BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


FM SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Three sailboats
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Devin Jernigan

member since: 6/5/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is vintage, and shoots amazingly. I have had for it for about 6 months and the pictures it takes, with a little help from me, are spectacular
6/5/2006 2:36:25 PM
 
Michele N. Yamrick

member since: 1/16/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This one is my 'baby' and my first Nikon. My cherished FM. Full manual. Nothing automated, and too much fun. THis camera is over 25 years old, and still shoots as good as the day I got it. I've had it all over the east coast, and its imagery speaks for itself. Its that 'tack sharp' optic that is only on a Nikon. I'll never part with it. And while I love my D50 Digital SLR, one thing I'll never stop using is F I L M. It still ROCKS!
1/16/2006 12:08:47 PM
 
Tom R. Walker
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/7/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Good basic manual camera
1/9/2006 5:44:35 PM
 
Heather Robertson
seenitphotos.com

member since: 12/22/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is completely manual, not automatic settings. Has a built in light meter, but if the battery for the meter goes dead, the shutter is mechanical so it will work without a battery. Very rugged and durable.
12/28/2005 5:59:20 PM
 
linda ozag
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Easy to use, always ready to go, great all around worker.
8/17/2005 10:47:31 AM
 
Jen L. Murray

member since: 8/5/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera was my father and is entirely manual. there isnt too much i dont like about it. it;s more of a me thing where i just require more practice. i can be a little slow with focusing and zooming in on the subject. this inside of it is all gold plated due to the fact the my dad was living in the west indies and didnt want the inside of it to rust due to the high humidity there.
8/6/2005 11:00:58 AM
 
Alvin Stiles
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/26/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great classic Nikon camera, fully manual, well built and hardy. I use this camera for macro and night photography mostly, can use it in the rain or cold, works great.
7/26/2005 8:32:32 PM
 
Josh B. Stromberg
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/9/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
a quality 35mm slr with a wonderful percision feel, the lack of exposure automation really slows me down though
7/16/2005 12:12:09 PM
 
Thomas A. Carter

member since: 11/11/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Have had this camera forever; of course it gathered moth balls for 13 or 14 years; but I am back and loving it--only for b&w film. thanks Tom Carter
1/29/2005 2:15:53 PM
 
Lucy S. Durfee
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/23/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Fully manual, only needs a battery for the meter!
1/3/2005 6:17:49 PM
 
Andrew Acosta

member since: 8/12/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera. I went into photography with the objective of learning everything. This Camera was the one. I also chose it because of the name, Nikon. I just like that name, no special reason. But this camera does everything I could want with the options of upgrading later. The only thing that I wish was improved is the Light Meter. For some reason I just can't get the hang of it just yet but that hasn't stopped me yet! As for the weight. I don't mind carrying it around in my bag. But after a while. It does get to ya. N E wayz, that's my baby Nikon FM!
8/12/2004 10:21:40 PM
 

First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.