EOS Digital Rebel XTi (400D/Kiss X) Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Ceilng Detail
View photos created with this camera

The EOS Digital Rebel XTi (400D/Kiss X) Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 10.1-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 18 x 24-inch prints
  • Large 2.5-inch LCD display; includes Canon's EF-S 18-55mm, f3.5-5.6 zoom lens
  • New self-cleaning dust function, plus Dust Delete Data Detection in included software
  • DIGIC II Image Processor provides fast, accurate image processing; Picture Style settings for added creative control
  • Stores images on Compact Flash (CF) memory cards; powered by battery pack NB-2LH

  • Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    First 10 of 32 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

    Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

    4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Brenton  H. Woodruff
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/8/2008
    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2009 8:53:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2009 8:53:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2009 8:53:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2009 8:53:25 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2009 8:53:25 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    I have been using the Cannon Digital Rebel XTi for well over a year now. I am an amateur photographer and have been using this camera to take senior pictures and pictures for my school newspaper.
    This DSLR is very versatile and can adapt to almost any situation in which you want to use it.
    The camera has a large range of shutter speeds (from a bulb setting to 1/4000)but when used at high ISO settings the images turn out extremely noisy and unclear.
    Overall the Digital Rebel XTi is a very versatile camera and perfect for the beginner photographer.
    9/8/2009 8:53:25 PM
     
    Kevin Burns 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 3:48:46 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 3:48:46 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 3:48:46 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 3:48:46 PM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2008 3:48:46 PM
    Rating: 1 out of 5
    I figured I would re wright a review as I have had the camera for a while now.
    Dull color, inaccurate color reproduction, poor WB, soft images even with the sharpness at 7 max, millions of dead pixels when shooting in night time, error 5 flash don't work the flash does not open and camera goes into a error mode.So you have to shut the camera off and turn it back on in the mean time missing the shot. Horrible JPG quality.
    In shooting modes macro, portrait night portrait, there is no way to cancel the flash so it will open even if one don't want it to open.
    just a poor camera for a Canon.
    I have to run the AV exposure compensation at max-plus, just to get a good bright image other wise the images are dark. Underexposed and over exposed what ever the camera wants to do it will do. 1/500th won't freeze action at all.
    I am returning it and exchanging the XTI for a lower MP Nikon D40.
    9/11/2008 3:48:46 PM
     
    Samantha L. Lucking 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2008 12:04:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2008 12:04:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2008 12:04:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2008 12:04:08 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2008 12:04:08 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I've had the canon camera for about 2 years and I'm still learning new things about it daily. It is my first SLR camera and I love it. Right now I am taking an online digital photography class and learning more about my camera. Writing this review was actually an assignment.
    9/7/2008 12:04:08 PM
     
    Kevin Burns 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 5:44:51 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 5:44:51 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 5:44:51 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 5:44:51 AM 1 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 5:44:51 AM
    Rating: 1 out of 5
    Get ready to miss the shot. this camera likes to overexposed shots in auto program mode. The sharpness is not sharp and the noise factor is high considering one has to use the camera is ISO400.
    8/21/2008 5:44:51 AM
     
    Karen Seargeant
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/18/2003
    Contact Karen
    Karen's Gallery
    karenseargeant.com
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2008 9:30:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2008 9:30:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2008 9:30:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2008 9:30:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2008 9:30:39 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    I started out with point and shoot cameras and upgraded to the first Rebel. Just this year bought the XTI. Love the camera. As Sarajit said, once mastered, you can take awesome shots. Just add glass.
    7/6/2008 9:30:39 AM
     
    Jerry J. Fictum 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2008 11:29:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2008 11:29:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2008 11:29:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2008 11:29:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2008 11:29:37 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is my first SLR. A little weary bout spending the money but its well worth it. U must get a telephoto lens. Never mind point and shoot, I have a canon powershot S3, it doenst even come close in comparison, taking photos is easier with my XTi. I just wish it also has the "stitch" mode for those panviews like my S3 does. Also taking pictures at night with a 1600 ISO, there is very very little noise if any. this is a must get!
    4/22/2008 11:29:37 PM
     
    Kayse D. Ericksen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2008 7:17:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2008 7:17:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2008 7:17:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2008 7:17:00 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2008 7:17:00 PM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    Thank you Bunny Snow. I did want an English Manual. I am an American living in Korea. I was able to order it from Amazon, and it will be here well before my next trip, so thank you again. I am off to take pictures of the beautiful Seoul Cherry Blossoms!
    4/4/2008 7:17:00 PM
     
    Bunny Snow
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
    Contact Bunny
    Bunny's Gallery
    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2008 7:54:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2008 7:54:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2008 7:54:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2008 7:54:50 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2008 7:54:50 PM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    For the person who received the EOS digital Rebel XTI guide that is in Korean rather than Asian(?), if you speak and read English, the Magic Lantern Guides I have found follow the manual and are even sometimes better.

    http://tinyurl.com/2vtjxe
    This tiny url will take you to Amazon.com
    where the Magic Lantern Guides are available at very reasonable prices.

    As for me, I have a Canon EOS 20D, which I love. Although, there are times when I have difficulty carrying 2.4 pounds (due to recovery from surgeries), and wish I had the Rebel XTi as a backup camera.

    3/31/2008 7:54:50 PM
     
    Kayse D. Ericksen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2008 6:55:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2008 6:55:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2008 6:55:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2008 6:55:04 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/31/2008 6:55:04 AM
    Rating: 4.5 out of 5
    I just upgraded to this camera from my old Canon A-1, and so far I love it. I bought it a day before I went on a trip to Indonesia, Malaysia, and China, so I had to learn on the fly. My only problem is I live in Asia and my manual is in Korean. Does anyone know where I can download an english version? I am about to spend a month traveling through S.E. Asia and I would like to have a better grasp of all it can do before I leave. Thank you!
    3/31/2008 6:55:04 AM
     
    Zack G. Ahern
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/19/2007
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2008 11:39:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2008 11:39:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2008 11:39:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2008 11:39:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2008 11:39:31 AM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is wonderful camera for anyone wanting to upgrade from a point and shoot to a digital SLR. Its easy to use, but has tons of complex settings for those starting to experiment with manual modes and creative settings. I would recommend it to anyone!

    http://www.zackgrayahern.shutterbugstorefront.com/

    3/27/2008 11:39:31 AM
     
    Rocky O. Foster 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 5:30:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 5:30:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 5:30:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 5:30:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/7/2007 5:30:25 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This is a great camera and it has a lot of settings that you can choose from to make your photos come out great! I recommend this camera to anyone who wants to take some seriously great photos.
    12/7/2007 5:30:25 PM
     

    First 10 of 32 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

    Buy EOS Digital Rebel XTi (400D/Kiss X) Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com