Online Photo Course - Creative Landscape Photography with William Neill

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Creative Landscape Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: William Neill
4-Week Short Course: Creative Landscape Photography

Photographing mountains, trees, seascapes, or scenics? Learn how to use the essential elements of good landscape photography to improve your own landscape photographs. Author of Outdoor Photographer magazine's popular On Landscape column, William Neill shares the art of using quality of light, strong graphic design, and emotional elements in your work. His insightful lessons are based on three decades of experience in creating and publishing his work. Winter, spring, summer or fall, the challenging assignments and invaluable critiques will refine your technique and expand your creative potential. In this exciting online course, your techniques will improve and you will see in new ways!

Category: Nature / Travel
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Creative Landscape Photography


First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
GariRae Gray 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2013 2:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2013 2:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2013 2:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2013 2:20:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/13/2013 2:20:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bill's course was amazing. His lessons break down the critical elements of landscape photography, those creative and evocative elements beyond rule-of-thirds and leading lines. His critiques are detailed, highlighting what he was looking for in the image, what was successful, and what needed improvement. Most importantly, and somewhat surprising, was how generous he was with his time in reviewing revisions. He always encouraged addition versions; 1) to see what other images a student might have chosen to submit; 2) re-assess a revised image based on suggestions that Bill offered. This extra effort on Bill's part certainly helps a student better judge his/her work, in addition to improving one's "seeing" and post-processing techniques. This course was certainly a critical step in my continued development as a landscape photographer.
7/13/2013 2:20:39 PM
 
Sue Dehn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/1/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2013 6:44:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2013 6:44:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2013 6:44:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2013 6:44:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/5/2013 6:44:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
With the help of this course, I developed a new way to look at my environment before I snapped the shutter. Bill had excellent editing suggestions and patiently stay'd with me until I got it right!
3/5/2013 6:44:58 AM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2012 5:21:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2012 5:21:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2012 5:21:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2012 5:21:09 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2012 5:21:09 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a wonderful course. Bill challenges his students to "see" and transform an image into an image that is exciting. It is as much about how to capture the image as to how to, through the tools of the digital dark room, turn the image into art. I know I now have a different perspective about images I have already taken regarding how to enhance them in post processing as well as a increased awareness of how to use light and composition to a positive advantage. I highly recommend Bill's course to those who already have a solid foundation in photography. Students will benefit most by being prepared to dialogue with Bill and share additional images during the critique process so as learn other ways of viewing the same scene and capturing the best tonal ranges of an image. Bill, thank you.
6/11/2012 5:21:09 AM
 
Cheryl Winn 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2012 6:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2012 6:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2012 6:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2012 6:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2012 6:56:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great course. The course material was very clear and covered aspects of lighting and mood which I found inspiring. The critiques were detailed, clear and encouraging. I found it particularly helpful that William asked to see alternate versions of photos submitted so that these could be discussed also. This help me to better evaluate my own work and be clearer about how I could best work the scene.
4/10/2012 6:56:59 PM
 
Kristia Adams
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/19/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2012 6:18:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2012 6:18:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2012 6:18:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2012 6:18:38 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2012 6:18:38 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a great class to hone my landscape photography skills. William was a great instructor who gave a lot of great constructive criticism and encouraged us to resubmit our images with improvements or other versions of the photo. I highly recommend this class!
4/5/2012 6:18:38 PM
 
Stacey Williams
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/25/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2012 3:51:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2012 3:51:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2012 3:51:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2012 3:51:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/8/2012 3:51:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was a great class, I highly recommend it. I really enjoyed taking it and William Neills critiques and comments were very informative and insightful. I learned a great deal and I believe that my photography has moved forward thanks to this class. I look forward to taking another class with Mr. Neill.
3/8/2012 3:51:45 PM
 
Liandra M. Barry
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/30/2005
photobyliandra.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 9:25:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 9:25:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 9:25:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 9:25:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2011 9:25:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This class has change my nature/landscape photography and the way I see things and places I've been looking at for 20 years! I no longer shoot one frame and go. I look, I really look, I move around and take more than one version in different angles. I didn't care much for landscape photography before but now, I'm loving it more each time. Thanks William, truly enjoyed this class and all your great advice!
6/1/2011 9:25:43 AM
 
Vickie Oakley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/2/2007
vickieoakleyphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2010 8:02:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2010 8:02:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2010 8:02:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2010 8:02:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2010 8:02:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I thoroughly enjoyed this class. William Neill is a top notch instructor! I have been shooting for 10+ years, but my insipiration for photography was almost dead-he helped to bring it back for me and gave me a better understanding. I will defintely recommend this instructor to other students at Betterphoto.com
12/2/2010 8:02:27 PM
 
Patty Reay 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2010 11:11:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2010 11:11:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2010 11:11:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2010 11:11:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2010 11:11:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Loved this class! Bill's feedback was very helpful and encouraging. The weekly lessons were interesting and well written, and I appreciated how he encouraged us to re-work the assignments based on his feedback and re-submit the results. He was also very quick to respond to questions. I definitely feel like I learned a lot and my photography has improved. I am eager to sign up for another one!
8/11/2010 11:11:56 PM
 
Mary K. Stewart
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/27/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 2:01:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 2:01:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 2:01:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 2:01:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2010 2:01:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was enjoyable and helped me to see things I previously did not see to improve my photography. Mr. Neill is an excellent instructor as he took time out for each individual student in answering questions, giving critiques and suggestions and even following up after some suggested improvements had been submitted. I would definitely recommend this course or any course from Mr. Neill.
7/12/2010 2:01:56 PM
 
Melvin J. Williams 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2009 3:25:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2009 3:25:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2009 3:25:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2009 3:25:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2009 3:25:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Without doubt an excellent course. It will expand your vision of Nature Photography. The supportive and insightful critiques encourage your developement as a photographer.
11/10/2009 3:25:04 PM
 

First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist