EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Broken Holly
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera

Features:

  • 21.1-megapixel full-frame CMOS sensor, 14-bit A/D conversion, wide range ISO setting 100-6400
  • Body only; lenses sold separately
  • DIGIC 4 Image Processor; high-performance 3.9 fps continuous shooting; Live View Function for stills
  • Full HD video capture at 1920x1080 resolution for up to 4GB per clip ; HDMI output
  • Updated EOS Integrated Cleaning System specifically designed to work with a full-frame sensor

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


3 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Morgan E. Nelson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2010 10:05:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2010 10:05:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2010 10:05:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2010 10:05:12 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2010 10:05:12 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an amazing bit of gear. The colors are very true and the captured detail is phenomenal. I have both the 7D and the 5D kits. I am currently selling my 7D kit to purchase a second 5D body.

It is the best DSLR I have used for both portrait and landscape/naturescape photography. It is a bit weak when it comes to Sports/Action photography, but understanding it's limitations allows you to compensate and make it work.

There is a reason why the 5D Mark II is so incredibly popular amongst photographers. The results are unbeaten among DSLRs at it's price range.

8/5/2010 10:05:12 AM
 
Rita Jane Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/22/2004
ritajane-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2010 10:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2010 10:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2010 10:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2010 10:38:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2010 10:38:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Carlton,

You are right, this camera is totally awesome, I never dreamed the color, and clarity and full frame sensor would make so much difference in a photograph. I am having some problems with the camera because I never realized how different it is from the Canon 300D, 20D, 40D as well as the 50D...

There are NO PHD buttons on this camera... PHD?? Push Here Dummy buttons! LOL, this is a real photographers camera, I thought I was prepared for the EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera style... Oh how little prepared I was... I have to go back to my photography school books and really pay attention to what was taught by my professors.

I do believe once I learn to manually use this camera, the 5D and I will be inseparable! It truly is a great camera... To anyone who reads this, do your homework on what the camera will do, it does not come with an auto flash and all the easy buttons the other cameras come with and it is expensive however, it is well worth the money when you see your photo's... Shooting in RAW and doing very, very little to the photo makes this camera the best I have used....

I can't wait to use this camera with my 500mm lens and see what photo it will produce; I have yet to catch that elusive American Bald Eagle....

Good wishes to all of those who own it and all that will.......
Rita Jane


7/11/2010 10:38:53 PM
 
Carlton Ward
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/13/2005
Contact Carlton
Carlton's Gallery
carltonwardphoto.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2010 11:59:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2010 11:59:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2010 11:59:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2010 11:59:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2010 11:59:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I cant believe I am the 1st here at BP to review this camera. The Canon 5D Mark II is the camera I have wanted before it even came out. I started with a 20D and decided to build my lens collection instead of going for the original 5D (which had many features I wanted but not all) and was biding my time for the Mark II to come out. I did pick up a used 1DS in the meantime and I didn't think Canon would wait as long as they did to release the Mark II but the wait was worth it as they hit this one out of the park :)
Full frame 24x36mm, self cleaning sensor, 21mp, ISO50 to ISO25600, 3.9fps, large LCD & viewfinder, 1080p video (which I have yet to try out), Digic 4 processor, and it doesn't weigh a ton (like my 1DS). The resolution is superior to any camera I have ever used.
My very 1st shots with the camera were in a low light club and I photographed a band using very high ISO3200 & even 6400 just to test it out a bit and I could not believe the noise level was minimal and the images are usable. My passion is landscape mountains & waterfalls and I know immediately when I snap the shot, its going to be good and while downloading the images I am smiling at the sharpness, clarity & resolution of the images. I do use L glass but my images never looked as good on my 40D & 1DS.
There is nothing more I would want on this camera - it has everything I desire and I dont think I will need to upgrade for many years to come. 21mp images are huge and I have had to invest in larger/faster CF cards and added (2) 1TB hard drives to accommodate the files. The CR2 (raw) files cant be read by my current Photoshop CS3 and I have been reluctant to upgrade to CS4 (which does read them) so I was converting them to DNG files until last week when I downloaded Lightroom3 (beta) which does read the .CR2 raw files.
The 21mb raw file converted to an uncompressed 16 bit tif file comes out to 120MB, hence the larger hard drive necessity.
The controls & menu layout are also very easy (similar to my 40D) and I can change ISO, aperture & shutter speed - shooting manually quickly & easily. The battery life so far has also been impressive. I have filled several 8GB CF cards and the battery is still going strong.
For my style of shooting - the Canon 5D Mark II is the perfect camera.
Go buy one and you will be smiling like me :)
Love in Light,
Carlton

3/30/2010 11:59:42 AM
 

3 Reviews  

Buy EOS 5D Mark II Digital SLR Camera  from Amazon.com