Online Photo Course - Impact in Your Photos: Getting the Wow Response with Rob Sheppard

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Impact in Your Photographs: The Wow Factor Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Rob Sheppard
Impact in Your Photographs: The Wow Factor

Photograph for maximum impact and create images that cause your viewers to say "WOW!". This exciting online course is taught by Rob Sheppard, photographer, author and editor. In just 8 weeks, you'll find your photography jumping up a notch, as you learn to work with your camera and see new images, all with the guidance of an experienced digital photographer. Rob is the author of such books as The National Geographic Field Guide to Photography: Digital and Adobe Camera Raw for Digital Photographers Only, and is the longtime editor of Outdoor Photographer magazine.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Impact in Your Photographs: The Wow Factor


First 10 of 44 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2014 6:04:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2014 6:04:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2014 6:04:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2014 6:04:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2014 6:04:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As always, Rob, provides quality material that is thoughtful along with eye opening examples and critiques that challenge you to look beyond the usual and ordinary. I highly recommend Rob's courses. If you learn to see a little the way he does, you will advance to having a true photographers eye.
3/26/2014 6:04:55 AM
 
Mary A. Foley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2012 8:10:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2012 8:10:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2012 8:10:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2012 8:10:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/6/2012 8:10:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob, I have learned so much from this course. Your lessons were easy to follow and your critiques were very helpful. This course definitely made me step out of my comfort zone because flowers/trees are my most frequent subjects. I know I will be looking at my garden differently when more color starts to show up. Daffodils are definitely telling me they are ready for spring! So too are the grape hyacinths, some tulips and the poppies! There is always something going on in my yard! After the color appears I know that I will appreciate overcast conditions more than I do in January and February.
3/6/2012 8:10:18 PM
 
Glenn Marcus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/1/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 9:14:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 9:14:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 9:14:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 9:14:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 9:14:16 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It was a good course. I was a bit worried with the first pre-read lesson. My concern that this was going to be a photoshop the heck out of pictures was put to rest. It is all about taking good pictures, and then using post production tools as needed, or wanted.

Some of the comments on Rob by previous students were a bit rough, and based based on the feedback he gave me, not called for.

Good course, good instructors, and I have even signed up for a course to start in April -- Landscape Photography.

Thanks

2/27/2012 9:14:16 PM
 
Glenn Marcus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/1/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 9:14:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 9:14:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 9:14:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 9:14:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 9:14:14 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It was a good course. I was a bit worried with the first pre-read lesson. My concern that this was going to be a photoshop the heck out of pictures was put to rest. It is all about taking good pictures, and then using post production tools as needed, or wanted.

Some of the comments on Rob by previous students were a bit rough, and based based on the feedback he gave me, not called for.

Good course, good instructors, and I have even signed up for a course to start in April -- Landscape Photography.

Thanks

2/27/2012 9:14:14 PM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 3:42:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 3:42:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 3:42:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 3:42:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2012 3:42:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like the very detailed instructions and the very thorough critique you get - go for it, you will learn something.
2/27/2012 3:42:08 PM
 
Ruth Panken
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/24/2008
Contact Ruth
Ruth's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:25:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:25:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:25:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:25:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2012 6:25:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the third course I have taken with Rob Shepard. Every course I took I learned many new photo skills. Sometimes you are not aware of what you learned until the course is over. I have been using many of the new techniques that I learned from the various courses, This was the first 8 session course and I also learned new ways to look at photo's I am taking. Rob responses to the photo's I submitted every week was very helpful. Thanks you Rob for a great course and for your insightful responses.
1/11/2012 6:25:28 PM
 
Mike Bachman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/27/2009
mbachmanphotography.com
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 7:06:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 7:06:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 7:06:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 7:06:40 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2011 7:06:40 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Mr. Sheppard is an experienced photographer. His lesson plans are well designed and the instructions clear. Many of the techniques taught in this course will prove valuable to me in the future.
However, I think Mr. Sheppard’s teaching techniques require some modifications. I encourage serious criticism of my photographs: for me it is the best way to learn. I was not looking for meaningless platitudes but after each lesson I found it was the negative comments that stuck with me even when he had pleasing things to say. They were not the sort of comments that encouraged me to improve. A teacher should be able to motivate and he didn’t do that for me. I also think there were too many “I’s” in his sentences and not enough “You’s”. Lessons should be totally student oriented not teacher centered. Furthermore, I don’t think he suggested frequently enough ways in which the students could improve their photographs. It is not enough to say this photo is overexposed or not sharp enough. A teacher must also demonstrate ways to improve the photograph. In the last few lessons he did this more frequently showing the effects of better cropping or a different saturation and even suggesting alternatives.
This is the seventh course I have taken at Betterphoto. I have received instruction from Jennifer Wu, Brenda Tharp, Kerry Drager and William Neil. They are all excellent teachers who criticized my photographs leaving me with good feelings about myself as a photographer and a strong desire to improve. I didn’t have these same feelings after completing Mr. Sheppard’s course.
In my opinion Mr. Sheppard should rethink his teaching style. He is a knowledgeable photographer but that is only one aspect of teaching and maybe not even the most important one. I do admit that I learned new techniques that will help me become a better photographer and I thank Mr. Sheppard for that.

Mike Bachman

11/9/2011 7:06:40 AM
 
Elizabeth A. Breedlove
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/2/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2011 1:01:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2011 1:01:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2011 1:01:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2011 1:01:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2011 1:01:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you for the individualized attention you gave to my photographs and questions! You never gave a set answer that emphasized an obvious mistake without giving suggestions on how to improve the shot. I especially appreciated your alternate crops of my photos and your suggestions for photo editing. I learned a great deal from your critiques of other students' work and was very impressed that you watched the Q&A comments and interacted with those, following up on another student's comment. ... Looking at my photos of the week I can see that I really did learn to take photos with impact and that I have a new way of thinking about composing a shot. This course was the best of the three that I have taken with BetterPhoto.com. I will certainly take another of your courses. ... Again, many thanks for a rewarding experience!
9/9/2011 1:01:16 PM
 
Mark R. Glick 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 4:39:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 4:39:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 4:39:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 4:39:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/7/2011 4:39:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have taken several other classes, nd I really enjoyed this class and found it very helpful. The lessons were explained very clearly, and covered a broad range of ideas. Definately helped me take better pictures. Bob was very direct in his critiques, but I liked that. I learned a tremendous amount from his points, and appreciated his directness. I would say that there were times when he seemed a bit overly negative, but I didn't mind that
9/7/2011 4:39:26 PM
 
Utila Matzke
Contact Utila
Utila's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2011 6:14:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2011 6:14:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2011 6:14:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2011 6:14:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2011 6:14:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first BetterPhoto course and I am very happy that I decided to take it. I learned so much from the lessons and from the critiques. It was sometimes challenging and I had to work hard and I enjoyed it. I am sure I'll take another course.
Thank you very much Rob
9/1/2011 6:14:14 PM
 
Peter-Paul Kissels 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 12:48:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 12:48:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 12:48:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 12:48:23 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2011 12:48:23 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Thank you Rob for this stimulating course and your very enlightening comments. They were always spot-on. I learned a lot from your well-put feedback and the feedback from fellow-students. I found the lessons challenging and inspiring.
7/6/2011 12:48:23 PM
 

First 10 of 44 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist