Stylus 800 Digital Camera


Olympus

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital Point and Shoot Cameras

Eerie evening
View photos created with this camera

The Stylus 800 Digital Camera

  • 2.5-inch Bright Capture/Hyper Crystal LCD is 4.5x brighter than
    other displays and easily viewable in bright sunlight
  • Powered by Lithium-ion battery (battery and charger included);
    stores images on xD cards
  • 8-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 16 x
    22-inch photos
  • All-weather camera body; 32MB internal memory
  • 3x optical zoom; Super Macro Mode allows focusing as close as
    1.2 inches

  • © Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

    Back to Photo School?
    Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


    7 Reviews  

    Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

    3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
     
    Tracy C. Chappell 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 8:34:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 8:34:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 8:34:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 8:34:28 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 8:34:28 PM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    I like this camera because I think it will help me learn more -- but at the same time that's frustrating. The Kodak Easy Share CX7330 was my first camera - and I found it very easy to use.
    7/5/2006 8:34:28 PM
     
    Adam W. LeCroy
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/13/2006
    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 1:50:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 1:50:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 1:50:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 1:50:53 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 1:50:53 PM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    The quality of the images I thought was great, but sadly i must say that it broke way to easy. But it was my faught, the Tri-pod fell and it landed right on the lens.
    6/14/2006 1:50:53 PM
     
    Todd B. Watson 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:47:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:47:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:47:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:47:03 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 7:47:03 PM
    Rating: 3.5 out of 5
    This camera is pretty awesome with it's large display screen and high resolution ...also it's quite versatile and very compact
    4/26/2006 7:47:03 PM
     
    Christina C. Moore
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/26/2006
    3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 3:07:58 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 3:07:58 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 3:07:58 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 3:07:58 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 3:07:58 AM
    Rating: 3 out of 5
    While image quality is effected by the vibration resistance feature as well as in certain lighting conditions,the camera can take good images. Also, it is fun and clicky. The feel of the camera is addictive! It is making me shoot at everything. I like this camera, but suggest that users experiment with the mode features before relying on the camera to produce good images. I tend to shoot in aperature priority which works well for me. (Unfortuneately there is no completely manual setting-- sigh). All in all, it is a fun camera.
    4/17/2006 3:07:58 AM
     
    Melinda Gili 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 8:29:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 8:29:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 8:29:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 8:29:24 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/16/2006 8:29:24 AM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    This camera works well and has allows the user to change the aperture, shutter speed, and lighting settings with the turn of a wheel. It is easy to use and view the pictures as well as delete, upload and change pictures. I am a beginner, and this camera is easy to understand, although when the aperture is changed, the camera automatically adjusts the shutter speed and vise versa. It is nice on one hand, but I would like to learn how to change them on my own. The advanced settings are easy to understand, and there is a guide on the camera that helps the user know what the different settings mean.
    3/16/2006 8:29:24 AM
     
    Laura L. Orr
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/17/2005
    5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 7:07:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 7:07:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 7:07:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 7:07:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 7:07:56 PM
    Rating: 5 out of 5
    This camera is spectacular for just about anything. It has 24 settings for shooting photos. The quality is excellent. I have enlarged up to 22X30 without losing any quality at all and that was without even using a tripod!! I do a lot of hiking and lugging around 18 lbs of Nikon equipment is a bit cumbersome. It just fits right in your pocket. I wish it had a little more zoom, but you can't have it all. I love this camera.
    3/14/2006 7:07:56 PM
     
    Choo Choo Love
    BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/15/2004
    4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 9:55:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 9:55:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 9:55:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 9:55:13 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 9:55:13 PM
    Rating: 4 out of 5
    I've only had this camera for less than a week. What I like about it is its size. It's so small it fits into my pocket so that I can take it everywhere I go. Now I don't have to say, "Oh, I wish I had a camera!" and miss out on photo opportunities. I also like its weather friendliness. I've used it in a snow flurry and it worked okay. As far as what I don't like, well, this camera isn't great for taking lots of action shots. I also don't think it takes great portrait photos though you can put it on AV or TV mode, which I haven't tried yet. The reason I got it was to supplement my digital SLR so that I would have a camera on me at all times.
    11/13/2005 9:55:13 PM
     

    7 Reviews  

    Buy Stylus 800 Digital Camera from Amazon.com