BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


Nikkormat EL 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Clouds on the can...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


5 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Michael Francese

member since: 6/13/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Just got one off of ebay;had some Nikon mount Soligor lenses(28/2.8;35/2;135/2.8) which are very good,and wanted to use them again.

nice,well balanced;but should have got a ELW so I could get a winder going. You must pull the advance lever out to operate the meter and the shutter-drives me crazy,especially on vertical shots! But a lot lighter than my F2

6/13/2006 10:38:44 AM
 
Jim Momary

member since: 2/27/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My EL just celebrated its 30th birthday. It has never needed repair. It has never failed to operate. It has only taken approx. 34,000 rolls of film. Talk about shoddy Nikonian manufacturing. It lacks a lot of cute plastic & rubber, is silly-straightforward to use, weighs a ton and yet has kept me happy for 3 decades. Sure, I have an F2, an F100, N90s and a D100. They do things the EL cannot, but in retrospect the most singularly reliable camera I have ever owned is the EL. The foam on the mirror bounce damper and film door seals was replaced in 2000. That's been its only service. Sometimes ya just gotta wonder, with all the innovations, they just don't make 'em like they used to, sometimes ...
On a sidenote, I will admit that after 30 years my eyes are not where they used to be in acuity. AF does serve a purpose, for aiding in getting things sharp and concentrating on the "decisive moment", as it were. And I like to tease people in that if I shoot chrome or such in the EL and scan the slide, I get the equivalent of about 12 MPx resolution. So, that's digital photography on the cheap !!!!

Cheers
Jim

2/27/2006 6:19:26 AM
 
Robert E. Schrull

member since: 12/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Of all the cameras I have, I take this with me all the time. Easy, always a good take. Too much to say, to be specific
12/28/2005 4:13:26 PM
 
John R. Keistler

member since: 3/12/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The Nikkormat EL was the first modern auto from Nikon and I remember when I came out; I was in high school. Like many other kids I thought this was totally unnecessary and that it made more sense to put the extra expense in another lens or two. It wasn't until relatively recently that I added an EL to my Nikon stable. I think the most striking quality, particularly in light of today's plastic cameras, is the weight and solid feel to the body. It's amazing now that this was once considered 'standard' size and that the FE and FM that followed were considered 'compact'. Anyone who has used Nikon equipment of this era would feel right at home with the EL. It has a feel of quality unseen in almost all of today's cameras, and not in an equivalent 35mm. Except there is no equivalent now! For those who don't need or want AF, the EL might be just the ticket. It provides a wide range of manual speeds along with the then-radical aperture priority (just like the later FE). It still used the old prong-type metering system, not a problem with Nikon lenses up through AF. The meter reads as a needle rather than LED's, but unlike many other contemporaries, it is easy to meter manually also. An aperture window for the VF would be nice, but not truly necessary. One thing I missed from my FT2 and FT3 'mats is that there is no meter window on the top plate; I use that a fair amount. The camera has a superb and very reliable Copal shutter. A very convenient DOF button common to that-era Nikons is included, as is a mirror lockup. Incidentally, the battery is a weird little one that is buried under the mirror! To change, you have to raise the mirror and the battery is under a little trap door. Good part is that the cover is not likely to be lost. Meter turns on and off with the advance lever like the FT2 and FT3. Drawbacks compared to the FE? No changeable screens, no winder or motor drive (ELW is a separate model). If these aren't necessary the shooter may prefer the extra weight, size and solid feel of the EL.
12/13/2005 7:35:57 PM
 
Andrey N. Antov

member since: 7/15/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A nice and tough camera. Fell three times on a rock and was still shooting. Heavy.
9/1/2005 2:25:39 PM
 

5 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.