BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Online 4-Week Short Course - Successful Publication Photography with Rob Sheppard

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Successful Publication Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Rob Sheppard
4-Week Short Course: Successful Publication Photography

Learn what it takes to successfully have your photographs published. Instructor Rob Sheppard brings to this class the experience of being the editor of Outdoor Photographer magazine for 12 years, as well as being editor-at-large and columnist with the magazine, plus author of over 20 photography books. You will learn what you need to know about photography for publication, how you can sell images in a very competitive market, how to find the ideas that will get you the sales, and how to contact publications.

Category: Nature / Travel
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Successful Publication Photography


10 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Janice Carter
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Janice
Janice's Gallery

member since: 9/23/2010
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good course. I would recommend it to anyone hoping to be published. Rob teaches you to think your proposal through and to look at your "pretty" photos in a different way...the way editors look at material they need. This is not a photo-how-to course, but Rob does critique the photos you choose to use for the assignments. Again, good course. I may have to take it again!
8/9/2013 6:24:59 AM
 
Ed Farmer
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/1/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob's class is excellent. He's concise to the point and doesn't hold back. You'll learn how to build your portfolio with publication in mind and how to approach the editor/image purchaser. I would highly recommend his class.
11/29/2012 7:02:14 PM
 
Janice M LeCocq
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Janice M
Janice M's Gallery
janice-lecocq-photography.com

member since: 6/3/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob offers a very honest and pragmatic approach to this course. He has the experience and shares it with us, acting as the editor who would first see our attempts to publish our images and/or photo-illustrated stories. His critiques were extremely helpful and, I am sure, will make a difference.
5/13/2012 12:57:49 PM
 
Robert Baer
BetterPhoto Member
justin-baer-photography.com

member since: 7/7/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
excellent class. Alot of great information.
3/2/2009 1:43:46 PM
 
Ronald A. Zincone
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/27/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Successful Publication Photography with Rob Sheppard was a great course! Mr. Sheppard was professional and a very knowledgable instructor. I learned a lot from the course that I know will help me in the future. His lessons were well designed and his comments were clear, concise and helpful. I highly recommend this course with Rob Sheppard!
1/3/2009 10:38:30 AM
 
Troy Hostetler
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/22/2008
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
It should be clearer that this is not a photo class. Itís a sales class and not a good sales class, but good from a great editor. I would love to have heard this before the class, not in the 3rd week of the class. I still donít know what Ron was looking for so I have to rate this class thumbs down. It seems dated. I LOVE the feedback is very HONEST and respect that, thanks.

Troy

11/20/2008 2:39:21 PM
 
Nancy de Flon
Contact Nancy
Nancy's Gallery

member since: 9/24/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob's critique's are helpful, direct, and to the point. He critiques the lessons and answers Qs in a timely fashion. I'm amazed and grateful that he can do this given his demanding schedule. I highly recommend this course to anyone interested in selling to magazines; Rob's the expert, he knows what it's all about from the other side of the desk.
9/30/2008 5:55:19 PM
 
JACQUELINE LEONARD
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/14/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The class is really motivating. The instructor is good at critquing and doesn't cut a person any slack; you can really learn a lot about your photo technique, your research abilities and your letter writing skills.
7/31/2008 12:47:50 PM
 
Jon M. Lamrouex
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Jon
Jon's Gallery

member since: 5/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
After taking several BP classes I continue to find the instructors skilled, concerned, interested and interesting.

Rob Sheppard presents this course, Successful Publication Photography , in an organized and sequential way that gives the student a great understanding of what it takes to produce and present ideas to be published.

There are photography tips and concepts, research methods and presentation methods that, with practice, give the novice knowledge of what it takes in this professional specialty.

Anyone interested in becoming published as a photographer or photojournalist should take this course.

6/10/2008 12:10:17 PM
 
Jan-Olof Olsson

member since: 12/29/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rob Sheppard has the experience of being the editor of outdoor Photographer magazine for 12 years. Itís like sending in pictures and query letter to magazines. The difference is that Rob will tell you whatís wrong with the pictures and your writings, the magazines wonít tell you. Rob shows the importance of a well thought out idea, how to create photos so they supports this idea as a group, how to create variety between these photos. He discusses why pictures must be easy to understand within a second or two, the importance of impact and originality a good picture isnít enough. Rob shows how to write the query letters and contact editors. If you are dreaming about getting published you should participate in this course. You will have a much better understanding how an editor works after this course. You will think differently regarding your photography as well.
4/6/2008 2:22:11 PM
 

10 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright © 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc.ģ All Rights Reserved.