F3HP SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Deacon Remembered...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


25 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John P. Partis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2007 9:57:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2007 9:57:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2007 9:57:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2007 9:57:46 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2007 9:57:46 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera replaced my previous Nikon FM that fell into the sea with me and never worked again. I used my wife's Nikon EM for a while but now I have the ultimate SLR, my F3T Champagne finish. The camera is built like a tank but feels like silk. The wind on mechanism is so smooth, the viewfinder very clear and the almost spot metering "spot on"!
The range of lenses & accesories is great - I love my 105mm f/2.5 and 55mm f/2.8 macro and the MD4 motordrive is just - well- expensive to run at around 5 frames per second. It's one great camera!
2/13/2007 9:57:46 AM
 
Mark Hansen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/6/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:34:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:34:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:34:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:34:05 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 12:34:05 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is a solid piece workmanship.
6/13/2006 12:34:05 PM
 
Loren Eidahl 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 11:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 11:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 11:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 11:56:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/11/2006 11:56:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The 100% viewfinder is a joy to use as it allows for total scene viewing. In todays age of digitally scanning negatives the ability to use the entire area of the negative is a huge bonus.

The camera is equally at home with slide film , color film or Black and White film. Anybody who tells you otherwise is unfamiliar with cameras.

If you need high speed flash sync , this is probably not the camera for that, however if your are looking for a rugged manual focus camera that supports a number of viewfinders , screens , backs and a high speed motordrive. The F3HP is the camera.

4/11/2006 11:56:59 PM
 
Brendan K. Tremblay 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 4:42:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 4:42:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 4:42:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 4:42:55 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 4:42:55 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Nikon F3 is probably the best possible camera to own if your a fan of the classic metal body manual focus cameras yet still enjoy the ease of auto metering. It does however require compensation for black and white photography. The colour exposures are great though
2/13/2006 4:42:55 AM
 
Boz Killebrew 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 7:37:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 7:37:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 7:37:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 7:37:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 7:37:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I enjoy the manual settings and the total control of this beast. Someday I will buy a nice lightweight autofocus autoeverything, but not yet.
12/30/2005 7:37:29 PM
 
patrick  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 10:54:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 10:54:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 10:54:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 10:54:44 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/29/2005 10:54:44 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great film camera.i have had mine since the early 80's. its been around, dropped once,rugged. still working with no problems.
10/29/2005 10:54:44 AM
 
Jean L. Enzbrenner 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 6:41:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 6:41:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 6:41:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 6:41:34 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/15/2005 6:41:34 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The F3 is a great manual camera. I haven't had any trouble with it. It would be nice to have the option to auto-focus, however.
10/15/2005 6:41:34 AM
 
Annelie Indilla 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 10:43:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 10:43:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 10:43:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 10:43:34 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/5/2005 10:43:34 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
very good camera but the lenses is what make the camera
10/5/2005 10:43:34 AM
 
Ted J. Hammack 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:13:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:13:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:13:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:13:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2005 1:13:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rugged, reliable, great optics. Owned for years, shot lots of film. Never a problem. It does its job, sometimes I cooperate to get good results.
7/17/2005 1:13:48 PM
 
Jim Adams 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 9:13:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 9:13:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 9:13:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 9:13:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/26/2005 9:13:18 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I purchased the F3HP in the 70's before all the new high tech cameras started showing up on the market. I much pefer control of the manual type camers over the new auto point and shoot.
6/26/2005 9:13:18 AM
 
Richard   5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 8:36:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 8:36:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 8:36:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 8:36:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2005 8:36:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent SLR, built like a tank, takes incredible pics!
6/16/2005 8:36:34 PM
 
estelle knize 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 5:43:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 5:43:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 5:43:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 5:43:22 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 5:43:22 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
good optics
4/6/2005 5:43:22 PM
 
Jose A. Ortiz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 4:17:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 4:17:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 4:17:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 4:17:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 4:17:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
proffessional camera
1/26/2005 4:17:00 PM
 
Jose A. Ortiz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 6:16:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 6:16:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 6:16:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 6:16:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2004 6:16:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
One of the best professional camera. To use this camera you have to be a real photographer,its not a digital camera, I get digital images on a CD at the time of processing the 35mm slid film.
12/28/2004 6:16:06 PM
 
David Grabbe
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/22/2000
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 5:35:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 5:35:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 5:35:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 5:35:30 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2004 5:35:30 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Pretty good camera at its time. Must be since they're still making them as far as I know. I liked my Canon T90 a little bit better tho.
7/17/2004 5:35:30 AM
 
Margery B. Franklin 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 11:41:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 11:41:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 11:41:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 11:41:15 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2004 11:41:15 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I use several cameras and think the above 'profile' should have room to enter these.
4/17/2004 11:41:15 AM
 
Harold Burchards 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 10:53:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 10:53:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 10:53:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 10:53:56 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2004 10:53:56 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Grand MF do-it-all camera.
3/25/2004 10:53:56 PM
 
Shing Yan Lau 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 7:15:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 7:15:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 7:15:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 7:15:50 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2004 7:15:50 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It's durable, simle to use, and gets you back to the basic. Coupled with the MD-4 this camera is fantastic. The only real issue with today's compact cameras, is how big this camera is. Ah oh well, there're pros and cons for everything. :)
3/1/2004 7:15:50 AM
 
Joachim J. Layes 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 4:32:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 4:32:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 4:32:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 4:32:29 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2004 4:32:29 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I like the older Nikon bodies because they are sturdy, solid built. They have a good range in from 8sec exposure to 1/2000 (for the F3) and 1/4000 for the FE2. The F3HP allows me to take down the viewfinder and use it like a studio camera. These cameras became like lifelong friends.
1/5/2004 4:32:29 AM
 
Robert J. Benson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/23/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 1:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 1:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 1:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 1:23:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/23/2003 1:23:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best Camera made
12/23/2003 1:23:16 PM
 
Dale Moreau 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 9:05:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 9:05:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 9:05:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 9:05:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/9/2003 9:05:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
the F3 is a great peice of manual hardware, I am pleased with it's excellent and alsways surprisingly accurate metering. I love the 100% viewfinder and I do wish it was a little lighter...I carry two of them with different films! But the very solid feel is worth the weight.
11/9/2003 9:05:30 AM
 
Mark A. Braswell 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 7:43:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 7:43:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 7:43:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 7:43:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/15/2003 7:43:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My camera is a Nikon F3 hp 35mm slr. My friend got me a deal so I jumped on it.I like every thing so far about it.
9/15/2003 7:43:28 PM
 
Dale Moreau 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 1:59:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 1:59:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 1:59:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 1:59:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/6/2003 1:59:34 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The F3 in all of its mutations is a wonderful camera. I have owned a myriad of other cameras both 35 and medium fomat.I now have settled on two F3HPs for the majority of my work. The bodies are a joy to use with execellent feel and ergomics(aside from the LCD backlight) The controls are VERY positive and secure. The 80/20 meter continually surprises me in difficult situations and most importantly the 100% viewfinder eliminates those squigly surprises that frequently creep into pictures. These are incredible buys on the used market and they hold their value well. If you don't need autofocus they are well worth considering. Not to mention that there are thousands of great condition used lenses for this model to fill out your gadget bag.
8/6/2003 1:59:34 AM
 
Jose A. Ortiz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2003 4:49:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2003 4:49:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2003 4:49:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2003 4:49:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/3/2003 4:49:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
NIKONCAMERAS SPECIALLY THOSE PROFESSIONAL,LIKE F3, F4, F5 ARE
THE BEST CAMERAS THAT YOU COULD FIND IN
THE MARKET TODAY.NIKON EVEN HAVE DIGITAL
CAMERAS WHICH EVERYBODY IS BUYING,BUT

THERE'S NOTHING LIKE A GOOD MECHANICAL
CAMERA LIKE MINE NIKON F3HP, WHICH FOR ME IS THE BEST

8/3/2003 4:49:17 PM
 
Jose A. Ortiz 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 7:15:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 7:15:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 7:15:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 7:15:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2003 7:15:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Itis a professional camera; with this camera you have to set camera speed and use manual focus, not autofocus,like all those new camera that all you have to do is aim and shoot, and then they call themselves photographers, any one could be a photographer now with this camera.I even took photography courses, and I won a certificate.
7/12/2003 7:15:52 PM
 

25 Reviews