FE2 SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Nairn Falls, BC
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


26 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Thomas R. Wilson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/5/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 7:41:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 7:41:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 7:41:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 7:41:39 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 7:41:39 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
An absolutely terrific camera, one of Nikon's classics.
5/5/2006 7:41:39 PM
 
Krithika Araju 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 10:46:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 10:46:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 10:46:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 10:46:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 10:46:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The FE2 gives me complete control over the way I would like my pictures to turn out. Being a manual SLR, it gives me unparalleled flexibility. The metal body is sturdy and allows me to avoid subtle shake of the hand to a large degree. It is the camera I learnt photography on, and I revere it for the same.
4/17/2006 10:46:24 PM
 
Sheldon L
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2006 8:42:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2006 8:42:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2006 8:42:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2006 8:42:35 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/4/2006 8:42:35 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My favourite camera. Have been using this machine for over 25 years and it has never missed a beat.
Tethered to an MD-12 motordrive, the ergonomics are better than the D70 and D200 for my hand size (large).
The viewfinder is bright . . . by dslr standards, VERY bright, and focusing is always able to be exact with the absolutely accurate and beautiful split-screen and surrounding freznel field.
I've been playing, wide-eyed, with a D200 for a few weeks now, but the FE2 is still in the bag too whenever I venture out, and I dare say it always will be (well, as long as they keep making Velvia that is).
2/4/2006 8:42:35 AM
 
Tim Innes 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:07:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:07:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:07:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:07:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 10:07:22 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
After a long time with Minolta manual focus cameras, I decided to switch after Minolta downgraded the quality of their 35mm MF bodies and I began to experience problems with the shutters and electronics. This was the first manual Nikon I ever owned, purchased new in 1984, and I could not believe how beautfully it was built and how well it has worked. 1/4000 top shutter speed, 1/250 flash sync, smooth vertical metal shutter and ball bearing film wind mechanism. The tolerances are very tight, even today. I still have it, still works fine.
1/30/2006 10:07:22 AM
 
Tom R. Walker
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/7/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:40:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:40:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:40:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:40:42 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2006 5:40:42 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's a Nikon, what else is there to say?
1/9/2006 5:40:42 PM
 
Madison B. Ford 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 8:17:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 8:17:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 8:17:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 8:17:26 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 8:17:26 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Really great, and built like a tank. It will outlive me for sure! Nice and heavy, not plastic, all metal and for great pictures. Its wonderful, but a couple times its gotten jammed.
11/3/2005 8:17:26 AM
 
Bert Wagner 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 4:03:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 4:03:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 4:03:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 4:03:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 4:03:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera that has lasted more than 20 years. This was my first camera and I still use it today, no complaints about it.
10/15/2005 4:03:51 AM
 
Cole Timothy Callahan 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 9:43:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 9:43:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 9:43:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 9:43:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/16/2005 9:43:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera does almost everything I could want it to do and it helps take beautiful photographs. It has a nice weight too.
9/16/2005 9:43:19 PM
 
Nick Tilley 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 1:59:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 1:59:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 1:59:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 1:59:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2005 1:59:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent and very reliable camera - the best
7/20/2005 1:59:26 PM
 
Ki A. Choquette 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 11:37:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 11:37:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 11:37:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 11:37:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/20/2005 11:37:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just purchased my Nikon FE2 this past sunday and I'm very pleased with the results. I've already burned a roll of 36 exposure 400 Tri-X and all of the prints came out well. I'm somewhat confused with how to use the meter on the inside of the camera, but regardless, I used my knowledge of light to get the best pictures possible. There's dirt on the prism inside the body which makes using the viewfinder somewhat difficult, but it's overall a very good maching. Advancing film is fast and simple, requiring little work from the photographer. The FE2 is light and a very well tuned machine for most types of photography.
5/20/2005 11:37:33 PM
 
Linda Mayfield 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:54:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:54:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:54:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:54:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2005 9:54:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great optics. Very durable. Low maintenance. Older and a little heavier than the newer models.
4/16/2005 9:54:02 PM
 
Rafael E. Martinez 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 10:30:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 10:30:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 10:30:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 10:30:15 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/21/2005 10:30:15 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Old, good under most conditions, simple yet precise.
2/21/2005 10:30:15 PM
 
John W. Goff
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/20/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 5:25:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 5:25:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 5:25:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 5:25:09 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2005 5:25:09 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The best 35 SLR I've owned. It hs been a work horse for me since the 1980's and it is still going strong.
2/5/2005 5:25:09 AM
 
Cody Updegrave 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 8:32:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 8:32:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 8:32:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 8:32:48 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/25/2004 8:32:48 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I love it.
11/25/2004 8:32:48 PM
 
Piotr M. Organa
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/12/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 9:07:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 9:07:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 9:07:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 9:07:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/12/2004 9:07:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
reliable, good lenses
11/12/2004 9:07:27 AM
 
edward tsosie 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2004 7:35:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2004 7:35:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2004 7:35:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2004 7:35:22 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/9/2004 7:35:22 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Camera, I had a FG20 but it was stolen in Colon, Panama. I was able to pick this camera in Panama City for 150. It works like its brand new.
9/9/2004 7:35:22 PM
 
Tammy Crockett 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 6:46:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 6:46:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 6:46:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 6:46:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/18/2004 6:46:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This was my first camera. I was not told a whole lot about the camera when I bought it other than most professionals use Nikon cameras, so at that time I bought brand name. As I started to use the camera I found it was very hard for me to use since I had no training and the manual used terms I was not familar with, but after taking Photography classes and I learned to use the camera I loved it. I still use it as a back up camera, but use my Nikon F100 the most. Tammy Crockett Oklahoma City, OK.
8/18/2004 6:46:52 PM
 
Larry T. Miller 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 8:38:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 8:38:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 8:38:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 8:38:20 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/11/2004 8:38:20 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The FE2 is a jewel. I bought mine used but in mint condition. I had a CLA done to it and it has performed very, very well. I have found it to be accurate and lightweight. When I hear that shutter click, the solid sound reminds me of the F3 shutter click. The FE2 is a rugged and reliable piece of machinery. I've always like titanium shutters, ie. F3 & FE2. They just seem very durable. I guess if there were one thing I would like to have seen on the FE2, it would be a 100% viewfinder.
8/11/2004 8:38:20 AM
 
Karen E. Stroud 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 10:50:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 10:50:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 10:50:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 10:50:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 10:50:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very easy to use, have had forever and have loved it. I prefer it to my new camera with the bells and whistles.
7/17/2004 10:50:59 AM
 
Justine Armil C. So
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/5/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 3:01:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 3:01:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 3:01:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 3:01:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/3/2004 3:01:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This Camera was given to me by my father. Believe it or not, it still looks Bend New. Nikon really is a durable brand. That is why for my first SLR Camera, I chose Nikon F80. Speaking of F80... coming from that Camera now using FE2 is really hard. Usually I forget to crank the Film Advance Lever after a shot. Grrrr. Holding the Camera is hard, because of its Boxie Structure and not to mention its weight. It is HEAVY! But this is a great camera. The output images are more fulfilling because it is made by a Manual camera; I feel good because of it. And I get respect from Old Timers everytime they saw me using this old Nikon FE2. :) They keep saying... "oh i wished i never sold my FE2, that is a great Camera". Anyways, I love this Camera. This is very precious for me because it came from my Dad. And I know he loves this Camera too.
7/3/2004 3:01:49 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2004 8:22:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2004 8:22:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2004 8:22:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2004 8:22:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2004 8:22:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great camera,a real dependable,everyday workhorse.When used with the proper Nikon lenses,this camera will produce some amazing photographs.I've made lots of money with with it. I will ALWAYS keep one!!
Just like Timex,they take a licking and keep on Clicking!!
6/16/2004 8:22:55 AM
 
Martin R. Hulak 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 8:27:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 8:27:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 8:27:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 8:27:19 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2004 8:27:19 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the best camera for the regular guy. It is not too hard to operate. with te MD12 it can be used for photo journalism. I have made many excelent snaps with mine and when I scan them I will enter them. I think it is the GODS GIFT of Cameras for the money
5/31/2004 8:27:19 AM
 
Pat Smith 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 10:18:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 10:18:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 10:18:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 10:18:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/2/2004 10:18:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had this camera for about 28 years and love it. It is the best camera I've ever used. I also have a Nikon Coolpix 885 digital wich I am learning to use. It's ok!
3/2/2004 10:18:54 AM
 
Joachim J. Layes 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 6:48:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 6:48:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 6:48:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 6:48:31 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2004 6:48:31 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great allround camera.
1/15/2004 6:48:31 PM
 
Dan S. Coquia 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2003 2:05:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2003 2:05:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2003 2:05:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2003 2:05:37 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/22/2003 2:05:37 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is the camera where I thought I finally developed a quick focusing finesse manually. And then I got an autofocus system after that.
7/22/2003 2:05:37 AM
 
Abdul Karim Male Ismail 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2002 10:58:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2002 10:58:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2002 10:58:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2002 10:58:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/30/2002 10:58:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I used almost 8 to 10 cameras, but this setup I am using since 1987. I found it very good and accurate for me.
9/30/2002 10:58:34 AM
 

26 Reviews