D300 Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

summer-wine
View photos created with this camera

The D300 Digital SLR Camera

Features:

  • 12.3-megapixel captures enough detail for poster-size photo-quality prints
  • Kit includes 18-200mm f3.5-5.6G ED-IF AF-S VR DX Nikkor zoom lens
  • 3.0-inch LiveView LCD display; new 51-point AF system
  • In burst mode, shoots up to 100 shots at full 12.3-megapixel resolution
  • Self-cleaning sensor unit; magnesium alloy construction with rubber gaskets and seals





© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Stan Kwasniowski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2012 9:19:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2012 9:19:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2012 9:19:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2012 9:19:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2012 9:19:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
What a beautiful camera to use, it's heavy, but the images that this camera produces is awesome. Nothing on the market now that I would change for, well maybe the D800 when it comes out, but for now, if you have one "enjoy, and if you don't, well try one" and you will be sold
3/9/2012 9:19:47 AM
 
Christine Turek
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/4/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2010 9:16:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2010 9:16:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2010 9:16:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2010 9:16:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2010 9:16:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It took me a little while to get use to this camera, it was a little larger and heavier then my last camera, but I really enjoy using it. It s fast and sharp, detail is great... I recommend this camera!!
3/17/2010 9:16:34 AM
 
Phil Young 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2008 7:52:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2008 7:52:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2008 7:52:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2008 7:52:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2008 7:52:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Nikon D3x Conclusions

Many of you will know that I changed from my Canon system to use the amazing Nikon D3 and now have two of these plus a Nikon D700. It seemed obvious to me last year that Nikon had to bring out a high resolution DSLR and the forums have been alive these past few months with rumours and speculation. There will of course be a lot of negative comments about the Nikon D3x as it does not provide many new features to a gizmo obsessed audience. But the Nikon D3x is not targeted for the average photographer on the street; it is a high performance camera that is targeted squarely at professional photographers. More specifically I see that the Nikon D3x is targeted at the fields of nature, landscape, fashion, studio and social photography whilst the Nikon D3 will still reign supreme in sports. These photographers, with the small exception of nature that I will cover in a minute, need a bigger file size from their existing cameras. The Nikon D3x certainly provides that, in fact it is a 100% increase, and that alone is worth the price. Frame rate at 5fps is acceptable as these users are not generally needing to blast, and the new HDMI support will allow much better viewing options for clients present during the shoot. So for these target sectors the Nikon D3x provides market leading performance and will be a must have camera.
As a nature photographer I have mixed views about whether I can justify the Nikon D3x or not. I am not a fast action shooter and 5fps will be enough if the buffer clears quickly enough, interesting that there is no data on this and it will be the first thing that I test! Having a larger image is not as useful for me as others as I only need a 50MB image for my clients and agents; I do not produce large prints and those that I have from the Nikon D3 have been amazing. The Nikon D3x will allow me to crop my image though for the first time and still retain the default 50MB agency size without interpolation. This will be the same as using a 1.4x converter, except that I won't have to. Yes I know it will be the most expensive converter in history but it will be just be an additional advantage that I can use. The quality of the final image delivered by the new processor does interest me as I find myself more and more taking the kind of wide-angle images that need to have a more medium format feel. I have never jumped on the new camera bandwagon anyway and prefer to wait until I test the Nikon D3x rather than get excited about a load of facts and figures. Trust me I will be testing it hard!

So clearly the Nikon D3x will keep its target market happy and I think a lot of amateur photographers will want to own the flagship too. Do I have any general niggles about it, yes of course I do. Firstly I wish that Nikon had made some changes to the existing Nikon D3 shell; some D700 functions would have been nice too and boo hiss there is no auto sensor clean which means I still have to cart round all my cleaning gear. The reduced ISO is also a small concern too. Although I now shoot at ISO 1000 by default, I have had occasion in the past year to shoot much higher (which is why I love the Nikon D3 so much). Of course again for the target market this will be no issue and for me it is just a borderline niggle as I would have the Nikon D3x alongside the D3. One of each actually would suit my kit bag very well as I could use each for its strengths when the situation demanded.

In conclusion I think that the Nikon D3x provides exactly what I expected of it, no more and no less. It is undoubtedly the most high specification camera that Nikon have ever produced and will convert more and more film photographers to the digital world. I will put it through a decent test when I get hold of one, and if any of you want to talk to me about it I will be at Nikon Expo next Tuesday 9th September presenting at 12:30pm. Hope to see you all there!

12/2/2008 7:52:44 AM
 
Dr Barry P. Isenberg
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/14/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2008 5:29:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2008 5:29:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2008 5:29:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2008 5:29:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2008 5:29:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent in all aspects. Am still learning about it. The manual is too long..need a CD to quickly go to particular areas of concern. Best camera I have ever owned along with the 18-200 lens.
6/15/2008 5:29:44 AM
 
Pete H
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/9/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2008 7:40:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2008 7:40:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2008 7:40:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2008 7:40:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/26/2008 7:40:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Much has been written concerning the D-300 from the highly technical to the basics. A simple internet search will turn up a mountain of information. Unfortunately; one has to do one’s homework to reveal the full capabilities of this incredible camera. Nikon’s manual while adequate, lacks in shooting “tips & hints” about this camera.

What I add here is from a users point of view; mine. I have shot professionally for 30 years or so, from weddings to commercial stock.

After reading many reviews, I am forced to agree with the consensus; this is by far the best DX digital format currently on the market. For years Canon ruled the roost, especially in the arena of noise reduction. Now there’s a new kid on the block, and his name is the “Nikon D-300.”

When Nikon entered the digital world for photographers, it’s evolutionary steps were small; until the D-300 was unveiled. This camera jumped out in front of the competition and has not looked back.
My opinions of this camera are well justified by the technical tests conducted by people far more skilled in science and math than am I.

What we all want to know is how good is it from a photographers point of view.

I’ll cover what I consider the high points as well as what has impressed me.
Here we go.

Metering: The on board meter totally negates the need for a hand held meter. Rarely have I seen the meter fooled by odd lighting situations. Matrix, center weight & spot are right on the money 99% of the time. My post look at the histograms bare this out.

Focus: I have the Nikon D2xs. It has now been replaced with the D-300. Low light focusing is impressive. Continuous focus has little trouble once you understand (how) it works. There are no less than 51 active points to choose from, although if speed in focusing is paramount, I suggest you use 21. The “auto 3D” mode is a miracle as it essentially is able to pick out a person from the background and focus on them! This does away with the old way of shooting “Focus and recompose.” Dynamic tracking is faster than my D2xs thanks to a totally revamped cam focus system.

Color Accuracy: Bang on! Be it JPEG or RAW shooting, the software does it’s job well.
The tech specs show this to be oh so true.

Dynamic Range: In a word; WOW! I’ve read the tech specs but never tested it myself; that is beyond me. The end result though is nothing short of amazing for a digital. Shadow rendering with it’s noise suppression is fantastic. If that’s not enough, Nikon had a little ace up it’s sleeve. “D-Lighting” or “active dynamic range” No less than four settings , off-low, normal and high. Essentially it is used in high contrast situations. It allows for more headroom so whites are not easily blown out and dark areas are rendered readable. D-Lighting has been around for a while as a post process, The D-300 now adds this as a “in camera” process. It works. Nikon does not spell it out at all in the manual, there is more to it than just turning it on if you really want to see it strut it;'s stuff.

Picture Control: I can now custom tailor so many image parameters it staggers the mind. Color saturation, contrast, sharpening, hue, white balance. If that’s not enough, one can dial in any amount of change.
Color filters can be used in camera, including a wide array of B&W options with filters for red, blue, green, cyanotype, all fully adjustable in amount applied.

Summary: It shoots fast with the included battery, 6 FPS; 8 with the optional batter pack.
It’s durable and well sealed against moisture & dust. Feels great in the hand. I can shoot all day with little hand fatigue.
No more fumbling around for the controls I use most often, they are right there at my finger tips.

The “sensor” is new and improved with excellent noise suppression. I can now shoot at ISO 1,600 with no real concerns about noise. The only camera in this arena with better noise suppression would be the D-3, but at more than twice the cost, the choice was an easy one for me.
Write speeds to a good card are blistering fast.

Some call the D-300 a semi-pro camera. I disagree. Two years ago this would have earned the title of a pro camera all the way.

One small warning; the manual is over 400 pages! Read it all! Following that, get online to read about what Nikon didn’t tell us.

5/26/2008 7:40:09 PM
 
Jon H. Waters 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2008 10:35:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2008 10:35:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2008 10:35:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2008 10:35:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2008 10:35:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon D300 is an absolutely fantastic camera. I typically upgrade when I feel my equipment is holding me back, so when I outgrew my D70s I looked to the new D300. Color accuracy and picture quality is incredible. The high ISO speeds available are going to be extremely useful for live music photography. I highly recommend this camera.
4/25/2008 10:35:15 AM
 
Alan Long
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/14/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 5:43:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 5:43:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 5:43:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 5:43:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2008 5:43:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Upgraded to the D300 from the D80 for improved sensor noise suppression and higher resolution. I have been very pleased with the images from this camera.
4/24/2008 5:43:41 PM
 
George R. Dow II 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2008 10:10:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2008 10:10:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2008 10:10:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2008 10:10:13 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2008 10:10:13 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Bieng new to B.P., I have been reviewing systems from different brands. I have used nikon for 40 years,because of thier redundant enginering,IE;lens usable on older bodies.But since these are not amenable to digital, even though they function, they produce refractions on digital bodies. I am disapointed with the poor build quality of the D200, I have personally seen two faiures (one body and lens,and one w/a lens, fractured and rendered unusable by drops from low distance on a tripod. The body is a plastic composite. Also once one got wet and died, they had to be replaced! I feel nikon was, and is not standing behind the equipment, my F series has withstood 35 years of jungles,desserts,waters and sub freezing.Do you feel the D-300 with it,s metal body self cleaning CMOS and better sealing is more capable. I,m hesitant to purchase nikon besause of thier POOR trac record in warranty repair or repacement of thier other optics,IE; spotting scopes, binos, and riflescopes.I know many retailers won,t even stock them.Also is the sensor more cabable for w/a lenses? Right now I,m strongley leaning to Canon.Any help and comments are gratefully accepted. Thank you.George Dow.
4/22/2008 10:10:13 AM
 

8 Reviews  

Buy D300 Digital SLR Camera  from Amazon.com