D3s Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Riverside Panoram...
View photos created with this camera

Features:

  • 12.1-megapixel, FX-format CMOS sensor; 720p HD video capture
  • Body only; lenses sold separately
  • Low-noise ISO sensitivity from 200 to 12,800; continuous shooting up to 9fps
  • Fast, accurate 51-point AF system; Nikon EXPEED image processing
  • 3-inch super-density 921,000-dot VGA LCD; one-button Live View with two shooting modes
  • Dual CF card slots with overflow, backup and copy options (CF card not included); up to 4,300 images per battery charge

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


4 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Don L. Trammell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/28/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2011 8:07:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2011 8:07:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2011 8:07:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2011 8:07:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/21/2011 8:07:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am more and more amazed every time I try something with this camera. To date, I have not seen any camera that can match its low light sensitivity or sports/action modes. While still shooting only at 12.1mp, I think Nikon wanted to have a pure high-end action camera for the outdoor and sports enthusiasts. The D3x has the higher pixel density but does not match the D3s in overall shooting performance. Expensive but worth every penny. Just waiting for Nikon to release the D4 or whatever they will call it so I can gift my D3s to my daughter.
5/21/2011 8:07:53 AM
 
Toby Drye
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/12/2010
Contact Toby
Toby's Gallery
DryeImages.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 11:09:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 11:09:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 11:09:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 11:09:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2011 11:09:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have used mine for a month now and I am continually impressed with its capabilities. It is like going from an old Volkswagon to a Mercedes. Its' hard to beat this camera.
5/11/2011 11:09:57 AM
 
kathy martinez 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2011 9:32:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2011 9:32:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2011 9:32:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2011 9:32:18 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/19/2011 9:32:18 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The only way I can think of that would make this camera better is to increase the number of pixels and still retain the quality of the images shot at high ISO. That camera doesn't exist. The Nikon D3X detail would be over the top.
2/19/2011 9:32:18 AM
 
Paul Parent
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/27/2004
Contact Paul
Paul's Gallery
paulparent.org
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2011 4:12:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2011 4:12:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2011 4:12:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2011 4:12:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2011 4:12:47 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Easy to use,
Great for its high ISO,
Expensive but well worth it
1/16/2011 4:12:47 AM
 

4 Reviews  

Buy D3s Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com