BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


BetterPhoto Guide to Digital Photography


Jim Miotke     

Categories: Reviews: Other Resources : Photo Books : BetterPhoto Favorites

The BetterPhoto Guide to Digital Photography

Digital cameras are the hot new tech toy - but many of the millions of people who are buying the cameras aren't getting the most out of their new purchase. Mysterious icons, strange jargon, a dizzying array of imaging software and hardware... These stumbling blocks are quickly put aside when you read The BetterPhoto Guide to Digital Photography.

Jim Miotke, President of BetterPhoto.com authors this practical, lesson-based guidebook gives readers the tools they need to create great pictures. You get a step-by-step tutorial in getting bright, crisp, beautiful pictures from their digital cameras every time. Learn about exposure, file formats and quality settings, low-light photography, digital filters and white balance, composition and lens choice, and much more, all in a handy, bring-along format. Everyone who has a digital camera - or who is thinking about getting one - needs The BetterPhoto Guide to Digital Photography!


4 Reviews  

Average Rating: 5 out of 5

5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Michelle Hall
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/16/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I just want to thank Jim Miotke for writing two great books. I recently bought "Better Photo Guide to Digital Photography" & the "Nature" one as well. I bought a Canon Powershot S3 last November and have been somewhat frustrated with all the possiblities it holds. By reading Jim's books I have had so much fun trying different techniques and it all makes sense now. Great books! look forward to more
8/22/2007 10:28:23 AM
 
David T. Hughes

member since: 5/26/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Hi Jim,
I've been shooting for a couple of years with sometimes pretty good results. I have also read what seems like a million books on digital photography...but NONE compare to your BetterPhoto Guide to Digital Photography.

In the first 50 pages I improved my shooting 10 fold by finally understanding my camera and ordinary things like aperture, shutter speed and ISO.

It is my humble opinion, having been a college professor, an IT guy and now a middle aged guy taking pictures, that your book should be used in all photography classes, at all levels, as the standard text.

Thank you,
David Hughes

3/2/2007 9:47:35 AM
 
Robert Ganz
Contact Robert
Robert's Gallery

member since: 2/11/2001
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought "The Betterphoto Guide to Digital Photography" and thoroughly enjoyed it. I've read many photography books by many different authors and what I particularly liked about your book was the personal level that you took things to. Even though I didn't necessarily learn anything new, I did learn new ways of looking at what I already knew :) (I hope that makes sense).

I would recommend your book to anyone that wants a fun and informative, intro/intermediate photography book that will speak to them in language that they will understand.

The book is crammed with beautiful photos and tips to guide you as you follow along.


11/28/2006 7:44:47 AM
 
Judy vanHaaster
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Jim I have throughly enjoyed your book Betterphoto Guide to Digital Photography. It is a clear and simple way to introduce someone to photography, digital or film. I am learning to shoot digital and purchased my Nikon D70 about 10 months ago. I have learnt much from your book, this is an excellent resource that I will keep on my shelf and refer to again and again. Thankyou for all your hard work in putting this together.
9/9/2005 2:39:55 PM
 

4 Reviews  

Add your own review

Enroll

Add to Wishlist


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.