BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


FE2 SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Nairn Falls, BC
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Thomas R. Wilson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/5/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
An absolutely terrific camera, one of Nikon's classics.
5/5/2006 7:41:39 PM
 
Krithika Araju

member since: 10/13/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The FE2 gives me complete control over the way I would like my pictures to turn out. Being a manual SLR, it gives me unparalleled flexibility. The metal body is sturdy and allows me to avoid subtle shake of the hand to a large degree. It is the camera I learnt photography on, and I revere it for the same.
4/17/2006 10:46:24 PM
 
Sheldon L
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/20/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
My favourite camera. Have been using this machine for over 25 years and it has never missed a beat.
Tethered to an MD-12 motordrive, the ergonomics are better than the D70 and D200 for my hand size (large).
The viewfinder is bright . . . by dslr standards, VERY bright, and focusing is always able to be exact with the absolutely accurate and beautiful split-screen and surrounding freznel field.
I've been playing, wide-eyed, with a D200 for a few weeks now, but the FE2 is still in the bag too whenever I venture out, and I dare say it always will be (well, as long as they keep making Velvia that is).
2/4/2006 8:42:35 AM
 
Tim Innes

member since: 1/30/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
After a long time with Minolta manual focus cameras, I decided to switch after Minolta downgraded the quality of their 35mm MF bodies and I began to experience problems with the shutters and electronics. This was the first manual Nikon I ever owned, purchased new in 1984, and I could not believe how beautfully it was built and how well it has worked. 1/4000 top shutter speed, 1/250 flash sync, smooth vertical metal shutter and ball bearing film wind mechanism. The tolerances are very tight, even today. I still have it, still works fine.
1/30/2006 10:07:22 AM
 
Tom R. Walker
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/7/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's a Nikon, what else is there to say?
1/9/2006 5:40:42 PM
 
Madison B. Ford

member since: 11/3/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Really great, and built like a tank. It will outlive me for sure! Nice and heavy, not plastic, all metal and for great pictures. Its wonderful, but a couple times its gotten jammed.
11/3/2005 8:17:26 AM
 
Bert Wagner

member since: 9/17/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera that has lasted more than 20 years. This was my first camera and I still use it today, no complaints about it.
10/15/2005 4:03:51 AM
 
Cole Timothy Callahan

member since: 9/16/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera does almost everything I could want it to do and it helps take beautiful photographs. It has a nice weight too.
9/16/2005 9:43:19 PM
 
Nick Tilley

member since: 7/20/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent and very reliable camera - the best
7/20/2005 1:59:26 PM
 
Ki A. Choquette

member since: 5/20/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I just purchased my Nikon FE2 this past sunday and I'm very pleased with the results. I've already burned a roll of 36 exposure 400 Tri-X and all of the prints came out well. I'm somewhat confused with how to use the meter on the inside of the camera, but regardless, I used my knowledge of light to get the best pictures possible. There's dirt on the prism inside the body which makes using the viewfinder somewhat difficult, but it's overall a very good maching. Advancing film is fast and simple, requiring little work from the photographer. The FE2 is light and a very well tuned machine for most types of photography.
5/20/2005 11:37:33 PM
 
Linda Mayfield

member since: 4/6/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great optics. Very durable. Low maintenance. Older and a little heavier than the newer models.
4/16/2005 9:54:02 PM
 

First 10 of 26 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.