Online Photo Course - Techniques of Natural Light Photography with Jim Zuckerman

4-Week Short Course: Techniques of Natural Light Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: Jim Zuckerman
4-Week Short Course: Techniques of Natural Light Photography

Learn how to be sensitive to light, one of the two main ingredients that go into making great photographs. In this 4-week online class - taught by famed author/photographer Jim Zuckerman - you will find out how to become a "pro" at working with natural light. You will learn to use natural light to take your images to the next level - to having them be seen as fine art. You will explore topics that will immediately transform your work, such as low-angled sunlight, moody light (fog, low clouds, and rain), backlighting, and window light.

Category: Lighting / Exposure
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Techniques of Natural Light Photography


First 10 of 27 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Carla Maddox
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was probably the most exciting course I've taken so far from Better Photos.com. It's all about lighting and I fell in love with the use of misty morning and window light. Truthfully, this lesson was about light that I never really noticed before. There is a new skill to take away from every one of Jim Zuckerman's lessons, whether he likes your picture or not - he is a teacher.
5/2/2011 3:02:38 PM
 
Marta Lesniak 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's been the most disappointing betterphoto course I have taken so far, in comparison to others, that have been excellent. In my opinion, the lessons contained too many examples of the instructor's photos, without the actual decription of the techniques he used. I missed the technical instruction. I have seen Jim's beautiful shots, but still I don't know how to take such photos myself.
1/12/2011 12:43:37 AM
 
John Kalb 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this class. It helped me be able to look at and think about about the light I am seeing and capture it in more sophisticated ways. The lessons were clear and had lots of examples to consider. The assignments asked us to focus on ideas, not just techniques. Jim's critiques were supportive, insightful and helped me understand how to refine the photos even further. I feel that this class helped my photos get better technically but more importantly my images are getting stronger too.
6/3/2010 6:32:45 AM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I must say - we learned the secrets of the best light. I have to thank Jim so much because he forced us to take photos of the same subject in different light - ....that will say go to the same place more than once the day, and that was hard work, but it payed off, and suddenly I began to get more attention about my photos at my photo-forum after I learned this;);)

In a way I knew the secrets - have read it, but NOT learned it, but as mentioned: Jim really forced us to try it out and experience the difference ourselves - to compare it, and W A U - I will never shoot in midday anymore. The difference is night and day.

5/1/2009 1:58:15 PM
 
Pamela L. Bycraft
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/9/2008
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great course from a fantastic instructor. I learned lots about using natural lighting.
4/5/2009 6:02:56 AM
 
Beate Dalbec 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this class. It made me use some lighting situations which I sofar had not considered. Jim's critiques where to the point and constructive. It is certainly helpful to see the pictures of all the other students and read their critiques also. I am looking forward to taking more courses in the future.
4/2/2009 2:09:42 PM
 
Dawn Owens 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Jim was a wonderful instructor and so quick to answer every question I sent.
11/29/2008 8:05:36 PM
 
Shelia Earl
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2008
searlphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I learned so much from this course and the instructor was always prompt in answering questions. I enjoyed and learned from the other students in the class, as well. A great course!! I definitely intend to take more courses from BetterPhoto. Shelia
10/1/2008 8:10:20 AM
 
Kiril D. Kirkov
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/30/2006
Contact Kiril
Kiril's Gallery
kirilkirkovphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
How to use "the natural lighting"? Jim gives such a good answers , regarding all the aspects of nature photography. I am happy to be Jim's student , and can't wait to continue with my lessons ! Kiril
6/25/2008 1:56:37 AM
 
Cheryl Ann Gould
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/30/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my 2nd class with Jim and I am looking forward to the 3rd (and 4th, 5th, and 6th!). He is so positive, supportive and enthusiastic.
4/27/2008 9:07:42 AM
 
Marcy Ugstad
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/3/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim is a fantastic instructor - gives good suggestions, constructive criticism and is always there to answer student's questions.

Topics in course were interesting, challenging, and full of good tips for taking better photos and learning to see different types of light.

This has been one of the best courses I've taken at Better Photo and would highly recommend this intstructor (Jim Zuckerman) and this course to anyone wanting to improve their photography skills. I plan to take many more courses from Jim and also other courses at Better Photo.

7/7/2007 8:44:29 AM
 

First 10 of 27 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist