Online Photo Course - An Introduction to Photographic Lighting with John Siskin

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting Photography Course
Course Instructor: © John H. Siskin
4-Week Short Course: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting

Learn what kind of lighting equipment you need, how strobes work, and how to make the most of your lights in this outstanding online photography course. Drawing on more than 15 years of experience, John Siskin shares the techniques of professional lighting with you - whether you're photographing people, products, or architecture. John helps you decide how to start with artificial lighting, and helps you understand how to approach lighting problems on location or in a studio setting. All of the assignments, which are designed to enable you to understand how light works, can be done with inexpensive lights you can get at a home improvement or hardware store.

Category: Lighting / Exposure
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: An Introduction to Photographic Lighting


First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Gregory Mencotti
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2012 5:58:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2012 5:58:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2012 5:58:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2012 5:58:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2012 5:58:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of the most valuable of the 14 BP classes Iíve taken to date, John imparts expert lighting knowledge and wisdom. Even though this is an ďIntroĒ class, his lesson plans, supplemental info and high standards make this course potentially satisfying to advanced shooters wanting to enhance their studio lighting prowess. John is a great teacher, and offers an astounding degree of personal attention to his students. I recommend without reservation!
4/3/2012 5:58:56 AM
 
Betsy Sasnett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/6/2010
Contact Betsy
Betsy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2012 1:13:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2012 1:13:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2012 1:13:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2012 1:13:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2012 1:13:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great course for learning photographic lighting. I learned so much and can't wait to put it to use!
1/8/2012 1:13:27 PM
 
Steve Miller
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2011 1:36:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2011 1:36:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2011 1:36:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2011 1:36:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2011 1:36:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can't begin to say how much I learned in this class. I am no longer intimidated by photographic lighting. John's lessons did a great job giving us a lot of knowledge about lighting, and lighting equipment. He also sent our several mid-week emails with bonus info. Without yet having to buy anything expensive, I now feel ready to jump into the complex and expensive world of lighting equipment. I also feel like I have a direction for what equipment I would like to buy as I can afford. I see light differently now, and can use that to my advantage in all areas of my photography.
11/10/2011 1:36:04 PM
 
Gill Masters
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/20/2010
gillimasters.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2011 10:48:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2011 10:48:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2011 10:48:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2011 10:48:15 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2011 10:48:15 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I wanted to say thank you for all the help you have given me! I
really enjoyed the class, and it has given me a whole new direction in my
photography that I wasn't expecting. So far, photography for me has been about landscapes and sport action, but now the lighting has really grabbed my attention. I am very keen to practice and experiment to find a new outlet for my creativity. It also appears that I have a few friends who are very willing to sit for me. I think I will be having a lot of fun with this!
8/30/2011 10:48:15 AM
 
Peggy J. Pfister
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/2/2011
Contact Peggy
Peggy's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 8:22:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 8:22:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 8:22:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 8:22:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 8:22:16 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This class provides not only theoretical knowledge, but very practical info and tips that the student can put to good use immediately. John is extremely knowledgeable, and is a patient, accessible, and supportive instructor. Great class!
6/1/2011 8:22:16 PM
 
Cindy A. Brown
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/9/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2011 2:02:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2011 2:02:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2011 2:02:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2011 2:02:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/3/2011 2:02:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed John's class. He is a fountain of information, very willing to help and is quick to answer questions. If you are wanting to learn about photographic lighting this is most certainly the class for you.
5/3/2011 2:02:35 PM
 
D Jensen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/17/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2011 3:29:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2011 3:29:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2011 3:29:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2011 3:29:57 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2011 3:29:57 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is by far the best photography class I have ever taken. John is an excellent instructor, and is always there for you. He provides lots of extra valuable information, and his critiques are very honest and helpful. Really, really enjoyed this class!
4/27/2011 3:29:57 PM
 
Pat Harry
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/26/2006
Contact Pat
Pat's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2011 10:15:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2011 10:15:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2011 10:15:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2011 10:15:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2011 10:15:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I can not say enough great things about this course and John. The content was great, and John made it even better. John had an obvious goal to make me a better photographer - he was accessible, approachable, willing, and able! Thank you, John, for an outstanding experience!
1/6/2011 10:15:49 AM
 
Brenda Bentley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/3/2008
Contact Brenda
Brenda's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 5:55:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 5:55:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 5:55:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 5:55:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2010 5:55:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a lighting class full of information on basic lighting methods. The instructor, John Siskin, provided a ton of additional information besides the regular class lessons. You'll learn how to make some of your own lighting props if you desire, get some really helpful critiques, and find out what kind of lighting equipment you want and need on your journey in photography. This class will take you to a new level in making your images better.
5/5/2010 5:55:39 PM
 
Rhonda Royse
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/20/2009
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2010 5:55:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2010 5:55:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2010 5:55:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2010 5:55:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2010 5:55:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This was an excellent class! John did a great job of explaining everything. This gave me knowledge about lighting that I didnt know before and gave me confidence as well. This class has inspired me to take additional courses and continue my learning. Thank you John!
1/31/2010 5:55:50 PM
 
Corey A. Young 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2010 3:13:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2010 3:13:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2010 3:13:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2010 3:13:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/20/2010 3:13:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
John, I just wanted to let you know this was one of the most useful classes Iíve ever taken in any field. Youíve really helped my clarify what I want to do with photography. I will definitely be taking your other two classes and getting your book.
1/20/2010 3:13:39 PM
 

First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist