BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS 40D Digital SLR


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Hosta flowers #2
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 40D Digital SLR

Features:

  • 10.1-megapixel CMOS sensor captures enough detail for photo-quality poster-size prints
  • Large 3.0-inch LCD display with enhanced Live View and broadened color gamut
  • 6.5 frame-per-second continuous shooting capability (for bursts of up to 75 Large/Fine JPEGs or 17 RAW images)
  • sRAW mode; 35-zone metering system; integrated Self-Cleaning Sensor Unit
  • Powered by BP-511A, BP-511, or BP-512 lithium-ion battery pack; stores images on CF cards

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Debbie A. DeClue
debbiedeclue.com

member since: 4/14/2007
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I actually don't own this camera (I am a Nikon Girl and love the D700 & D300) but I have an action sports photography business and there are 3 photographers that shoot for me that own this camera and I do not love the images that are captured. They are the kind of images that if you look at them quickly or not too closly they look in focus but if you take your time and look at them (I can tell right away) they are not really sharp. The players are kind of grainy and I am struggling to find the answer to why this is happening. Is this camera not made for action sports photography? Or, are these photographers who know the types of shots to get, not holding the camera as still as they should. If anyone has an answer for me, please let me know. Thank you . Debbie DeClue
1/9/2011 10:02:32 AM
 
Terrence G. Credlin
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/8/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
love this camera as a first DSLR it took a bit to learn but its so worth it
upgraded from an Olympus 5060 P&S
8/23/2009 2:03:18 AM
 
Rob Martin
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/17/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I finally got one of these babies. I went from an XT to an XTi and now the 40D.
Overall it is an excellent camera. The features and quality are amazing. Lots of manual controls and it will take some time to master them but it is well worth it.
9/11/2008 11:11:54 PM
 
John Caruso
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I absolutely love this camera. The image quality is fantastic, and the controls are intuitive and easy to manipulate. The build quality, too, is terrific. This just FEELS like a quality camera in your hands, and when you look at the results, you just KNOW it is.
8/11/2008 2:51:48 PM
 
Jim Darnall
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/3/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just got the EOS D40 and been playing with it about a week. All I can say it is a world of difference coming from a Fuji finepix s9000 which is not a DLSR. I think I am going to love this camera. I have added my first shot to my gallery with the D40. AN amazing shot of the clouds after a storm went thru. Fun stuff.
7/25/2008 11:52:39 AM
 
Jay M. Schulz
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/1/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I upgraded from the 350D a few months ago and love this camera so much I tell all my friends that this is the ONLY camera to buy for beginners to professionals. You can't beat the price and the quality, with a good lens (not the cheap kit lens that most buy the camera with) will rival the 5D and any of the Nikon cameras. For most upgrading from the Rebel camera family, the 40D is a better choice than the 5D. It is not just the price of the camera body, but also the lenses (EF-S) won't work on the 5D, so it is better to stay with the APS-C sized sensor. I say shoot away with the 40D until you can afford something in the 1D family. You will be more than satisfied with the ability of this camera to keep up with your demands.
7/19/2008 6:40:03 AM
 
Zachary W. Sarette

member since: 6/28/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good buy for the money. It's a fast, and decent camera with a good amount of weight. I've had this since January, and have made a few thousand pictures since then, shooting for a local newspaper, family events, and weddings among other things.

Buy good lenses with it, and it will make you very happy. Don't worry about setting it to manual, just set it to P or full auto mode and see how good you can make pictures. On the downside, the built in flash is not very dependable and takes a while to recycle. Get yourself an external flash for an extra $125 if you think you need it.

6/28/2008 12:47:59 PM
 
Zachary W. Sarette

member since: 6/28/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good buy for the money. It's a fast, and decent camera with a good amount of weight. I've had this since January, and have made a few thousand pictures since then, shooting for a local newspaper, family events, and weddings among other things.
6/28/2008 12:43:42 PM
 
Liandra M. Barry
BetterPhoto Member
photobyliandra.com

member since: 4/30/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I upgraded from the 20D and I am quite please I waited since the 30D wasn't much different. After reading about the 40D, I knew I had to buy it. I'm quite happy with the improvements and I love the sensor self-cleaning option. I love my 40D. Highly recommend.
5/25/2008 6:10:49 PM
 
satoshi kondo

member since: 4/28/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The 40D is the first DSLR camera I've used so take this review with a grain of salt. The 40D is a stocky camera that feels great in my hands, and the intuitive placement of the buttons and dials makes the camera a pleasure to work with (aside from the questionable location of the on/off switch although I cannot say where would be better). What I don't like about the camera is the resolution of the screen is too low, making it difficult to tell whether an image is in focus or not. This problem is compounded by the fact that I have bad eyes.
5/22/2008 2:35:22 PM
 
Amy Duffing
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/11/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I upgraded from the XT in September...and have just LOVED this camera!!! The focus is SO fast and I love the picture quality/color/sharpness. A+++
12/15/2007 11:56:06 AM
 

First 10 of 17 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy EOS 40D Digital SLR from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.