Online Photo Course - Creating Depth in Landscape Photography with Doug J. Johnson

Categories: Reviews: BetterPhoto Products and Services : BetterPhoto Online Photography Courses

4-Week Short Course: Creating Depth in Landscape Photography Photography Course
Course Instructor: © Doug J. Johnson
4-Week Short Course: Creating Depth in Landscape Photography

Learn to create images that possess visual interest, movement and depth. In this four-week online photography class - taught by professional photographer Doug Johnson - you'll start making your photos really come alive with the concept of layering the image space to create a third dimension.

Category: Composition Courses
Skill Level: 3 - Intermediate
Only $198 USD

Learn more about
4-Week Short Course: Creating Depth in Landscape Photography


First 10 of 46 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Heidi Psinas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/11/2011
Contact Heidi
Heidi's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2014 3:48:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2014 3:48:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2014 3:48:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2014 3:48:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/4/2014 3:48:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent class! Information was informative, concise, logical, and supported with visual learning tools. This course continues to challenge me with and without my camera to study the visual depth relationship of objects and scenes on a daily basis. I hope to continue to practice and grow in the techniques learned. Thank you.
5/4/2014 3:48:55 AM
 
Patty Petrik
pattypetrik-pics.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2012 6:21:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2012 6:21:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2012 6:21:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2012 6:21:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2012 6:21:26 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really enjoyed this class. It was full of great information that was easy to understand. If I had any questions, Doug was more than happy to explain things I wasn't clear on. He critiqued the lessons in a timely manner and gave excellent one on one feedback when needed. He was more than happy to spend extra time making sure we got the most out of the class. I have reread all of the lessons multiple times and probably will again in the future. The lessons were clear and easy to understand yet challenged us at whatever our ability level. He offered suggestions for ways to improve our pics. I'd definitely recommend this to others. Patty Petrik
12/6/2012 6:21:26 PM
 
Robert Brown
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/27/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2012 1:16:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2012 1:16:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2012 1:16:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2012 1:16:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/7/2012 1:16:03 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is one of the two classes that I would recommend to anyone. The other being a basic photography class specific to their camera. The instructor taught me things that help me see and understand the next level of composition. Though the course is titled “Creating Depth in Landscape Photography” the concepts reach much further. So far I have not found any photography books by Doug Johnson. If he writes one in the future, I’m buying.
8/7/2012 1:16:03 PM
 
John D. Roach
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/2/2010
Contact John
John's Gallery
jdroachphotography.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 4:05:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 4:05:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 4:05:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 4:05:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/11/2012 4:05:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Doug has an interesting approach to photography. He speaks to concepts that seemed a bit mysterious to me yet seem consistent with art school concepts. He focuses on the "positive" and "negative" elements of an image and his class exercises were focused, in part, in understanding that concept and how one moves the camera to compose with that concept in mind. While I found that to be well beyond how I think when I photograph, it nonetheless was interesting. Perhaps, if I wasn't burnt out in taking BP classes which became evident while doing this courses, I would have appreciated his concepts and even had the drive to find ways to mimimic the concepts which I found difficult to accomplish. From my perspective, the course focused too much on some technical concepts about how to focus and position the camera and as such could have been clearer with better examples and presentation of the ideas. I recommend Doug's course if one is looking for and is ready to embrace some new ways to compose images and perhaps already thinks the way I am describing his focus is on. I know I will read his course again for new ideas a few months from now, since I always save the course material and go back with a fresh eye when at first I didn't fully appreciate the content. Finally, Doug was always pleasant to work with even when his critiques were troubling for me.
As in many experiences in life, different approaches work in different ways for people so I fully expect that Doug's approach works just fine for other students. Due to that, I recommend prospective students to study the course curriculum carefully and be ready to think in new ways with Doug about photography.
7/11/2012 4:05:50 AM
 
Doug  J. Johnson
BetterPhoto Member
DougJohnsonPhotos.com
Doug 's Photo Courses:
4-Week Short Course: Creating Depth in Landscape Photography
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2012 5:00:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2012 5:00:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2012 5:00:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2012 5:00:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2012 5:00:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This class was great for introducing me to a new visual arts concept and then showing how to apply that concept using photographic technical skills. I had never heard of "positive and negative spaces" prior to this class and think that its use may help me produce meaningful photographics more consistently.

Doug Johnson provided excellant explanatory materials to support the course, and then reinforced the concepts with in-depth critiques of my own photos. His comments are always positive, even when he was correcting a flaw in my technique or composition. This was a great, very useful class.

6/11/2012 5:00:33 PM
 
Glenn Marcus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/1/2011
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2012 12:04:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2012 12:04:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2012 12:04:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2012 12:04:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/2/2012 12:04:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Depth in Landscape, and the concept of layers is interesting and very applicable to good composition. The concepts are applicalbe to a range of photography situations. Doug is excellent in terms of the content of the lessons as well as the critques of photos submitted. This is my 4th class with BetterPhoto and I certainly enjoyed it.
5/2/2012 12:04:59 PM
 
Ronald A. Zincone
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/27/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2012 6:08:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2012 6:08:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2012 6:08:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2012 6:08:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2012 6:08:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Creating Depth in Landscape Photography with Doug Johnson was a delightful course. Doug is truly a professional in both photography and teaching! His critiques were well written and very informative. I learned some valuable photographic skills and I highly recommend this course and Doug Johnson to any Betterphoto student. Ronald
1/5/2012 6:08:25 AM
 
Ann Flower
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/5/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2011 8:28:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2011 8:28:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2011 8:28:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2011 8:28:33 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2011 8:28:33 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was one the best, if not THE best course I've taken through betterphoto. Doug is a very knowledgeable and effective instructor. It is obvious that he truly wants the students to understand the material and improve their skills. He is supportive and encouraging and his enthusiasm is contagious. I wish Doug taught more courses.
12/10/2011 8:28:33 AM
 
Ann Flower
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/5/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2011 8:28:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2011 8:28:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2011 8:28:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2011 8:28:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2011 8:28:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was one the best, if not THE best course I've taken through betterphoto. Doug is a very knowledgeable and effective instructor. It is obvious that he truly wants the students to understand the material and improve their skills. He is supportive and encouraging and his enthusiasm is contagious. I wish Doug taught more courses.
12/10/2011 8:28:30 AM
 
Jeffrey McGee
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/13/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2011 1:44:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2011 1:44:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2011 1:44:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2011 1:44:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2011 1:44:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This course helped me learn some of the techniques I have been missing in my landscape photos. Each lesson added to my "tool kit, and I know I am a better Photographer now for it. The instructor was very helpful in explaining how I either got the lesson right or not. In either case his feedback was as helpful as the course material. He was honest when and where it counted. I definitely would take another course from Doug Johnson!
9/1/2011 1:44:02 PM
 
Kathleen Paton 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2011 5:39:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2011 5:39:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2011 5:39:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2011 5:39:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2011 5:39:18 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I took this course because of the excellent reviews from prior students and they were right! I hesitated because landscape photography is not my favorite, but this course and Doug’s techniques apply to all photography. I’ve taken several BP courses, all good, but this was the most challenging for me.

Doug is an excellent instructor, going out of his way to be sure you understand the subject. His lessons, critiques and replies to questions are very clear and informative. Even without a camera in my hand, I find myself looking at things differently now. I’d like to see another course from Doug.

6/7/2011 5:39:18 AM
 

First 10 of 46 Reviews  (see all user reviews)


Enroll

Add to Wishlist