EOS 5D Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Colors in Marken
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 5D Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • Captures images on CompactFlash Type I and Type II cards,
    compatible with cards of 2 GB capacity and larger
  • 12.8-megapixel CCD captures iamges up to 4,368 x 2,912 pixels
  • World's smallest and lightest full-frame digital SLR as of
    August 2005--the sensor operates without a conversion factor
  • New larger 2.5-inch LCD screen can be viewed even at extreme
    angles of up to 170 degrees
  • Consecutive shooting allows the capture of 3.0 frames per second
    for up to 60 consecutive JPEG or 17 RAW frames in a burst

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


138 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Donald C. Gasparetti
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/1/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2012 5:54:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2012 5:54:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2012 5:54:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2012 5:54:53 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/9/2012 5:54:53 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my 5D, but if your considering purchasing one you may want to wait a month or two.

Canon will be coming out with the 5D Mark III. It will be a bit pricey (around 3400) but the good news is they plan to continue with the Mark II, and lower the price as well.

3/9/2012 5:54:53 AM
 
Universe M. KC
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/18/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2008 9:07:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2008 9:07:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2008 9:07:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2008 9:07:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2008 9:07:03 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
EASY TO USE AND DURABLE
9/5/2008 9:07:03 PM
 
Paul D.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2008 7:01:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2008 7:01:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2008 7:01:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2008 7:01:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/18/2008 7:01:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The 5D is in a class of its own. It's now just over $2000 as of this writing and yet it's FULL FRAME. There is no other FF camera near this price from any other maker. Seriously, if you have $2k to spend on a camera body, full frame is the only way to go for low noise and image quality. But there's something even more special about the 5D... have a look at the photos people take, there's a richness that isn't there for any other camera (short of the over-$6000 Pro Canons). Many times when I see an image that's gorgeous in color, it's the 5D. The only other brand that has the "look" is the Nikon D200, but then you're right back to a puny sensor. Get the 5D, and be prepared to spend for good lenses, don't throw a $149 third-party lens on this amazing camera.
3/18/2008 7:01:13 PM
 
Kathy Cline
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/29/2006
Contact Kathy
Kathy's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2008 6:50:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2008 6:50:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2008 6:50:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2008 6:50:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/18/2008 6:50:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
LOVE CANON Iv had the 10D, 20D and now the 5D and its the BEST by far. Iv upgraded with the heavy glass lens and again I will never go back. FULL FRAME is killer!!! You just dont know what you have been missing. GOD BLESS
2/18/2008 6:50:02 PM
 
saqib moghal
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2008 12:05:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2008 12:05:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2008 12:05:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2008 12:05:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2008 12:05:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
its good camera. fullframe imager.
1/9/2008 12:05:08 AM
 
Stefan Nielsen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/7/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 10:50:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 10:50:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 10:50:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 10:50:14 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 10:50:14 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I recently upgraded from the 350D (which I always liked a lot) - and I have to say: "What a difference"

It fits perfectly in my hand (I have the battery pack too), the controls are right at hand, and looking through the viewfinder is so much better than with the old camera.

The thumb-wheel is something I really missed on the 350D. I was used to it from the film days and it just feels so good to have it back. Everything is so much easier with this.

And then of course the most important thing: Full frame sensor... It's great not having the crop factor anymore - and as mentioned the nice and bright vieewfinder is a blessing. Only downside is that there is a lot more room for dust on the large sensor :)

Another great thing: High ISO performance is second to none (or at least second to none among the cameras I've tried)

The only reason for not giving it a 5: I could use a higher frame rate now and then - but all in all: It's a great camera...

10/16/2007 10:50:14 AM
 
James L. Glucksman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/31/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 3:57:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 3:57:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 3:57:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 3:57:22 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/16/2007 3:57:22 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I adore this camera, having upgraded from the 20D. It is very easy to use, extremely adaptable, and the full-frame sensor is a real boon after years working with the APS-size of the 20D. Only downside is the slow multiple exposures, though that hardly ever affects me.
10/16/2007 3:57:22 AM
 
Richard Smedley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 8:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 8:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 8:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 8:12:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/11/2007 8:12:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is amazing and I'm hooked on it's full-frame power and superb imaging. This will probably be my main camera for the foreseeable future and I have not regretted investing in this camera.
9/11/2007 8:12:46 PM
 
Qasem A. Asad 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2007 4:59:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2007 4:59:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2007 4:59:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2007 4:59:57 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/10/2007 4:59:57 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the is good
by Full Frame
1/10/2007 4:59:57 AM
 
Tracy m. Bleers-Jarzembowski 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 5:27:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 5:27:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 5:27:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 5:27:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/10/2006 5:27:19 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This photo is just lovely. You have a masterpiece.
8/10/2006 5:27:19 AM
 
Ernest j. Hansbrough
Contact Ernest
Ernest's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2006 8:37:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2006 8:37:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2006 8:37:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2006 8:37:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2006 8:37:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Ernest J Hansbrough The 5D is the Best For wedding I live in Las Vegas and photography weeding all the time.love that camera
8/5/2006 8:37:43 AM
 
Doug K. Herrman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/10/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2006 10:53:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2006 10:53:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2006 10:53:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2006 10:53:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/12/2006 10:53:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've been using Canon cameras for many years, so adjusting to this body was a sleepwalk. I'm happy with the colors, sharpness, etc. As mentioned elsewhere in these reviews, the larger (than 20D) LCD is great for viewing image details but, as the screen isn't non-reflective, it is impossible to view in broad daylight. The DoF button is much more useful than the 20D as the 5D viewfinder is brighter. Need to be careful with highlight burns, as the sensor pixels are much more sensitive than those in my old 20D. To compensate, I typically shoot 2/3 stop underexposed if the subject is in direct sunlight. If you're moving to a 5D from a body that doesn't shoot full frame, you'll have to readjust your depth of field expectations. In order to get the same image size at a fixed lens focal length, a full frame body will be closer to the subject than a partial frame - being up close means less DoF. If you shoot RAW, get big memory cards, as a RAW image is 12-13 MB.
7/12/2006 10:53:13 PM
 
Michael Davis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/30/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 2:43:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 2:43:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 2:43:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 2:43:35 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2006 2:43:35 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Like Best: Relatively light weight, so you actually carry it! Like Worst: Doesn't have the resolution of the 1DS Mark II
7/6/2006 2:43:35 PM
 
Jill Lenkowski
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/15/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:39:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:39:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:39:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:39:52 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/4/2006 8:39:52 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera! It's so much better than my old 300d. I'm very glad I invested in the 5d.
7/4/2006 8:39:52 AM
 
Ajay Kapoor 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 7:58:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 7:58:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 7:58:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 7:58:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/2/2006 7:58:55 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Camera, very nice colors, RAW seems sharper than JPEG's produced by it.
7/2/2006 7:58:55 AM
 
Mark A. Kuroda 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 6:05:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 6:05:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 6:05:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 6:05:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/1/2006 6:05:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Canon 5d is a sweet camera. It's very well rounded, able to shoot weddings and fashion equally well. I wish the frame rate were a little higher, but the prints we've made from this camera are stunning. The buffer is huge, the viewfinder amazing. Not as fun to shoot with as a 1D series camera, but the final product is sweet. Highly reccomend L series glass and the vertical grip.
7/1/2006 6:05:18 PM
 
DeWane Stone
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/29/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 10:17:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 10:17:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 10:17:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 10:17:03 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 10:17:03 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Full frame sensor and 2.5" Display - awesome! Slower than the 20D, but worth it.
6/29/2006 10:17:03 AM
 
Martha A. Rumley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/23/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 9:18:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 9:18:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 9:18:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 9:18:46 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2006 9:18:46 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera! Must use tripod for most shots.
6/29/2006 9:18:46 AM
 
Kathleen N. Nelson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/1/2001
Contact Kathleen
Kathleen's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 3:35:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 3:35:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 3:35:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 3:35:04 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2006 3:35:04 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've had this camera for several months now and absolutely love it. It takes superb images, and since I submit photos for stock, the file size is perfect. I love the full frame and the fact that if I use a 24 mm. lens it is just that (true wide angle). There are times when I still use the 20D with the 1.6 crop factor along with my 100-400 lens, though, if I am photographing birds or wildlife, as it gets me closer to my "skittish" subject. I don't find that I miss having a built-in flash at all. The larger LCD is great, although like any LCD monitor on a camera, it's difficult to see in bright sunlight. Also, it's a little heavier than my 20D, but I've gotten used to it. All in all, it's a great camera, and I plan on using it as my main camera for a long time to come.
6/28/2006 3:35:04 AM
 
Joe Panchasarp 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 2:59:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 2:59:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 2:59:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 2:59:29 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/27/2006 2:59:29 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Full frame
6/27/2006 2:59:29 PM
 
Michael B. Colligon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 4:25:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 4:25:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 4:25:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 4:25:09 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 4:25:09 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is everything that it is touted to be. As a former 1Ds owner, I am not disappointed at all.
6/23/2006 4:25:09 AM
 
Kelly d. Hayes
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/15/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 7:05:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 7:05:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 7:05:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 7:05:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/21/2006 7:05:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love it! Awesome pictures!
6/21/2006 7:05:56 AM
 
Ferruccio Ferrario 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 11:09:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 11:09:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 11:09:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 11:09:55 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/16/2006 11:09:55 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Images very very sharp. Colors good but not excellent.
6/16/2006 11:09:55 AM
 
Susan J. Venegas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/15/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 3:36:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 3:36:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 3:36:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 3:36:44 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/15/2006 3:36:44 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love it, had a Film Canon Rebel SLR and didn't want to lose the quality and control when going to digital. Couldn't be happier. Have tried smaller handheld digital cameras and nothing compares.
6/15/2006 3:36:44 PM
 
Julie D. Teague 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 9:13:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 9:13:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 9:13:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 9:13:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 9:13:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love the color balance by Kelvin.
6/14/2006 9:13:36 PM
 
Aimee Bickers
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/15/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 7:41:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 7:41:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 7:41:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 7:41:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 7:41:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Amazing clarity, color saturation SOOC and resolution is stunning!
6/14/2006 7:41:11 AM
 
Maribeth Romslo 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 12:08:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 12:08:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 12:08:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 12:08:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 12:08:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I really like the 5D. I love that you get your lenses back, because I also have the 20D and was frustrated with the zoom factor. One issue I've had with the 5D over the 20D is more sensor and chamber dust issues?
6/14/2006 12:08:50 AM
 
Armand Wildanger 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:11:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:11:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:11:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:11:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 2:11:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Still discovering the beast but it is far beyond the expectations when it comes to image quality. Your 17mm will be a 17mm again.
6/13/2006 2:11:37 PM
 
Paul Weaver
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/13/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:33:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:33:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:33:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:33:27 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 5:33:27 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
very nice full fram format camera.
6/13/2006 5:33:27 AM
 
Gregory S. Discher 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 10:25:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 10:25:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 10:25:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 10:25:43 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/12/2006 10:25:43 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Takes great pictures!
6/12/2006 10:25:43 AM
 
Inge Johnsson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/21/2005
Contact Inge
Inge's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 11:00:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 11:00:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 11:00:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 11:00:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/11/2006 11:00:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The perfect DSLR for Canon users at present time. Image quality is superb, and the amout of detail you can extract from the dark areas is astonishing! Also goes perfectly with my Canon TS-E 24mm (tilt-shift)
6/11/2006 11:00:14 AM
 
Paula Porter 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 10:43:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 10:43:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 10:43:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 10:43:59 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/6/2006 10:43:59 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I simply love it!
6/6/2006 10:43:59 AM
 
Lance Freeman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 6:30:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 6:30:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 6:30:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 6:30:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 6:30:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent
6/4/2006 6:30:10 PM
 
Helen N. McHugh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/8/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 7:55:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 7:55:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 7:55:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 7:55:31 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/31/2006 7:55:31 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first digital camera!Picture quality as good if not better than film. Full frame excellent.
5/31/2006 7:55:31 AM
 
Zenon Toczek
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2006
Contact Zenon
Zenon's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 10:14:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 10:14:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 10:14:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 10:14:31 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 10:14:31 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good, expencive and heavy.
5/29/2006 10:14:31 AM
 
Zenon Toczek
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2006
Contact Zenon
Zenon's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 10:13:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 10:13:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 10:13:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 10:13:58 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 10:13:58 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good, expencive and heavy.
5/29/2006 10:13:58 AM
 
Sonny T. Senser 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 9:08:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 9:08:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 9:08:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 9:08:49 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/27/2006 9:08:49 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The sync speed shoudl be at least 250th/s
5/27/2006 9:08:49 AM
 
Sharon Morris 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 3:54:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 3:54:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 3:54:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 3:54:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/25/2006 3:54:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fantastic! The 5D combined with L series lenses is the digital set up that I've been waiting for. My 300D died on me 4 days before a wedding. I picked up the 5D, read the manual the day before the wedding and had no "uh-oh" moments. The ease of switching focus points and metering modes was quite impressive.
5/25/2006 3:54:29 PM
 
Jamie R. Lau 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 5:30:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 5:30:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 5:30:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 5:30:12 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/18/2006 5:30:12 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is an ok camera. I dont like that i can zoom in as close as i would like but this camera is ok for a beginer.
5/18/2006 5:30:12 PM
 
Veronica G. Newhoff 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 9:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 9:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 9:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 9:44:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 9:44:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's great.
5/13/2006 9:44:45 AM
 
Helen M. Haruben 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 9:22:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 9:22:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 9:22:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 9:22:28 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/13/2006 9:22:28 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Easy to use in a variety of situations. Enjoy the big LCD
5/13/2006 9:22:28 AM
 
Eric J. Simpson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 5:58:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 5:58:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 5:58:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 5:58:50 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 5:58:50 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is amazing! Full frame really makes a difference. Low noise at high ISO, very crisp images with good dynamic range. Definitely recommend this camera.
5/11/2006 5:58:50 AM
 
Carolynn Bennett 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 11:57:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 11:57:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 11:57:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 11:57:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/10/2006 11:57:52 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love this camera! Better than the 20D!
5/10/2006 11:57:52 AM
 
Christina A. McMaster` 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 6:05:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 6:05:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 6:05:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 6:05:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 6:05:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I am still trying to learn all the functions this camera has.
5/9/2006 6:05:40 PM
 
Gerald Kurata 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 12:31:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 12:31:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 12:31:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 12:31:18 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 12:31:18 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
So far this has been the best camera I have owned. The difference from the Canon 20D I previously owned to the 5D is larger than many might think. The 5D's picture quality is much better, the shallow DOF helps with subject isolation, and the low noise, high ISO capabilites make this camera a dream in low light situations.

5/8/2006 12:31:18 PM
 
Stacey A. Hurley
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/5/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 10:54:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 10:54:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 10:54:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 10:54:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/5/2006 10:54:17 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
New camera for me. I love the fact that it is full-frame. This Canon has spot metering. So far, I love it!
5/5/2006 10:54:17 AM
 
Trey L. Conley 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 5:25:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 5:25:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 5:25:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 5:25:20 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/30/2006 5:25:20 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've been waiting for an affordable full frame DSLR and this is it. Takes as good of a picture as any I've seen.
4/30/2006 5:25:20 PM
 
Ed Gabel
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/30/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 9:57:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 9:57:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 9:57:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 9:57:54 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 9:57:54 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This Canon 5D is an excellent camera. I especially enjoy the ISO capabilities
4/29/2006 9:57:54 AM
 
David H. Brown 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 2:31:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 2:31:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 2:31:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 2:31:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/29/2006 2:31:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I do like the camera, but it's complex and I'm still trying to learnand understand how to use it properly.
4/29/2006 2:31:10 AM
 
James R. Saxon 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 6:58:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 6:58:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 6:58:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 6:58:45 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 6:58:45 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Canon 5D. I like the full frame sensor and the feel of the camera with the attached battery pack. The build quality of the camera is good and it is easy to learn to use. I would like to see the following changes made by Canon: move the DOF preview button to the other side of the camera and make it larger, add a mirror lock-up button and remove from a menu setting, make the focusing adjustment wheel larger, add a custom function allowing you to select a grid screen in the viewfinder, increase the frames/sec rate. All in all an excellent camera. The images are crisp and with a lot of detail.
4/28/2006 6:58:45 AM
 
Dan Williams 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 12:25:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 12:25:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 12:25:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 12:25:03 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/28/2006 12:25:03 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the full frame images and the excellent resolution, even at high ISO.
4/28/2006 12:25:03 AM
 
James P. Crotty
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 6:02:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 6:02:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 6:02:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 6:02:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/27/2006 6:02:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Canon 5D is the perfect combination of a professional-grade image sensor and full-frame while still being light weight and easily portable. It has all the features I use on my 1D Mark II but weighs half as much with higher megapixels.
4/27/2006 6:02:00 AM
 

BetterPhoto Member
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 11:50:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 11:50:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 11:50:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 11:50:50 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 11:50:50 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Not a bad camera. The wish it was able to have a higher fps...3 fps is too slow for my taste.
4/26/2006 11:50:50 AM
 
Keith S. Knight
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/20/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 5:41:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 5:41:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 5:41:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 5:41:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/25/2006 5:41:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love the full frame and 12.8 MPixels of this camera, and its full range of metering (spot, partial, evaluative, center-weighted avg) options. With the full frame viewfinder it presents a bright and big view to the photographer. It allows ISO settings of 50 to 3200 and shutter speeds to 1/8000.
4/25/2006 5:41:49 PM
 
John O. Brown 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 9:18:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 9:18:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 9:18:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 9:18:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 9:18:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
So far, I love everything about this camera. It's easy to use. It does exactly what I expect it to do.
4/23/2006 9:18:46 PM
 
Richard Bowser
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/3/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 2:18:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 2:18:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 2:18:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 2:18:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 2:18:23 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very nice features and quality
4/18/2006 2:18:23 AM
 
Ronald Hiller
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/14/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 5:17:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 5:17:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 5:17:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 5:17:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 5:17:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great machine! Of course, one can always think of things that could be better; like why the USB transfer gets confused when transferring images shot as RAW+jpeg (it never copies the raw file). Or, why the shutter lockup can't be assigned to the DPOF button? Maybe some firmware update will fix these someday.
4/17/2006 5:17:12 PM
 
John F. Bartlett
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/17/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 12:11:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 12:11:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 12:11:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 12:11:46 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2006 12:11:46 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great depth of field, All around great camera
4/17/2006 12:11:46 PM
 
Kristine Benson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 10:21:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 10:21:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 10:21:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 10:21:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 10:21:41 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I would like to have the convenience of a built in flash for fill flash situations
4/16/2006 10:21:41 PM
 
Richard Hardt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/19/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 8:06:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 8:06:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 8:06:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 8:06:06 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 8:06:06 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love this camera. The clarity is excellent. I love to be able to use my lenses and have them be accurate for a full frame sensor. High ISO pictures are surprisingly smooth. It's great with 12 megapixels to be able to zoom in on something in Photoshop and have it still clear when before it was already pixellated. I did have to upgrade computers in order to handle the processing. I like to shoot RAW format and that is a large bite for a computer to chew and process I wish it was a little faster than three frames per second when I'm trying to catch some wildlife movement.
4/16/2006 8:06:06 AM
 
Martin Scerri
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/9/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:18:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:18:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:18:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:18:54 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/16/2006 7:18:54 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Pros : full frame, high pixel count, LCD screen size, fast CF write Con : slow FPS
4/16/2006 7:18:54 AM
 
Brad Haakenson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/4/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 9:42:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 9:42:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 9:42:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 9:42:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 9:42:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Incredible - a much better camera than I am a photographer. I guess that it gives me something to shoot for (pun intended)
4/15/2006 9:42:39 PM
 
Robert A. Azzaro 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 4:45:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 4:45:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 4:45:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 4:45:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 4:45:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Highly recomended.
4/15/2006 4:45:37 PM
 
Inge Johnsson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:08:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:08:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:08:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:08:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/14/2006 11:08:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My first DSLR after using Canon SLRs and film (Velvia) for 20 years. This is the perfect DSLRS for me. Has all the features I need, and the image quality is stellar. And best of all, I can use all my Canon lenses, such as the TS-E 24mm, the way they were meant to be used.
4/14/2006 11:08:58 PM
 
John Arnold 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 9:15:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 9:15:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 9:15:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 9:15:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 9:15:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love my EOS 5D. The only thing I wish is that it were more weather proof like a true pro camera
4/13/2006 9:15:01 PM
 
Inge Johnsson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 7:50:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 7:50:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 7:50:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 7:50:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2006 7:50:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The perfect DSLR for me!
4/13/2006 7:50:36 PM
 
Matthew Thomson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 7:58:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 7:58:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 7:58:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 7:58:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/12/2006 7:58:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent camera
4/12/2006 7:58:09 PM
 
Barbara Tobler 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 4:25:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 4:25:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 4:25:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 4:25:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 4:25:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera puts "user friendly" in a whole new category. Expensive, but I am thrilled with it.
4/9/2006 4:25:16 PM
 
Vicki A. Athens 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 1:36:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 1:36:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 1:36:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 1:36:19 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/9/2006 1:36:19 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very happy with this camera. Very easy to use. Quality pictures. Also have a D200 that I am just starting to use.
4/9/2006 1:36:19 PM
 
Ralph Lindgren
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/21/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 8:38:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 8:38:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 8:38:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 8:38:39 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 8:38:39 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fantiatic. The full frame feature is much more valuable that I had anticipated. Moving from 6 to 13MB also carried some major surprises, especially when it came to enlargments. (Duh!)
4/5/2006 8:38:39 AM
 
Robert Brown
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/18/2003
Robert-Brown-Photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:30:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:30:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:30:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:30:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 10:30:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just like the Canon 10D and 20D before it (I own both of those too), this is just a terrific camera, capable of making large, noiseless prints.
4/4/2006 10:30:58 PM
 
Kuan-Wong Koh 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 6:26:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 6:26:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 6:26:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 6:26:17 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/4/2006 6:26:17 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Only just got it for one week. Can't really comment much yet
4/4/2006 6:26:17 AM
 
Robert Brown
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/18/2003
Robert-Brown-Photography.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:05:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:05:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:05:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:05:16 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:05:16 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Wow! Bigger files than the already terrific 20D and much better noise control--a big plus for stock photography. The 5D is simply the best camera in it's price range, by far.
4/3/2006 11:05:16 PM
 
Carlos Victoria 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:29:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:29:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:29:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:29:57 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/3/2006 11:29:57 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Excellent images and overall experience has been great. Menu and buttons are not very intuitive and you have to remember how to change a function.
4/3/2006 11:29:57 AM
 
Andres Bastidas
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/8/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:29:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:29:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:29:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:29:56 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 8:29:56 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love the Full Frame and size of sensor. Can have a faster rate of frames per second.
3/29/2006 8:29:56 PM
 
Cami B. Dreyer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/28/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 7:35:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 7:35:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 7:35:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 7:35:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 7:35:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My Dream Digital Camera!
3/29/2006 7:35:29 PM
 
j. douglas haycock 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 4:02:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 4:02:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 4:02:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 4:02:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 4:02:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like the picture styles. It picks up good detail.The bigger monitor is nice. What I really like is the higher resolution.
3/29/2006 4:02:06 PM
 
Joe Zummo 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 11:53:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 11:53:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 11:53:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 11:53:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2006 11:53:32 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have used a friends and will be getting my own soon. It is a great camera.
3/29/2006 11:53:32 AM
 
Carole A. Anderson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 5:03:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 5:03:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 5:03:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 5:03:43 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 5:03:43 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's new to me but so far it takes great quality photos. Also, very user friendly
3/28/2006 5:03:43 AM
 
Pat V 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 7:47:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 7:47:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 7:47:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 7:47:13 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 7:47:13 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I am still learning this camera but I love the tonal range and the larger file size for cropping. An improvement over the 10D and 20D in light sensitivity and image quality edited in the new Canon raw converter.
3/27/2006 7:47:13 PM
 
Pat V 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 7:44:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 7:44:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 7:44:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 7:44:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/27/2006 7:44:42 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I am still learning this camera but I love the tonal range and the larger file size for cropping.
3/27/2006 7:44:42 PM
 
Jane Webster 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 1:02:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 1:02:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 1:02:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 1:02:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 1:02:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The camera is easy to use. I like the Al Focus setting. I don't think the display on the back is truly representative of the image you get.
3/25/2006 1:02:45 PM
 
Nathaniel C. Morse-Dayton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/23/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:28:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:28:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:28:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:28:49 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 11:28:49 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Full frame sensor is awesome with my 17-40L. Battery life is great. Large view though viewfinder and big LCD display compared to the 10D
3/25/2006 11:28:49 AM
 
Gina L. Banning 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 4:25:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 4:25:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 4:25:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 4:25:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2006 4:25:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I previously owned the Cannon Rebel 300D and have just recently purchased this new camera. So far I love it! The new full size sensor, larger lcd display and picture styles are all wonderful additions. So far, I'm "Lovin it!"
3/24/2006 4:25:34 PM
 
Daniel Holman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 11:26:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 11:26:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 11:26:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 11:26:06 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 11:26:06 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I absolutely love the 5d. It has an abundance of features that are perfect for my photography business.
3/22/2006 11:26:06 PM
 
Wayne Shumaker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:53:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:53:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:53:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:53:34 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/22/2006 5:53:34 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the full frame and iso 1600 capability. I like the viewfinder. I wish it had a builtin infrared remote release like the E-1. I wish it had multi-spot metering like an Olympus OM-4t.
3/22/2006 5:53:34 PM
 
Bob Travaglione 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 4:57:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 4:57:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 4:57:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 4:57:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 4:57:44 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Pictures are very smooth and bright, it handles fast, but I wish it had a normal shutter speed dial on the top and an aperture ring on the lens. It is the best, affordable? Canon EOS Digital camera yet. But why can't a full frame camera be really small, like the old Olympus OM film series or the old Pentax LX film camera with smaller and brighter lenses? I like to always have a camera with me, and I want large files, and sharp lenses. If you can afford the cost the 5D is the way to go for now.
3/19/2006 4:57:44 AM
 
Zachariah Schnepf
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/4/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 12:19:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 12:19:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 12:19:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 12:19:56 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/17/2006 12:19:56 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Incredible camera for the money IMO. Full frame, fast accurate focusing, excellent image quality, fast and responsive. Throw on the battery grip and this is one heck of a camera. Fairly sturdy and weather proof from my torture testing, I've photographed in downpours, snow storms and sub zero temps and this thing works like a champ. If you'd like to see some great images from this camera check out my gallery. http://www.betterphoto.com/images/_nav/submit.gif
3/17/2006 12:19:56 AM
 
Dave Higgins 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 7:50:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 7:50:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 7:50:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 7:50:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/13/2006 7:50:19 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have only had the camera three weeks so my experience is limtied. I wanted a camera that would be as simple to use as a point and shoot camera or that would allow me total creative control. My requirements outside of this were 12 megapixels and a full size sensor. The 5D fit all of my requirements. I have so far found the camera easy to use and look forward to exploring the full potential of the machine.
3/13/2006 7:50:19 AM
 
Julia Gerace 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 2:35:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 2:35:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 2:35:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 2:35:26 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 2:35:26 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I've loved both of my digital cameras - the pentax *istD was a fantastic camera and recently I jumped to the canon 5D... I've been very happy with both...
3/3/2006 2:35:26 PM
 
James A. Rasmussen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/3/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 11:14:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 11:14:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 11:14:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 11:14:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/3/2006 11:14:33 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
By far the best digital SLR camera I have had so far. It has so many features that I have not mastered them all. I can take fast photos or take the time to setup and take set photos that look great.
3/3/2006 11:14:33 AM
 
Mohd J. Al Kubaisi 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:56:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:56:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:56:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:56:30 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:56:30 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
canon 5D the best camera i ever used
2/28/2006 9:56:30 AM
 
John Martinez 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:02:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:02:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:02:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:02:32 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 9:02:32 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Nice full-frame DSLR. Great noise levels, wonderful focus.
2/28/2006 9:02:32 AM
 
Jeffrey Smith
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/12/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 6:15:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 6:15:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 6:15:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 6:15:40 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/25/2006 6:15:40 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great Camera, It's nice to go back to full 35mm (No crop). The size is just right for taking into the field. Double the sensor size of my last camera (Canon 10D).
2/25/2006 6:15:40 AM
 
Robert R. Grove
BetterPhoto Member Since: 9/22/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 6:23:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 6:23:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 6:23:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 6:23:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/24/2006 6:23:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great resolution , and quality of photos , easily handled. Full frame is a plus , but gets dirty easily.Expensive to use , needs top quality lens to perform well, but cheaper than 1D s over all ! Better than 20d s , but I guess you get what you pay for.
2/24/2006 6:23:03 PM
 
Janice Sullivan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/7/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 1:19:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 1:19:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 1:19:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 1:19:26 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/20/2006 1:19:26 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
So far it's worth the $!!!
2/20/2006 1:19:26 PM
 
Marion W. Littlefield 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 2:53:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 2:53:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 2:53:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 2:53:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/9/2006 2:53:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Although I have taken some 3800 shots I am still learning how to use it.
2/9/2006 2:53:25 PM
 
Jim  M. White
Contact Jim
Jim 's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 6:14:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 6:14:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 6:14:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 6:14:43 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/8/2006 6:14:43 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my backup for the Mark II but it is a great wedding camera as it weighs so much less but still produces those beautiful large files.
2/8/2006 6:14:43 PM
 
Christian Goltz 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:13:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:13:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:13:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:13:20 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 9:13:20 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I've only had this camera for a few days. Picture quality seems fine although there are some blotches. I hope the sensor is fine!? It's too small for my big hands---I ordered the battery holder. Well, let's see. The rubber covers for the electrnic connectors are a joke: Difficult to open, impossible to close.
1/29/2006 9:13:20 PM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 8:44:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 8:44:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 8:44:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 8:44:59 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/29/2006 8:44:59 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera....20D on steroids!
1/29/2006 8:44:59 PM
 
Scott Stulberg
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/31/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 12:43:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 12:43:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 12:43:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 12:43:28 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/25/2006 12:43:28 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's my new Ferrari...... it's that cool!
1/25/2006 12:43:28 PM
 
Ruben D. Parra
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 3:08:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 3:08:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 3:08:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 3:08:40 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/23/2006 3:08:40 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Best Camera I ever had!
1/23/2006 3:08:40 PM
 
Sue Butler 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 1:20:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 1:20:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 1:20:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 1:20:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/15/2006 1:20:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've had no problems with my camera, it's sharp, has good colour and I'm thrilled with it.
1/15/2006 1:20:17 PM
 
Ruslan Prozorov
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/13/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 9:27:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 9:27:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 9:27:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 9:27:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2006 9:27:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Full size sensor (no usual 1.6 crop factor does make the difference!). 12.8 MPegapixel is also a good thing.
1/8/2006 9:27:01 AM
 
Tony Duong 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2006 1:12:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2006 1:12:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2006 1:12:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2006 1:12:38 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/7/2006 1:12:38 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lighter than my 1Ds, and very good in shadow details and best in high ISO.
1/7/2006 1:12:38 AM
 
Brandon Mojarro 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 11:51:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 11:51:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 11:51:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 11:51:04 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 11:51:04 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just purchased the camera so I don't really have an elaborate critique yet but so far so good.
1/6/2006 11:51:04 PM
 
Errick L. Cameron
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/23/2005
Contact Errick
Errick's Gallery
photographybyerrick.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:55:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:55:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:55:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:55:48 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:55:48 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This 5D was a Christmas pesent to myself! I was saving for the 1D but after reading some reviews and asking questions from my friends on line at betterphoto, I decided to purchase the 5D and good glass. Added the Tamaron SP AF 180mm F/3.5 and the EF 24-70mm f/2.8L. A lot of camera for less $ then the 1D. I have been having a blast all week!!!
1/1/2006 7:55:48 PM
 
Nancy B. Brannaman 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:45:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:45:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:45:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:45:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/1/2006 7:45:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I only recently purchased the Canon 5D, but I can tell it is going to be a great camera. This is my first digital camera, but my 5th Canon camera in 22 years. It is so simple to use right from the start, but there's a lot of depth to the features so the user can really customize settings if needed. The photos are fabulous, too. I am disappointed that the 5D doesn't have a depth of field option to find the hperfocal length, a feature in the EOS 3. Now I have to go back to the tables to calculate the optimal settings for a fully in-focus photo. Also, there are fewer auto focus points in the view finder as in the EOS 3, and the focus isn't eye controlled. However, my initial photos look very sharp.
1/1/2006 7:45:57 AM
 
Gregory J. Sobotka
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/27/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 1:51:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 1:51:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 1:51:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 1:51:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/30/2005 1:51:30 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera... Fits my needs perfectly... I had a 20D but moved up to the 5D beacause of the full frame sensor... Was difinately worth the investment of $$
12/30/2005 1:51:30 PM
 
Bob l. Peterson
bobpetersonphotography.com
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 6:31:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 6:31:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 6:31:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 6:31:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/19/2005 6:31:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
new purchase, am pleased with improvements that are technical and practical
12/19/2005 6:31:02 PM
 
Marc E. Adamus 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:07:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:07:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:07:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:07:52 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/8/2005 8:07:52 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Powerful, fast, streamlined, an amazing new DSLR.
12/8/2005 8:07:52 AM
 
Jérôme Peiffer 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 4:45:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 4:45:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 4:45:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 4:45:23 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/6/2005 4:45:23 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I´m still testing:o) But so far I´m quite impressed!
12/6/2005 4:45:23 AM
 
Melissa  L. Zavadil
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/26/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 8:07:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 8:07:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 8:07:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 8:07:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 8:07:30 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I haven't had this camera for very long but the major difference comming from the 20D is the focusing. Man, this is one area of improvement that is SPECTACULAR! I always felt the images with the 20D were soft but with the 5D EVERY picture is perfect. I am said that they lost a lot of the typical features of the 20D like the pop up flash. Yea, for this camera it is made for studio etc. But, I still like to take snapshots with it around the house when I see my kids do something fun. Maybe I need to buy a point and shoot LOL --naw, I would hate the image quality. :) It is definately a GREAT camera!
12/5/2005 8:07:30 PM
 
Karol Livote
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 12:38:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 12:38:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 12:38:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 12:38:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 12:38:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just received the 5D and I love what I see thus far! I was torn between the Canon 5d & the Nikon d2x. I went with the Canon due to the size difference. Due to a medical problem, I cannot lug around large & heavy gear, thus the Canon is much smaller & lighter. I will update my comments, when I get the chance to really work with the camera. For now, I can say that the sharpness is great, so far!
12/5/2005 12:38:07 PM
 
Bill Houghton
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/9/2004
Contact Bill
Bill's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 12:55:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 12:55:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 12:55:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 12:55:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/29/2005 12:55:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Simply the best.
11/29/2005 12:55:07 AM
 
Neil D. 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 5:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 5:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 5:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 5:29:45 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 5:29:45 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Only recently got this camera, but so far I am very pleased.
11/27/2005 5:29:45 PM
 
Reed Hull
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/7/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 4:46:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 4:46:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 4:46:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 4:46:00 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/27/2005 4:46:00 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an awesome camera! The startup time is immediate. The autofocus is super fast (especially with USM lenses). The LCD is a joy to look at. The dynamic range ranks among the best available in a digital camera. Digital noise is nearly imperceptible at 400 ISO and is very acceptable even at 3200 ISO. All-in-all it is a joy to shoot.
11/27/2005 4:46:00 AM
 
Joyce A. Meck
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/26/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:32:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:32:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:32:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:32:30 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 7:32:30 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Resolution!! Detail!! Functioniality!! Still have lots to learn on this one, but for the first thousand shots or so... gotta say I love working with this piece of equipment. Heavier than the Rebel, but light for a pro camera, and rugged. Full of custom features for the real pro, but also fully automatic for the 'would-be pro. Full-frame sensor, 12.8 megapixel. Shots are incredibly clear and brilliant.
11/20/2005 7:32:30 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 1:48:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 1:48:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 1:48:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 1:48:41 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/20/2005 1:48:41 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Very nice camera and a pleasure to use after shooting with the 20D for awhile. It offers great resolution and image quality for the captures you wish to have the extra data for.
11/20/2005 1:48:41 PM
 
Ross Throndson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/13/2005
rossthrondson.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 6:20:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 6:20:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 6:20:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 6:20:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 6:20:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Everything about this camera is fantastic!!! This is the camera i was waiting for.It's also my first digital camera.Came with'n a hair of buying the Canon 20D and I'm so glad I didn't!Don't need to buy any of those slow wide angle lenses.Also bought the Canon PowerShot SD550 and very happy with it also!I'm thinking I'm done with film.Both of these cameras far exceeded my expectations!I would recommend them to any one.Excellent cameras!!!
11/14/2005 6:20:17 PM
 
Joel P. Black 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 9:48:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 9:48:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 9:48:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 9:48:42 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/13/2005 9:48:42 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is excellent in every way. Great resolution and sharpness. Fast focusing in low light situations.
11/13/2005 9:48:42 AM
 
Ernest j. Hansbrough
Contact Ernest
Ernest's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:46:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:46:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:46:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:46:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:46:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I shot wedding all the time I think this is the best camer yet I love my 5D
11/8/2005 6:46:22 PM
 
Ernest j. Hansbrough
Contact Ernest
Ernest's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:45:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:45:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:45:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:45:34 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:45:34 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I shot wedding all the time I think this is the best camer yet I love my 5D
11/8/2005 6:45:34 PM
 
Ernest j. Hansbrough
Contact Ernest
Ernest's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:44:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:44:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:44:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:44:52 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:44:52 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I shot wedding all the time I think this is the best camer yet I love my 5D
11/8/2005 6:44:52 PM
 
Ernest j. Hansbrough
Contact Ernest
Ernest's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:44:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:44:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:44:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:44:03 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:44:03 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I shot wedding all the time I think this is the best camer yet I love my 5D
11/8/2005 6:44:03 PM
 
Ernest j. Hansbrough
Contact Ernest
Ernest's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:43:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:43:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:43:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:43:11 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 6:43:11 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I shot wedding all the time I think this is the best camer yet I love my 5D
11/8/2005 6:43:11 PM
 
Lorie Giebel
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/29/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2005 3:10:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2005 3:10:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2005 3:10:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2005 3:10:53 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/7/2005 3:10:53 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love it! It's full-frame, nearly the same as my Canon 20D, with more features and no new learning curve--what's not to love!
11/7/2005 3:10:53 PM
 
Joe Stone 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 5:39:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 5:39:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 5:39:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 5:39:19 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 5:39:19 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
As advertised and better! Comfortable to use, and a full-featured professional camera.
11/6/2005 5:39:19 AM
 
anonymous A.  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 9:32:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 9:32:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 9:32:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 9:32:25 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 9:32:25 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The EOS 5 is fast, easy to carry, solid and very well designed. It has never let me down and all of its features are easy to access with your eye to the viewfinder. The only feature I don't much like is the eye-controlled autofocus. My thick glasses make this less than reliable, so I use manual focus point selection instead.
11/2/2005 9:32:25 PM
 
Ernest j. Hansbrough
Contact Ernest
Ernest's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 8:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 8:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 8:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 8:04:36 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/2/2005 8:04:36 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
it a verry good camer beter than the 10 D and 20D I will give it 5
11/2/2005 8:04:36 PM
 
Marcie Dreffs 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 8:07:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 8:07:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 8:07:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 8:07:43 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/1/2005 8:07:43 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best camera for the price! Love it!
11/1/2005 8:07:43 AM
 
Mindy Paskil 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 11:11:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 11:11:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 11:11:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 11:11:25 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/31/2005 11:11:25 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a great digital camera. The metering is the best I've used and for a digial SLR it is full frame so I have full use of all my EOS lenses.
10/31/2005 11:11:25 AM
 
Uyen  
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/9/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 10:23:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 10:23:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 10:23:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 10:23:16 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/24/2005 10:23:16 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
A full frame, high-performance camera that is also light and relatively inconspicuous. The highlight of this camera for me is how it performs with respect to noise at high ISOs.
10/24/2005 10:23:16 AM
 
Laszlo G. Horvath 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 7:50:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 7:50:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 7:50:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 7:50:43 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/18/2005 7:50:43 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The canon D5 is the best camera I could ever dream about.The weight feels perfect for me, balances well in my hands with all my L lenses. Easy to operate, good layout. Use all the EF lenses. All the features that pros need: bright large viewfinder, easy to focus manually. Bright large LCD monitor, high resolution full size chip with brilliant dynamic range, wide film speed range from 50-3200 ISO, mirror lock up, interchangable screens, more shutter speeds that most pros need, smart style programs, ergonomic and beautiful design,the shutter sounds great, I feel a real pleasant wibration in my palms at every shot. The best shaped digital Canon. All pros, no cons. Worth every penny and more. If you still not happy with this and can't get those perfect shots, don't blame the camera, check your impotence! Learn!!! All the disadvantages of my previous, otherwise great 20D are corrected in this little miracle. I will put it down only if I can pick up another one!!!It did worth even to starve for me.I might be overwhelmed but take full responsibility on every word I said. I never felt this creative freedom and confidence before. Honestly, Laszlo the Photographer
10/18/2005 7:50:43 PM
 
Michael L. Dawson
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/30/2005
Contact Michael
Michael's Gallery
mldawsonimages.com
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:04:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:04:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:04:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:04:22 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 11:04:22 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Fairly new, but I love the detail and crisp image. Not to mention the size. The camera is easy to handle and operate as well
10/14/2005 11:04:22 PM
 
Laura Berman
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/23/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 8:59:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 8:59:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 8:59:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 8:59:14 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 8:59:14 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just bought the Canon 5D and so far it's terrific. The full size sensor is magnificent. I'm sure that I'll have more to report once I've shot a couple of GB's worth, but I think it's a winner.
10/14/2005 8:59:14 PM
 
Jon Canfield 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 11:27:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 11:27:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 11:27:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 11:27:41 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/12/2005 11:27:41 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great resolution and image quality, nice light weight body. This is the perfect backup to my 1 series digitals and an ideal studio camera.
10/12/2005 11:27:41 AM
 
Pedro Aguilar 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:30:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:30:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:30:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:30:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/5/2005 9:30:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Not a Pro but eventually be, this camera is one of the best canon has built...
9/5/2005 9:30:56 PM
 

138 Reviews  

Buy EOS 5D Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com