BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


F3HP SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Deacon Remembered...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John P. Partis

member since: 1/26/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera replaced my previous Nikon FM that fell into the sea with me and never worked again. I used my wife's Nikon EM for a while but now I have the ultimate SLR, my F3T Champagne finish. The camera is built like a tank but feels like silk. The wind on mechanism is so smooth, the viewfinder very clear and the almost spot metering "spot on"!
The range of lenses & accesories is great - I love my 105mm f/2.5 and 55mm f/2.8 macro and the MD4 motordrive is just - well- expensive to run at around 5 frames per second. It's one great camera!
2/13/2007 9:57:46 AM
 
Mark Hansen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/6/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is a solid piece workmanship.
6/13/2006 12:34:05 PM
 
Loren Eidahl

member since: 4/11/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The 100% viewfinder is a joy to use as it allows for total scene viewing. In todays age of digitally scanning negatives the ability to use the entire area of the negative is a huge bonus.

The camera is equally at home with slide film , color film or Black and White film. Anybody who tells you otherwise is unfamiliar with cameras.

If you need high speed flash sync , this is probably not the camera for that, however if your are looking for a rugged manual focus camera that supports a number of viewfinders , screens , backs and a high speed motordrive. The F3HP is the camera.

4/11/2006 11:56:59 PM
 
Brendan K. Tremblay

member since: 2/13/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Nikon F3 is probably the best possible camera to own if your a fan of the classic metal body manual focus cameras yet still enjoy the ease of auto metering. It does however require compensation for black and white photography. The colour exposures are great though
2/13/2006 4:42:55 AM
 
Boz Killebrew

member since: 12/30/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I enjoy the manual settings and the total control of this beast. Someday I will buy a nice lightweight autofocus autoeverything, but not yet.
12/30/2005 7:37:29 PM
 
patrick 

member since: 10/29/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
great film camera.i have had mine since the early 80's. its been around, dropped once,rugged. still working with no problems.
10/29/2005 10:54:44 AM
 
Jean L. Enzbrenner

member since: 9/12/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The F3 is a great manual camera. I haven't had any trouble with it. It would be nice to have the option to auto-focus, however.
10/15/2005 6:41:34 AM
 
Annelie Indilla

member since: 5/13/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
very good camera but the lenses is what make the camera
10/5/2005 10:43:34 AM
 
Ted J. Hammack

member since: 9/29/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Rugged, reliable, great optics. Owned for years, shot lots of film. Never a problem. It does its job, sometimes I cooperate to get good results.
7/17/2005 1:13:48 PM
 
Jim Adams

member since: 6/26/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I purchased the F3HP in the 70's before all the new high tech cameras started showing up on the market. I much pefer control of the manual type camers over the new auto point and shoot.
6/26/2005 9:13:18 AM
 
Richard  

member since: 6/16/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent SLR, built like a tank, takes incredible pics!
6/16/2005 8:36:34 PM
 

First 10 of 25 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.