FM SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Three sailboats
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


26 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Devin Jernigan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 2:36:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 2:36:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 2:36:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 2:36:25 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 2:36:25 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is vintage, and shoots amazingly. I have had for it for about 6 months and the pictures it takes, with a little help from me, are spectacular
6/5/2006 2:36:25 PM
 
Michele N. Yamrick 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 12:08:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 12:08:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 12:08:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 12:08:47 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 12:08:47 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This one is my 'baby' and my first Nikon. My cherished FM. Full manual. Nothing automated, and too much fun. THis camera is over 25 years old, and still shoots as good as the day I got it. I've had it all over the east coast, and its imagery speaks for itself. Its that 'tack sharp' optic that is only on a Nikon. I'll never part with it. And while I love my D50 Digital SLR, one thing I'll never stop using is F I L M. It still ROCKS!
1/16/2006 12:08:47 PM
 
Tom R. Walker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/7/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:44:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:44:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:44:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:44:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:44:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good basic manual camera
1/9/2006 5:44:35 PM
 
Heather Robertson
seenitphotos.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 5:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 5:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 5:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 5:59:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 5:59:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is completely manual, not automatic settings. Has a built in light meter, but if the battery for the meter goes dead, the shutter is mechanical so it will work without a battery. Very rugged and durable.
12/28/2005 5:59:20 PM
 
linda ozag
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 10:47:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 10:47:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 10:47:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 10:47:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/17/2005 10:47:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy to use, always ready to go, great all around worker.
8/17/2005 10:47:31 AM
 
Jen L. Murray 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 11:00:58 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 11:00:58 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 11:00:58 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 11:00:58 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2005 11:00:58 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera was my father and is entirely manual. there isnt too much i dont like about it. it;s more of a me thing where i just require more practice. i can be a little slow with focusing and zooming in on the subject. this inside of it is all gold plated due to the fact the my dad was living in the west indies and didnt want the inside of it to rust due to the high humidity there.
8/6/2005 11:00:58 AM
 
Alvin Stiles
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/26/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:32:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:32:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:32:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:32:32 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:32:32 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great classic Nikon camera, fully manual, well built and hardy. I use this camera for macro and night photography mostly, can use it in the rain or cold, works great.
7/26/2005 8:32:32 PM
 
Josh B. Stromberg
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/9/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 12:12:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 12:12:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 12:12:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 12:12:09 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2005 12:12:09 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
a quality 35mm slr with a wonderful percision feel, the lack of exposure automation really slows me down though
7/16/2005 12:12:09 PM
 
Thomas A. Carter 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 2:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 2:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 2:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 2:15:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2005 2:15:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Have had this camera forever; of course it gathered moth balls for 13 or 14 years; but I am back and loving it--only for b&w film. thanks Tom Carter
1/29/2005 2:15:53 PM
 
Lucy S. Durfee
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/23/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 6:17:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 6:17:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 6:17:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 6:17:49 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2005 6:17:49 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Fully manual, only needs a battery for the meter!
1/3/2005 6:17:49 PM
 
Andrew Acosta 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 10:21:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 10:21:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 10:21:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 10:21:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/12/2004 10:21:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I went into photography with the objective of learning everything. This Camera was the one. I also chose it because of the name, Nikon. I just like that name, no special reason. But this camera does everything I could want with the options of upgrading later. The only thing that I wish was improved is the Light Meter. For some reason I just can't get the hang of it just yet but that hasn't stopped me yet! As for the weight. I don't mind carrying it around in my bag. But after a while. It does get to ya. N E wayz, that's my baby Nikon FM!
8/12/2004 10:21:40 PM
 
James A. George 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:38:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:38:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:38:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:38:18 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 8:38:18 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Rugged and Manual
4/17/2004 8:38:18 AM
 
Ronald Broome 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 6:59:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 6:59:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 6:59:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 6:59:55 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2004 6:59:55 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My slide film camera, exposure is right on even after all the years. Shutter advance just gave up after 32 years of solid use, I'm about to put $150 into an overhaul and then it will outlive me.
4/8/2004 6:59:55 PM
 
Patrick R. McMullen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2004
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 6:32:59 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 6:32:59 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 6:32:59 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 6:32:59 PM 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 6:32:59 PM
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
I have a very good camera body, the Nikon FM, but my lenses have always been very low quality. I just couldn't afford more expensive ones. I never really compared the difference before to a photo taken with a good quality lens, but I can see that my photos have a very different quality than I have seen on web pages taken with digital cameras. My own opinion is that the digital photos I see are much much better in quality and sharpness. But maybe, who knows, to some people my photos may have a quality that they prefer, since it's different than their own.
3/1/2004 6:32:59 PM
 
Anna V. Goplen 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 2:14:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 2:14:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 2:14:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 2:14:50 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2004 2:14:50 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I bought this camera used in 1997. It is very basic, but very reliable and functional.
2/18/2004 2:14:50 PM
 
Joe Huckstep 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 4:35:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 4:35:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 4:35:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 4:35:48 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 4:35:48 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Although a very old camera, and completly manual, this camera helps you focus on the essential arts of photography. It accepts all Nikon lenses and is a very reliable camera body.
2/17/2004 4:35:48 PM
 
Shane Elliott 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:39:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:39:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:39:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:39:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:39:29 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
great manual camer, especially like the idea of not having to have batteries to use shutter
1/3/2004 7:39:29 PM
 
Shane Elliott 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:30:47 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:30:47 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
liked my FM, gret manual camera, got alot of great shots with it, unfortunately had to sell it.
1/3/2004 7:30:47 PM
 
Shane Elliott 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:28:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:28:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:28:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:28:39 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2004 7:28:39 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
liked my nikon FM, had to sell it for cheap unfortunately, great manual, camera, sturdy and robust. I got alot of excellent shots with it.
1/3/2004 7:28:39 PM
 
Sherry Edwards 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 2:00:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 2:00:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 2:00:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 2:00:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 2:00:48 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The camera is easy to operate. The camera is easy to hold, fits the hand.
12/29/2003 2:00:48 PM
 
Chase McNiss 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 2:09:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 2:09:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 2:09:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 2:09:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/18/2003 2:09:58 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Compact workhorse solid build and dependable, use only Nikon lenses for sharpness and durability.
11/18/2003 2:09:58 PM
 
Bob Fowler 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2003 7:00:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2003 7:00:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2003 7:00:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2003 7:00:47 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/8/2003 7:00:47 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Fully mechanical, match diode metering, a 3.2 fps motor drive available, capable of using any Nikon lens 35mm SLR made since 1959 with the exception of those requiring mirror lock up and the "G" series, the FM is all the camera any photographer should ever REALLY need. However... because it doesn't have any automation, many people shy away from the FM (or FM2 or FM2n) because they believe the hype in the photo press about "techno-do-all wonder cameras". Technology doesn't MAKE better photos, it just makes it a bit easier. There is NOTHING that the techno-do-all cameras do that you CAN'T do with an FM, you just have to learn a little bit about photography.

OK, I'll get off my soapbox...

The FM features a mechanical shutter (not battery dependant) with speeds from 1 sec to 1/1000 plus B. The MD-11 or MD-12 3.2fps motor drives work great on these cameras. Film rewind is manual. Metering is of the "match diode" type. Older, pre-AI lenses can be mounted by folding the AI tab up and away from the lens mount - metering is then done using the stop-down method. The camera has a depth of field preview lever located next to the lens mount. X-sync is up 1/125 sec (1/200 for the FM2, 1/250 for the FM2n).

I currently have 3 of the FM series cameras, all with motors. I love 'em.
9/8/2003 7:00:47 AM
 
Natalie A. Kazulen 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 11:44:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 11:44:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 11:44:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 11:44:53 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/23/2003 11:44:53 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera, and am still learning to use it in new ways. So I can't say it is the best I have used or the worst!
7/23/2003 11:44:53 AM
 
Cynthia Walsh 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 6:13:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 6:13:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 6:13:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 6:13:55 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 6:13:55 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is the first camera I purchased. This is the camera I spent a lot of money on film with, learning to compose pictures, use the flash, understand exposure, etc...great first camera.
7/12/2003 6:13:55 PM
 
Victoria B. 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 4:01:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 4:01:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 4:01:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 4:01:54 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2003 4:01:54 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
they are the most fun to use
7/8/2003 4:01:54 PM
 
Andre Marhaug
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/6/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 2:01:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 2:01:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 2:01:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 2:01:24 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2003 2:01:24 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It delivers.
6/20/2003 2:01:24 PM
 

26 Reviews