BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online PhotoCourse™ - Image Design: Revealing Your Personal Vision with Tony Sweet

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

Image Design: Revealing Your Personal Vision Photography Course
Course Instructor: Tony Sweet
Image Design: Revealing Your Personal Vision

Learn creative compositional techniques to move your photography to the next level. Whether you're photographing trees, flowers, nature, still-life, mountains, patterns, abstract images, or any other subject, strong and simple design is the hallmark of great photography. There is no luck involved in consistently good photography. Join Nikon Legend Behind the Lens, Tony Sweet, for this inspiring 8-week course guaranteed to jump start your creativity and improve your compositional skills. Various compositional techniques will be explored and fine tuned throughout the course, designed to motivate you to create simpler, cleaner, and more compelling images.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 2 - Serious Hobbyist
Only $396 USD

Learn more about
Image Design: Revealing Your Personal Vision


First 10 of 18 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com

member since: 11/2/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Tony's course was great and helps one to look again at their work, their style and see differently. It also forced me to practice some things I had forgotten as well return to past work and learn little more about what worked and what didn't work and figure out why. I highly recommend Better Photo and certainly take a course with Tony. You will be rewarded with new insight.
7/16/2014 1:08:20 PM
 
G, Margaret  Hennes
Contact G, Margaret
G, Margaret 's Gallery
gmargarethennes.com

member since: 11/30/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I found myself inspired and challenged during this course. Each lesson made me really think,look critically at photo subjects and see them in a different light.
Above all I appreciated Tony's fair and constructive feedback along with suggestions for improving my images.
G. Margaret Hennes
9/15/2013 8:30:31 AM
 
Pam Baumann
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Pam
Pam's Gallery
pambaumannphotography.com

member since: 1/6/2009
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
As I am a huge fan of BP, this was not my first class with them, however, it was my first class with Tony Sweet. While the class content was extremely valuable, the delivery was lacking. The course content will challenge you to bring your images up a notch and step out of your comfort zone, but Tony seemed pretty disengaged from the course. He was pretty much absent from any type of discussion and got by with the mandatory critiques of weekly assignments. As compared with other BP instructors, he was not of the type to encourage any type of dialogue or offer any guidance on additional aspects of an image. He sometimes answered questions but not always. When he did, it was usually a quick one-liner and that was it. He seemed and actually mentioned a few times that he was very busy with other things - which is all fine and good - but when you're spending $400.00, it would be nice to get $400.00 worth of interaction with the instructor.
Often, his feedback or critiques were lacking in specificity and he never took the time to make any changes to a student's image in an effort to illustrate a point. This is pretty much the norm with most other instructors that I have taken classes with. Other instructors have come across enthusiastic and sincerely interested in a student's work and seemed genuinely interested in moving them to the next level. Not so much with Tony. The class and interaction with was very much on the back burner with him.
While the specific lessons were valuable, I would look at taking another course that had similar teaching points with a different instructor. While I learned a few things from the written lessons themselves, I can honestly say that I did not learn or increase my skillsets or knowledge bank from Tony's contributions. I still haven't received my final lesson critiques and the class has been over for about two weeks.

5/6/2013 9:55:28 AM
 
Steinar Kibsgaard
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Steinar
Steinar's Gallery

member since: 5/31/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course with Tony Sweet covers a lot, and I can recommend it.

This was my 20. course, so of course some of the stuff was repetition for me, but I still had advantage of it, because some of the teachings in the lessons was "special" = Tony Sweets approach, and this approach is worth getting.

And also because Tony Sweets critique was always honest and spot on,

4/25/2012 8:05:05 AM
 
Josh A. Friedman
BetterPhoto Member
joshfriedmanphoto.com

member since: 3/3/2010
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
There were good & not-so-good aspects of this course. Tony is an extremely talented photographer. His lessons & assignments were thought-provoking, & very useful. However, his feedback was very sparse & it often lacked specificity (at times it was clear that he had cut-and-pasted feedback from one student to another). Other instructors gave both longer, more specific, & more constuctive feedback. In fact, other instructors periodically took a student's photo & made changes to illustrate their feedback -- to my knowledge, Tony did not do this at all. Also, responses in Q&A tended to feel very rushed. All of that said, I thought the course was good, but it could have been better.
8/20/2010 7:48:55 AM
 
Anna Marie Senita

member since: 1/11/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was an excellent course. It helped me to understand why an image has impact and how to achieve that in mine. I began to see the concepts in other people's images as well as seeing before I took my own images.
5/19/2010 7:35:38 AM
 
Peter Lind
BetterPhoto Member
palindphotography.com

member since: 5/1/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
While doing this course, I found it helped changing were I took my shots so as to add that something little that really helped improve my shots. The comments on my shots were very insightful and helpful.

Further when looking at the masters or great shots, I started to see how there had incorporated these same steps and how I may take similar shots.

It is a hard course but nothing is gained without effect. I highly recommend this course.

5/12/2010 3:39:37 PM
 
Dick Beery
BetterPhoto Member
3oaks-photography.com

member since: 5/11/2009
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed the lessons and even though I had read or heard about most of the topics, it was a challenge to put them into practice. Tony's comments were concise and to the point and always gave suggestions for ways to improve.
9/3/2009 3:14:50 PM
 
Jerry Jelinek
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/15/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The class was informative and challenged me to get out and try new things. That is the positive and very much needed by myself to get out of my 'comfort' zone.

But I found Tony to be very lax in keeping a dialog going with students. He always answered questions when I asked them, but it always seemed rushed.

He never really tried to engage the students in any dialog to keep them moving forward. I always felt that it was a bit of a burden on him to really do much with the class.

3/11/2009 1:32:19 PM
 
Chellie L. Hyre
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/1/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great class for learning to look at photo subjects in a whole different way - as designs rather than snapshots. Each lesson was challenging, and Tony's critiques were honest and fair. I especially appreciate the effort he put into explaining how each picture could have been improved.
1/7/2009 6:22:34 PM
 
Kate Cowan
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/15/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I learned a lot on Tony's course. I am beginning to see more possibilities in my image making and am much more aware of what adds impact in an image. The other members images were inspirational too and Tony's feedback was concise and experienced.
12/3/2008 2:11:24 PM
 

First 10 of 18 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.