BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


FX 35mm SLR Camera


Yashica

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Point and Shoot Film Cameras

Egypt in Las Vega...
View photos created with this camera

The FX-3 Super 2000, for example, is manual everything with LEDs to indicate proper exposure. Film speed is manually selected (ISO 25 to 3200). Shutter speeds from 1 sec. to 1/2000 plus B are totally mechanical; exterior is mostly plastic but frame, film box, lens mount, flash mount and film rewind lever are metal; accepts Zeiss lenses for the Contax SLRs but since there are no auto or program modes.

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 33 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Ghazali N. Zuberi

member since: 7/25/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It was my first SLR when I bought it brand new in 1992. Still have it, but now as my second camera next to my Canon DSLR. Superb, sharp and crisp image results and very simple to select shutter speeds control; plus a very handy exposure meter.
6/15/2014 8:34:21 AM
 
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It is 1 of 2 cameras I use. The other is a digital, this is the only manual but it works great for me.
6/22/2006 1:51:47 PM
 
nipu barua
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/1/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I Like This. Because when I will take any expouse, I feel comfortable.
4/25/2006 2:04:14 AM
 
Jessie B. McKean

member since: 2/20/2006
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
It's a great camera for where I'm at, but will need a better one soon.
3/5/2006 2:50:05 PM
 
Brittany E. Bailey

member since: 1/8/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great all manual camera, I just wish it was in better condition and that I had some telephoto lenses for it, but it diid good while it lasted!
1/8/2006 11:46:26 PM
 
Garth R. Granstrom

member since: 5/1/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Yashica FX -2 was my first camera and I enjoyed it alot. I learned alot about photography with it and it took some very good pictures for me, wish I still had it.
1/7/2006 12:16:11 PM
 
Cassandra L. Boone

member since: 9/30/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It takes good pictures most of the time, but in low light situations it can be tricky to get the exposure just right. I use a lot of light sources in my portrait pictures, and sometimes the camera just won't take a good picture without a light meter. I spose it's more my fault then the camera! I'm just an amateur after all.
9/30/2005 9:20:31 AM
 
Pierre-Luc Lebrun
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/18/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
My Yashica FX-3 SLR 35 mm camera is the only souvenir I have left from my father who died when I was 2 years old. I have never known my own father, my own sources, and still ignore the looks, smell and feel of my own blood. May this camera be the support of the most beautiful pictures... It isn't a Rebel, nor a cybershot... but watch me shoot.
9/22/2005 6:50:14 PM
 
George Anderson

member since: 7/6/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
FX-3 Excellent, small, lightweight manual/mechanical SLR. Aluminum body/frame with plastic outer skin. Simple LED over/under lightmeter. A very basic box with manual shutter/aperture control only. The FX-3 DOES have a threaded shutter release that accepts a standard, locking mechanical release cable, so Sujith must be thinking of an older electronic Yashica. In fact it is an excellent camera for use with time exposure night photography. Because of its light weight and compact size, and ability to accept Contax/Zeiss lenses, it also makes for an excellent candid/street photography camera. The earlier FX-3 models made in Japan (before Kyocera outsourced the camera to China) tend to be better constructed.
7/11/2005 10:43:29 AM
 
Sujith Gopinath
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/26/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
What I liked- sturdy consruction. What I didn't like- lack of depth-of-field preview, lack of cable release.
6/7/2005 12:20:11 AM
 
Carol A. Wight

member since: 5/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
this camera takes excellent pictures of pets, grandkids, and even scenery!
5/20/2005 5:01:48 PM
 

First 10 of 33 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.