Photographing Kids DVD


Jim Miotke     

Categories: Reviews: Other Resources : Photo Books

The Photographing Kids DVD

DVD with Color/Digital Sound; Multi-Region Encoding (NTSC).

Learn the basics of photographing children in Jim Miotke's new DVD, Photographing Kids.

This jam-packed DVD features over two hours of helpful, informative, and inspiring content. Each of the four segments is just under a half hour, and fun bonus materials teach you about scrapbooking, studio photography and more. The four segments are:

  • Working with Light
  • Portraits & Candids
  • Sports & Fast Action
  • A Look Inside Jim's Camera Bag (info on cameras and equipment)

Each segment has a variety of tips and techniques sprinkled throughout.

You'll learn:

  • How to see, appreciate, and make the most with a variety of lighting conditions
  • All about exposure, shutter speed, aperture, and ISO
  • To compose with the Rule of Thirds
  • How to capture your child's true personality...

This exciting and dramatic DVD has been described as authentic, down-to-earth, and fun to watch... even for non-photography enthusiasts.



See the back cover of the DVD


Watch sample of this instructional DVD on photographing children
View sample video

This trailer may take a few minutes to download but will give you a good idea of the excellent and helpful content you can expect on the DVD.

Pre-order your copy today and get a free gift!


9 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Julie A. Stroud 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:44:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:44:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:44:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:44:20 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2006 4:44:20 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very well thought-out production of the basics -- covered all aspects. Lots of helpful tips that I might not have otherwise thought of. Definitely a worthwhile purchase. Wish he had other, full DVDs to expand on the specialty areas within this video -- such as studio lighting, etc. (Hint hint, Jim.) Photography is visual; we can learn only so much from photography books.
8/28/2006 4:44:20 AM
 
Dianna Murphy
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/20/2006
diannamurphyphotography.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2006 10:47:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2006 10:47:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2006 10:47:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2006 10:47:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/25/2006 10:47:05 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Jim is easy to follow and gives some helpful hints. A good choice for the beginner. I wish you'd do a DVD to help beginners learn camera functions and settings.
7/25/2006 10:47:05 AM
 
Michael Bartkoski
Contact Michael
Michael's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2006 5:32:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2006 5:32:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2006 5:32:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2006 5:32:25 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2006 5:32:25 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first "visual" tool. I have many books on photography. The DVD is well worth the cost. It allows you to see how pictures are and should be taken and presents a better way to compare them to your own technique. Jim uses some aids for the flash and I would have liked him to discuss them a little. Overall a great tool for helping you become more creative in taking portraits of kids.
7/12/2006 5:32:25 AM
 
Lisa Clark
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/16/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2006 3:08:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2006 3:08:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2006 3:08:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2006 3:08:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/10/2006 3:08:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim's DVD is great for the more visual learner. He walks the viewer through what not to do. He shows the difference between ordinary and extradinary shots. I was able to go out and practice what I had learned the next day. I highly recommend this DVD.
7/10/2006 3:08:24 AM
 
Karen Johansson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/5/2005
johanssonstudio.com
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2006 11:14:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2006 11:14:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2006 11:14:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2006 11:14:24 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2006 11:14:24 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I enjoyed the DVD but was really looking for more professional posed children's portraits using daylight and strobe.
7/8/2006 11:14:24 AM
 
Marlene Groennert
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/12/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 11:22:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 11:22:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 11:22:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 11:22:54 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 11:22:54 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Jim

The video is informative, delightful, down to earth and easy to understand. As always you have captured the essence of childhood and with the DVD, allow us (novice) photographers to get a glimpse of "how it's done." Thank you so much for taking the time to create "Photographing Kids". Marlene

7/7/2006 11:22:54 PM
 
Walter G. Rowand Jr.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/5/2005
Contact Walter
Walter's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:07:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:07:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:07:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:07:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:07:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hello Jim, I have viewed your kids DVD and will several more times. It is very down to earth and you do not need $3000.00 in equiptment to suceed. Im a advanced photographer and can enjoy and learn from your efforts. Keep it up Regards, Walt Rowand.
7/7/2006 5:07:08 PM
 
Heather E. Lupo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/9/2006
heatherlupophotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 7:42:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 7:42:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 7:42:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 7:42:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/23/2006 7:42:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I received my Photographing Kids DVD yesterday afternoon! Great Job Jim!! I was watching the DVD this morning and really can get a sense now of where I might be going wrong in the way of my lighting. The DVD is very well laid out and clear and concise and I can see myself referring back to it for future clarifications. It is so much easier to for me to actually see what is being taught instead of just simply reading it in a book and trying to apply it in the way I think it is meant to be interpreted.

I look forward to purchasing many more of Jim's DVD's to further enhance my love of photography!

Thank you ~ BetterPhoto.com has been a great inspiration to me in the past two months since I joined the site!

5/23/2006 7:42:15 AM
 
L. Michelle  . Bashore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/16/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 12:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 12:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 12:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 12:07:50 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/24/2006 12:07:50 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I recently received and have viewed the DVD photographing kids and I am very pleased with my purchase. Jim Miotke is a great teacher and the video is much more than I expected. It is very educational and informative
I enjoy having the DVD because with having two children it is often difficult to find a chance to read and it is much eaiser to view a video. Also, I enjoy the DVD because sometimes it is hard for me to understand what many author's are explaining with photography concepts. With the DVD you can actually see the concept that is being explained. I look forward to purchasing more of Miotke's DVDS.
4/24/2006 12:07:50 PM
 

9 Reviews  


Enroll

Add to Wishlist