
Contact Deborah
Deborah's Gallery
newjerseyphotos.net
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2011 7:46:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2011 7:46:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2011 7:46:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2011 7:46:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2011 7:46:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
After taking the Basic Masks in Photoshop course, I was looking forward to another workshop with Doug Steakley, As always, Doug’s lessons are informative and his feedback is timely and invaluable. The Creative Use of Shutter opened up creative possibilities I had not dreamed of. While basic camera knowledge and experience are necessary pre-requisites, I would rate this workshop as excellent for all levels of photographers. In just four weeks Doug’s lessons build from the basics to the unlimited possibilities of impressionistic and expressionistic images that come right out of the camera. Doug gives you the tools to continually explore the Creative Use of Shutter, something I plan to do every chance I get.
8/3/2011 7:46:20 PM
 
Kerry L. Stewart
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/3/2009
Contact Kerry
Kerry's Gallery
kerrystewartphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2011 6:55:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2011 6:55:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2011 6:55:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2011 6:55:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2011 6:55:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
"The Creative Use of Shutter Speed" is an important course to help one gain a better understanding of all facets of photography. Doug Steakley is a great teacher and helps each student gain a better understanding of shutter speed and its relationship to DOF and ISO and how to use this understanding to obtain the desired image. Doug will answer any question (photoshop, etc.) and by the end of this course, one should be able to freeze motion, blur water, shoot stars or fireworks, and even shoot under the moonlight. This is a very enjoyable course and I highly recommend it to those considering taking it.
7/8/2011 6:55:57 PM
 
Christine Greenspan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/19/2009
FeelBetterPhotos.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2011 3:32:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2011 3:32:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2011 3:32:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2011 3:32:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2011 3:32:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for a wonderful class! I've taken a lot of classes with BetterPhoto, but I absolutely enjoyed this the most. It's opened an entire new world of photography for me. I never would have thought to use the shutter in such creative ways. The class was fun, challenging and exciting. It made me see new possibilities!
4/8/2011 3:32:52 PM
 
Jinie Ahn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/22/2009
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2011 12:40:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2011 12:40:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2011 12:40:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2011 12:40:58 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2011 12:40:58 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
At first time I thought the fee was too expensive. But I found later that this class would be open for a year so that students can upload photos and get some feedback from instructors. If it is right, this class is worth more than I expect. I can't compare the instructor, Doug with others because this is my first class, but I can tell he is one of the best. He is willing to teach most techniques and motivate students.
I'll recommend this class to my friend as well as take other classes in the future.
4/7/2011 12:40:58 PM
 
David B. Dawson
Contact David
David's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2011 11:55:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2011 11:55:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2011 11:55:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2011 11:55:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2011 11:55:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I feel incredibly fortunate to have stumbled into this class. What was a budding curiosity about the ways to use shutter speed to freeze motion or add blur to action photos has now become an all-out passion. After working with Doug for four weeks, I have gained both a firm grasp of the possibilities inherent in varied shutter speeds and a great deal of confidence in employing these new (to me) techniques.

Doug's lessons were challenging but always well-explained and relevant. His critiques were firm but always positive, encouraging, and almost frighteningly on-target. By this I mean that he would spot the parts of an image that I was unsure of -- or that I knew was not as strong as it could be -- and rather than make it an issue, he'd offer exactly the right advice about how to fix things up and avoid similar problems in the future.

All in all I can't recommend this class highly enough. I learned way more than new ways to use shutter speeds -- in the end, I learned a lot about what I want to do in taking photos, and how to go about creating art from beams of light.

4/5/2011 11:55:34 PM
 

10 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist