BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online 4-Week Short Course - Creating Storytelling Photos

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Storytelling Nature Photos Photography Course
Course Instructor: Rob Sheppard
4-Week Short Course: Storytelling Nature Photos

Expand your possibilities for nature photography and gain more satisfaction from your pictures as you take a journey into storytelling nature photos. Connect with the beauty of our world and share that connection with storytelling photos. This 4-week online class will deepen your own connection to nature and give you the tools to develop your visual eye and your photographic craft to capture better nature images. Instructor is Rob Sheppard, who brings to this class the experience of being the editor of Outdoor Photographer magazine for 12 years, as well as being editor-at-large and columnist with the magazine, plus author of over 20 photography books.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Storytelling Nature Photos


8 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Rajiv Chopra
Contact Rajiv
Rajiv's Gallery
crookedimagez.biz

member since: 12/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent course, and one that I highly recommend. We often lose the plot, the context, when shooting photos, and Rob's lessons and critiques are very well planned and delivered. The critiques are sharp, and always helpful.
3/7/2014 12:10:15 AM
 
Mark Calibo
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/8/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great course, if you want to learn about photography as an art or cultural piece. Story Telling Photos, involve what the viewer sees in the photograph and not what the photographer is seeing in his head.
I don't think this is a beginner course, although it really should be one of the first courses any photographer should take. Don't look for praise on a good photograph if it doesn't tell a story!
8/8/2012 6:19:22 PM
 
Laura L. Mahoney
landsphotography.com

member since: 6/2/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
After taking 2 great classes with Rob, I feel I have definitely improved my skill set and look forward to more classes. Thank you for the oportunity to learn from the pros!
2/1/2012 4:38:40 AM
 
Michele M. Williams
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/26/2011
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I learned a great deal from this course. It makes you think beyond exposure and composition, and really think about what you want to say with a photograph. The course material is good and Rob's critiques are honest and respectful, as well as timely.
10/16/2011 9:49:20 AM
 
Jon M. Lamrouex
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Jon
Jon's Gallery
jmlamrouex.com

member since: 5/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
For some photographers the beautiful image is the ultimate success. This course steps beyond that and forces us to expand into an almost journalistic arena. To tell a story with an image or even several images can be difficult, as I found out when taking the course.

Telling a story within a photograph is a wonderful skill for a photographer to learn. If you want to go beyond the pretty image I recommend that this course be on the short list of courses to take.

2/3/2011 3:20:43 PM
 
Valeriano Della Longa

member since: 5/21/2008
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
I didn't like it so much. Probably I thought it was completely different since the teacher was the editor of Outdoor Photography for such a long time. I thought it was going to focus more on what does work and what doesn't on a publishing point of view.
1/1/2011 4:05:53 PM
 
John C. Sun
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/30/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course was a lot of fun. It taught me a whole new way to think about photography, and the content of photos that I take. It was not an easy concept for me to grasp. I think the best way to learn the material was to read all the critiques.

Highly recommended. My only criticism is that it should be an 8 week course. I hope Rob starts a Storytelling Photos Level 2 course.

4/29/2010 1:52:23 AM
 
Tracy Olsen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/3/2005
0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 0.5 out of 5

I think the lessons are too heavily focused on Landscape/nature photography; more general examples and photos would be better. Also, better examples and explanations of how to tell a story because I never really got it.

Also, I really did not like the critiques - I found them short, repetitive (like, Copy and Paste) and not all that helpful. More real thought and time should go into student critiques.

And, out of the four weeks, there were only two Photos of the Week. What's up with that? If the instructor does not have time to do this course, he should not be trying to do it.

3/13/2010 10:23:20 PM
 

8 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.