BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS 5D Digital SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Natures dangerous...
View photos created with this camera

The EOS 5D Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • Captures images on CompactFlash Type I and Type II cards,
    compatible with cards of 2 GB capacity and larger
  • 12.8-megapixel CCD captures iamges up to 4,368 x 2,912 pixels
  • World's smallest and lightest full-frame digital SLR as of
    August 2005--the sensor operates without a conversion factor
  • New larger 2.5-inch LCD screen can be viewed even at extreme
    angles of up to 170 degrees
  • Consecutive shooting allows the capture of 3.0 frames per second
    for up to 60 consecutive JPEG or 17 RAW frames in a burst

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 138 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Donald C. Gasparetti
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/1/2010
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love my 5D, but if your considering purchasing one you may want to wait a month or two.

Canon will be coming out with the 5D Mark III. It will be a bit pricey (around 3400) but the good news is they plan to continue with the Mark II, and lower the price as well.

3/9/2012 5:54:53 AM
 
Universe M. KC
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/18/2008
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
EASY TO USE AND DURABLE
9/5/2008 9:07:03 PM
 
Paul D.
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Paul
Paul's Gallery

member since: 1/25/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The 5D is in a class of its own. It's now just over $2000 as of this writing and yet it's FULL FRAME. There is no other FF camera near this price from any other maker. Seriously, if you have $2k to spend on a camera body, full frame is the only way to go for low noise and image quality. But there's something even more special about the 5D... have a look at the photos people take, there's a richness that isn't there for any other camera (short of the over-$6000 Pro Canons). Many times when I see an image that's gorgeous in color, it's the 5D. The only other brand that has the "look" is the Nikon D200, but then you're right back to a puny sensor. Get the 5D, and be prepared to spend for good lenses, don't throw a $149 third-party lens on this amazing camera.
3/18/2008 7:01:13 PM
 
Kathy Cline
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Kathy
Kathy's Gallery

member since: 3/29/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
LOVE CANON Iv had the 10D, 20D and now the 5D and its the BEST by far. Iv upgraded with the heavy glass lens and again I will never go back. FULL FRAME is killer!!! You just dont know what you have been missing. GOD BLESS
2/18/2008 6:50:02 PM
 
saqib moghal
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
its good camera. fullframe imager.
1/9/2008 12:05:08 AM
 
Stefan Nielsen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 2/7/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I recently upgraded from the 350D (which I always liked a lot) - and I have to say: "What a difference"

It fits perfectly in my hand (I have the battery pack too), the controls are right at hand, and looking through the viewfinder is so much better than with the old camera.

The thumb-wheel is something I really missed on the 350D. I was used to it from the film days and it just feels so good to have it back. Everything is so much easier with this.

And then of course the most important thing: Full frame sensor... It's great not having the crop factor anymore - and as mentioned the nice and bright vieewfinder is a blessing. Only downside is that there is a lot more room for dust on the large sensor :)

Another great thing: High ISO performance is second to none (or at least second to none among the cameras I've tried)

The only reason for not giving it a 5: I could use a higher frame rate now and then - but all in all: It's a great camera...

10/16/2007 10:50:14 AM
 
James L. Glucksman
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 8/31/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I adore this camera, having upgraded from the 20D. It is very easy to use, extremely adaptable, and the full-frame sensor is a real boon after years working with the APS-size of the 20D. Only downside is the slow multiple exposures, though that hardly ever affects me.
10/16/2007 3:57:22 AM
 
Richard Smedley

member since: 9/8/2007
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is amazing and I'm hooked on it's full-frame power and superb imaging. This will probably be my main camera for the foreseeable future and I have not regretted investing in this camera.
9/11/2007 8:12:46 PM
 
Qasem A. Asad

member since: 4/30/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
the is good
by Full Frame
1/10/2007 4:59:57 AM
 
Tracy m. Bleers-Jarzembowski

member since: 5/13/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This photo is just lovely. You have a masterpiece.
8/10/2006 5:27:19 AM
 
Ernest j. Hansbrough
Contact Ernest
Ernest's Gallery

member since: 12/21/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Ernest J Hansbrough The 5D is the Best For wedding I live in Las Vegas and photography weeding all the time.love that camera
8/5/2006 8:37:43 AM
 

First 10 of 138 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Add your own review

Buy EOS 5D Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com


Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.