Cyber-shot DSC-R1 Digital Camera


Sony

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Looking at You Lo...
View photos created with this camera

The Cyber-shot DSC-R1 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Records images on Memory Stick PRO and Compact Flash Type 1/II
    media; powered by one NP-FM50 InfoLithium battery
  • 10.3-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 18
    x 24-inch prints
  • 5x optical zoom; 2.0-inch vari-angle LCD display
  • "Live" preview using Sony's Complementary Metal Oxide
    Semiconductor (CMOS) technology
  • Three color modes and RAW capture

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 21 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Peter VELTER 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2008 5:56:23 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2008 5:56:23 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2008 5:56:23 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2008 5:56:23 AM 0.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/10/2008 5:56:23 AM
Rating: 0.5 out of 5
The R1 actually is a shitty camera and if you cannot see that then ... I am afraid you need an eye test.
My Canon is 100x better: shaper images, of better quality. There is just no contest.
11/10/2008 5:56:23 AM
 
Mark Moore 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2008 12:25:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2008 12:25:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2008 12:25:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2008 12:25:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2008 12:25:35 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I moved to the DSC-R1 from the 717. Many of the controls are in the same general location.
The live view is it's best feature--no scale to look at, the onscreen image changes with the settings. What you see is what you get. The lens has a great all-purpose range, and while you can't change lenses, the sensor is sealed from dust.
The R-1 is now my backup..I recently bought the Sony Alpha 350 as my first true SLR.
4/17/2008 12:25:35 PM
 
Peter VELTER 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2008 12:58:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2008 12:58:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2008 12:58:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2008 12:58:23 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/10/2008 12:58:23 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It is not a bad camera ... for a beginner. It was my first camera, but I moved on to Canon5D and am making better pictures.
3/10/2008 12:58:23 PM
 
Jessyca S. McCargo
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/21/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2006 1:05:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2006 1:05:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2006 1:05:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2006 1:05:09 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2006 1:05:09 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I truly love this camera. We work well together. I find the image, and the DSC-R1 locks in on it, captures the image and 9.5 times out of ten, it produces perfection. I love the wide and swivel angles of the top mounted view LCD, and the black and white capability is just absolutely awesome.Of all my cameras, this is the lead camera. All the others pale in comparison.
11/12/2006 1:05:09 PM
 
sohail irfan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/3/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:19:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:19:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:19:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:19:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:19:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it. it got style I would call it HOT as friend of mine called it SEXY. The picture quality is really good as well. cheers to SONY i hope they keep on coming with new models :)
6/18/2006 3:19:40 PM
 
Elliot Abrams
weatherscape.me
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:45:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:45:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:45:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:45:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:45:20 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very good pictures. Lens very versatile because of its wide range
6/13/2006 2:45:20 PM
 
John Heselgrave 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 9:55:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 9:55:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 9:55:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 9:55:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 9:55:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Still have a Sony DSC-F828: Great 8 mp camera, swivel back for those odd angles, excellent performance at ISO 64 to 200 then it really gets noisy. Very sharp Zeiss lens good for 16X20 images. Love it & keeping it! Sony DSC-R1: Newest addition. Simply superior images to F828 but inspite of positive build quality comments in reviews, I feel the F828 is more solid (e.g. more metal) in body feel. However, the R1 just rocks, it's super sharp, 24mm is great at the wide end and images to 30X40 are no problem. Much better noise at high ISO than F828. Not as good as Canon SLRs, but better than Olympus 4/3rds system and, in my opinion, a match for Nikon (not surprising given Sony supplies a number of their imagers).
6/9/2006 9:55:03 AM
 
Eisha Cowan 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:50:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:50:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:50:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:50:36 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:50:36 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Absolutely great camera. I find it hard to find a fault with this beautiful 10 megapixel, rotatable lcd screen camera. The Carl Zeiss lens is great, but the only drawback is not being able to change it. Apart from that, I'd say its pretty much one the best digital cameras for a non dslr style.
6/7/2006 8:50:36 AM
 
Asier Villafranca 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:01:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:01:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:01:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:01:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/7/2006 8:01:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love it!
6/7/2006 8:01:16 AM
 
Walter G. Rowand Jr.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/5/2005
Contact Walter
Walter's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 3:13:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 3:13:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 3:13:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 3:13:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 3:13:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Believe it or not i like this camera better than my 20D. I bought it after reading Peter Burians test report in Shutterbug. He was certantly correct giving this camera a thumbs up. Beautiful images. Walt Rowand
5/6/2006 3:13:19 PM
 
margarit  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 9:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 9:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 9:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 9:41:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/6/2006 9:41:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
facilité d'utilisation, qualité exceptionnelle de la lentille
5/6/2006 9:41:09 AM
 

First 10 of 21 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Cyber-shot DSC-R1 Digital Camera from Amazon.com