D80 Digital SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Together
View photos created with this camera

The D80 Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 10.2-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for large, photo-quality prints
  • Body only; lens must be purchased separately
  • 2.5-inch LCD display; power-up time of approximately 0.2 seconds
  • RAW and JPEG capture; burst mode allows for capture of three frames per second for up to 100 pictures
  • Image optimization functions and in-camera image retouching

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 39 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Richard Jackson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/8/2000
Contact Richard
Richard's Gallery
qualityimagephotography.net
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am very happy with my D80, although I purchased it as a back-up to my D300.
It has a smaller LCD and the shutter doesn't seem as crisp as the D300, but it still takes great pics. Switching between the two different memory cards is not an issue, for I load up with both
when I go for a shoot. With the right lens, you have an excellent package with the D80......
2/21/2010 5:52:45 PM
 
Charles Cooper
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent camera for a great price. Still learning to take advantage of all the great features. Next camera will be D300.
8/30/2009 8:20:48 PM
 
Patrice windsor 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My D80 is the best still learning to use the features. There is so many features can't wait until I figure them out. lol
3/22/2009 1:37:07 PM
 
M. J.  Woods
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/30/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my D80. The lenses are phenominal. The picture quality is excellent. I wish camera was a bit faster. But for that I figure I need to move to full professional format. I feel you can get professional type photos with this camera. It's a great buy.
2/14/2009 1:58:56 PM
 
Max Granner 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Firstly, I upgraded to the D80 from a D50 which I still have... but although the camera has all the features I need, and a few more besides.. I have a couple of issues. Maybe it's just my D80, but I can never get a clear shot with crisp detail. I know some of you will say 'its the lens that gets the sharpness'and mostly I would agree with you. I have used the exact same lenses and settings on the D50 and got better results with more definition and clarity. I would have thought that a camera with more megapixels would give a much better output. I have tried all the permutations of f stops and shutter speeds as well as mirror lock on tripod, but still no nearer the sharpness that I see from other cameras and photographers. The only time I get anywhere near a decent image is if I use flash.... so do I have a faulty image processor...or does anyone else have this problem?
Its a shame because I really like the feel of the camera, but ultimately a camera should by its nature take photos!
Max
11/11/2008 9:36:45 AM
 
Anthony S. Donnelly 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
While I purchased it as a "backup" camera I never hesitate to grab it. It produces wonderful pictures, is smaller, and is much lighter than my D700. Despite it being a backup this is the camera I grab when I don't want to be burdened down with a large and heavy camera. It is my walk around camera for sure. Good performer at a nice price.
9/13/2008 1:21:42 AM
 
Alecia R. Smith 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
She is the best friend I'll know for awhile, or at least when I allow her to mature (upgrade). The D80 is my first SLR and she is a beauty. The D80 is perfect for those breaking into the semi-professional photography. Easy to learn and has some really cool features. I have produce some great images, and with alittle patiences,now I am working strickely in M (Manual) Mode, where she allows me to control all the settings, especially for low light conditions. I have named her, She is my Annabelle!

Even though you don't hear much about the D80, she is between the D60 and the D200-300. She is a great piece of equipment. Nikon you did GREAT on this one!

8/21/2008 8:44:31 AM
 
Sanjay nallila Sanjaynallila
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/17/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Well done camera Nikon D80
8/20/2008 8:42:37 AM
 
Nemil B. Chabebe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/9/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I'm very impress with the quality, love the iso 100 and all the gadgets it is just a great camera, a little giant.
7/21/2008 10:51:24 PM
 
Fairouz Mohammed
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/2/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's just my babey...
6/29/2008 1:04:48 AM
 
Steve G. Augle
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A Wonderful Slr My D80 Is At 200,000 Images And Going Very Well. Steve Augle,
6/23/2008 10:39:04 PM
 

First 10 of 39 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy D80 Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com