Online Photo Course - Creative Flash Photography with Rob Sheppard

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Creative Flash Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Rob Sheppard
4-Week Short Course: Creative Flash Photography

Flash is a wonderful tool for the photographer, but it can seem intimidating. After all, you canít see what you get ... or can you?! With digital, flash becomes a lot easier, especially if you start experimenting to get true hands-on experience with your flash. This unique online class will offer you a series of challenging and enlightening lessons on flash, plus a series of weekly drills to help you master the creative use of standard flash units. Besides his work as author of over 35 books and professional photographer, instructor Rob Sheppard is editor-at-large for Outdoor Photographer magazine and is an experienced workshop instructor.

Category: Lighting / Exposure
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Creative Flash Photography


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Aernout Zevenbergen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/16/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2012 1:57:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2012 1:57:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2012 1:57:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2012 1:57:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2012 1:57:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course!
Would want there to be a follow-up one: taking it deeper, with more assignments. Practice makes perfect.
4/15/2012 1:57:15 AM
 
Aernout Zevenbergen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/16/2012
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2012 10:56:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2012 10:56:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2012 10:56:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2012 10:56:40 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2012 10:56:40 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thanks so much for your feedback over the last few weeks! The material, the assignments and your feedback now give me the feeling I can take on the flash, and use it when it enhances the imagery I am trying to produce. I am looking forward to other courses I have signed up for with you, and will meet you there!
4/11/2012 10:56:40 AM
 
Stephen C. Fairbanks 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2010 11:40:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2010 11:40:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2010 11:40:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2010 11:40:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2010 11:40:37 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
In four comprehensive, well thought-out lessons, this course really opened up for me the possibilities of an external flash, for both portraiture and stilllifes. Rob's lessons are excellent and his feedback very direct and personal. Anyone wishing to coordinate a Nikon DSLR with an external flash wirelessly should learn to do so first, however, as I found that to be initially a bit daunting.
6/1/2010 11:40:37 AM
 
David Gray
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/29/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2010 5:23:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2010 5:23:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2010 5:23:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2010 5:23:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2010 5:23:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Your class has been excellent! It has prompted me to try things that I would not have tried - diffuser, reflectors and bounce flashes. ... Your material was thorough and interesting. I have taken a number of classes with BetterPhoto and this has been one of the most helpful. Also, your encouragement has been extremely important. You are instructive without being overly crticial. ... Your class has really helped me improve my pictures with better lighting. Thank you for your patience!
2/4/2010 5:23:58 PM
 
Janice M LeCocq
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2007
Contact Janice M
Janice M's Gallery
janice-lecocq-photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2008 12:29:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2008 12:29:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2008 12:29:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2008 12:29:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/26/2008 12:29:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob provides a very disciplined way to begin to understand how to creatively work with flash. His drills are insightful, and he challenges the student to think of flash as another tool in the creative toolbox. I was intimidated by flash, but I'm doing much better now!!!
12/26/2008 12:29:48 PM
 
Christina L. Doucette
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/7/2008
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2008 4:53:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2008 4:53:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2008 4:53:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2008 4:53:30 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2008 4:53:30 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
If you have no experience working with a flash or are creatively stuck in a rut with no inspiration, this is the course for you. Rob's course will take you through flash drills to open your mind and see flash photography in a different "light". Wonderful course!
10/23/2008 4:53:30 AM
 
Karen E. Baumann
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/10/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2008 10:35:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2008 10:35:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2008 10:35:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2008 10:35:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/6/2008 10:35:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a excellent class for anyone who wants to learn more about how their external flash can impact their photos, indoors or out. The lessons are geared toward having you use your flash in ways you may not have thought about, such as "off the camera" in order to control the direction and quality of light. Rob is an attentive instructor who really likes to help the students see the important aspects of light and darks. I would recommend it for anyone!
Karen Baumann
2/6/2008 10:35:11 AM
 

7 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist