PowerShot SD550 (Ixus 750) Digital Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Glen
View photos created with this camera

The PowerShot SD550 (Ixus 750) Digital Camera

Features:

  • 16 shooting modes including My Color settings for customization while shooting
  • 7.1-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 15 x 20-inch prints
  • 2.5-inch LCD display; optical viewfinder; 3x optical zoom
  • Shoot high-quality movies at up to 60 frames per second with Fast Frame Rate Movie Mode
  • DIG!C II Image Processor for faster processing, vibrant colors, and excellent image quality

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


15 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Michelle D. Benson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 7:59:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 7:59:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 7:59:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 7:59:51 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 7:59:51 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. I usually purchase Nikon cameras, however when shopping for a new digital, the Canon Powershot SD550 had everything I was looking for in a new camera. It is easy to use, large screen display, theme shots, and more.
6/19/2006 7:59:51 AM
 
Joseph J. DeOrio 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 10:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 10:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 10:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 10:52:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2006 10:52:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great picture quality and ease of use. The more adventurous photographer in me would like to see a bit more manual control.
5/19/2006 10:52:20 PM
 
Michael Jones 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 7:39:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 7:39:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 7:39:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 7:39:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/1/2006 7:39:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is great becuase of its small size. It has a lot of functionality in a small package. I wanted a camera I could take quality pictures with, and carry in my pocket. I think this camera acheives these goals.
5/1/2006 7:39:46 PM
 
Barbara A. Ford 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:28:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:28:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:28:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:28:25 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 8:28:25 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is very small and lightweight and fits into my pocket. I can carry it around with me all the time. Takes great pictures and is very easy to use
4/23/2006 8:28:25 AM
 
Ken Jones 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 4:38:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 4:38:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 4:38:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 4:38:20 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 4:38:20 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
For a little point & shoot its ok. I use it for work quit a bit so I can get measurements and record them as sound bites
4/14/2006 4:38:20 PM
 
Casey McGlynn 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 9:17:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 9:17:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 9:17:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 9:17:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 9:17:32 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Small, easy to carry in pocket. Takes good pictures. Has a number of features. Has quality fee.
4/9/2006 9:17:32 AM
 
Charles Colchamiro 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 11:14:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 11:14:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 11:14:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 11:14:36 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/7/2006 11:14:36 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great p&s. No complaints.
4/7/2006 11:14:36 AM
 
Cec Primeau 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 2:57:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 2:57:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 2:57:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 2:57:10 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 2:57:10 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great little carry around camera. Like a few others i had the lcd screen crack (while in the case) after 4 days. The store replaced it and this one seems to work well.
3/28/2006 2:57:10 PM
 
Sue Thiel 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2006 7:20:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2006 7:20:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2006 7:20:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2006 7:20:27 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/26/2006 7:20:27 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
compact, light, quality pictures, easy to use
3/26/2006 7:20:27 AM
 
Gerald Scott 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 3:44:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 3:44:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 3:44:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 3:44:52 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/27/2006 3:44:52 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Very Dynamic in its capabilities.
2/27/2006 3:44:52 PM
 
Joseph A. Sciortino 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 12:54:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 12:54:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 12:54:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 12:54:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 12:54:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my camera!!!
1/15/2006 12:54:02 PM
 
Charlene M. Campbell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 8:51:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 8:51:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 8:51:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 8:51:04 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 8:51:04 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the clarity of the pictures and that you can get rid of the red eye, , but what i do not like is that when you have the flash on it takes forever to reset to take the next picture and when you have the flash off the picture will be blurry if you move the slightest bit
11/29/2005 8:51:04 AM
 
Charlene M. Campbell 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 8:50:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 8:50:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 8:50:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 8:50:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 8:50:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the clarity of the pictures and that you can get rid of the red eye, , but what i do not like is that when you have the flash on it takes forever to reset to take the next picture and when you have the flash off the picture will be blurry if you move the slightest bit
11/29/2005 8:50:57 AM
 
Ross Throndson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/13/2005
rossthrondson.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 6:28:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 6:28:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 6:28:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 6:28:27 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 6:28:27 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent little point & shoot! I love my Canon 5D and this little camera is the perfect compliment to it when I want to travel light!
11/14/2005 6:28:27 PM
 
Jacob Karkula 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 12:50:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 12:50:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 12:50:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 12:50:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/14/2005 12:50:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Nice and small so you can take it everywhere you go.
9/14/2005 12:50:06 PM
 

15 Reviews  

Buy PowerShot SD550 (Ixus 750) Digital Camera from Amazon.com