BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online PhotoCourse™ - The Photographer’s Toolbox for Photoshop: Exposure and Color with Lewis Kemper

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

The Photographer's Toolbox for Photoshop: Exposure and Color Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Lewis Kemper
The Photographer's Toolbox for Photoshop: Exposure and Color

Start getting the most out of your Photoshop software with exciting exposure and color-correcting techniques. In this 8-week online course by professional photographer and digital-darkroom specialist Lewis Kemper, you will learn the important lessons for controlling exposure and color correction techniques in the full version of Adobe Photoshop.
Note: Updated for Photoshop CS6 (but CS4 and CS5 are OK too)! Also, this fully interactive course features video lessons.

Category: Photoshop Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
The Photographer's Toolbox for Photoshop: Exposure and Color


First 10 of 13 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Lynn Reinschmiedt

member since: 3/18/2014
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am currently using Adobe CS5 extended and before that CS3. My use of this product has primarily been limited to modifying the RAW image and converting to JPEGs. I have never done any post-JPEG editing. As such this course helped me immensely. The early lessons will also improve my effectiveness working in RAW as well. The course introduced me to a number of tools within RAW with which I was unfamiliar.
7/14/2014 7:02:53 PM
 
Rajiv Chopra
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Rajiv
Rajiv's Gallery
crookedimagez.biz

member since: 12/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course is fantastic. I could stop here, and it would be sufficient.
I recommend this course to anyone who really, really wants to learn about colour, exposure, layers, masks and about setting preferences!
The videos are very clear. No ambiguity in the instructions at all.
The feedback was prompt, corteuous and always spot on.
I highly recommend this course
6/21/2014 1:20:23 AM
 
Rajiv Chopra
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Rajiv
Rajiv's Gallery
crookedimagez.biz

member since: 12/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a fantastic course. I could end my review with this one sentence.
The video classes are brilliant. Very clear, very precise.
The feedback and critiques were always on time, respectful and to the point.
This class has done so much to take away my mental blocks regarding Photoshop layers and masks, and opened my eyes to a new world.
Hats off to Lewis!
6/20/2014 10:36:39 PM
 
Jennifer Price
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/15/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have taken several courses here at BP, and one other through the University of Alaska. I took Lewis's class last year, and was simply gobsmacked. I could not disagree MORE with John's review of a #2 rating. I LOVED having the videos as a learning tool because I was able to walk myself through each process step by step, playing each part that I didn't understand over and over until I had it down perfectly. I wish more instructors would offer this kind of instruction.

I learned how to make settings on my computer that I had never set before in all the years I have been using PS. I learned about shooting RAW from Lewis, and of how much more work can be done quickly and non-destructively with just a couple of strokes on the computer.

Sending photos off to Lewis's email, letting him see my entire workflow, was the most helpful aspect of the class, as he was able to point out what actions I took, step by step, that were unnecessary, or out of sequence, or just the right procedure. His critiques were invaluable.

But the most important thing about this course was the instructor himself. Lewis ALWAYS got back to me almost immediately any time I sent off a question--and I had a lot of questions! I never had that frustration as I have had in other courses, where I am waiting for the instructor to answer my question (which seems to be more common than not) so that I can complete the assignment. He continued to answer each of my send-backs if I didn't understand his answer! To me, having the back and forth between the instructor and me is the best way to work through the material when dealing with an online class. Lewis is simply the best online instructor I have experienced, and I wish he would offer more courses.

I just purchased his videos (he gives his students a discount) from this course and another set that covers more PS information--totally worth every penny.

This class really does offer a valuable tool to use daily, and Lewis Kemper is a fantastic, attentive instructor. Offer us more courses, Lewis!

11/1/2012 7:59:54 AM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com

member since: 11/2/2010
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Lewis Kemper's videos are wonderful. He is a fine instructor. I learned a lot from him. However, since I mostly use Lightroom 4, and only I use Photoshop CS5 a little bit, I wasn't really inclined to spend a lot of time working on the exercises which I would soon probably forget. I also didn't want to send large PSD files to the instructor for critique by email, but rather like posting exclusively on the site as is done for all the other courses. Scene shots of our CS5 work would have sufficed with posting of the final image. Thus, I didn't all the exercises. Nonetheless, the videos were great. But, that is not enough for a course of this cost!

I was genuinely desired and hoped for a course advertised by its very name a "Toolbox" that I could go back to in the future to get information that I want and I might need when I have an situation when I occasionally use Photoshop CS5. A "Toolbox" to me is also a resource to help me in the future when I need it. Instead, I only got videos that are only accessible for one year. There are no written lectures with explanations and examples that I could use over an extended period of time.

I have taken many BetterPhoto Courses and have enjoyed virtually all of them. BP has great instructors; Lewis Kemper included. However, in this case, I don't know how I would feel about the taking further courses of this type with video only offered at $396. I have a very fundamental problem with that type of course as mentioned earlier.

While I got a lot out of the vide0 presentations, I was extremely disappointed that there were no written lecture with examples to "keep" after the course is done. That diminishes the value of the course especially in terms of cost. $396 is a lot of money to pay and to only have a one year resource unlike all the other fine courses that have lectures I can refer to. My goodness, I refer to the lectures of my first course back in 2010 to this very day at times.

My inclination always is to go back and review material frequently. I want resources. Since this course has no real take aways except to be able to watch the videos during a limited one year post course completion I am very disappointed. Thus, I feel that the value of the course was significantly diminished.

I am very disappointed about that and really want to have lecture material supplemental to the video. I even want BetterPhoto to supply them for the money paid for this course. Don't get me wrong, BetterPhoto.com is wonderful. They just "missed the boat" on this course.

Even videos supplemented with lecture material would be better then nothing but videos for one year!

4/27/2012 7:47:59 AM
 
Natasha Pliss
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Natasha
Natasha's Gallery
natashaplissimpressions.com

member since: 3/17/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you are a Photoshop user then this is a must take class. It is extremely informative, very well organized; great video format, interesting and challenging assignments and most of all - the results. Your pictures will definitely show it. You just need to practice and experiment with these techniques. Great lesson on Camera Raw (and I thought I new it all. Was I wrong!). Thank you very much, Lewis! It is definitely a 5 star course!
3/2/2012 10:41:03 AM
 
Alexander Czernin-Morzin
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Alexander
Alexander's Gallery

member since: 1/27/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Most important: Lewis, thanks for the huge effort you obviously put into these videos!
The first video with the preference setting filled in many gaps in my knowhow. The Camera Raw invaluable: I know understand the basics. Layers, blend modes, while already used to some extend I would not want to miss. HDR super. Filters, density masks: almost everyting new knowhow. Curves - yes, at the beginning I was a bit scared but now? Lesson 8 on colour, well the only thing I regret here: my partial red/green colour blindness.
I regret that BP cancelled the second such course of Lewis, but no problem: I ordered his DVD set (also for this course.
I have two screen on my computer, one for the videos, the other for CS5. This is the best solution!
In the next weeks my wife and I will work through both DVD set: repeat and learn new stuff!
Thanks Lewis!
Alexander
2/29/2012 12:26:51 PM
 
Kayla D. Stevenson
BetterPhoto Member
kaylastevenson-photography.com

member since: 8/6/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was without a doubt one of the best courses I've taken at BP. The videos were full of techniques and information. I played them over and over again, just to be sure I had gleaned every last detail. Lewis's speaking and demonstrating pace in the videos were excellent. Please offer his next Photoshop Course 'Beyond the Basics'. I will be the first to sign up.
2/26/2012 11:58:44 AM
 
David B. Dawson
Contact David
David's Gallery

member since: 1/6/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best basic Photoshop course I've come across, and that's saying a lot. I've tried a couple of online Photoshop overviews, and I've read umpteen books and articles. These materials were usually adequate, and gave me a tentative shove into the digital darkroom.

Thanks to Lewis Kemper's course, I learned just how much I was missing. Through a number of practical, powerful, and accessible features of Photoshop, Lewis is outstanding at showing how to make your images sit up and sing. I learned so much about how to really use Photoshop -- rather than just mess around with photos in the hope that they'll somehow look better -- that I'm sure my images will be better from now on.

1/6/2012 1:40:31 AM
 
Nicki s. McQuillen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/1/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Thank you so much for this class!! I started this class wanting to toss the program in the garbage, to being excited about fixing all my photos!! It makes a huge difference to be able to see what you are doing on the computer. This video format is perfect for Photoshop and Louis does a fantastic job of teaching. I will be recommending this class to anyone and everyone that wants to learn more about photoshop. I just wish there was another class on more of the tools. Thanks again!!

Nicki McQuillen

5/6/2011 9:16:06 PM
 
enrique cendejas
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/14/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
If you want to learn color/exposure correction in photoshop online you simply have to take this course. Having it on video was like having Lewis in your living room while instructing you one on one. This was easily one of the best online courses that I have taken.
5/3/2011 7:01:09 AM
 

First 10 of 13 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.® All Rights Reserved.