BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS A2 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Best Friends
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


27 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John Caruso
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 12/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought a used EOS 5 (the European/Japanese version of the A2E) as a second film body, backing-up my EOS 1. It is responsive and intuitive. The images are fantastic (as one would expect), and the body has a definite feel of quality to it. I don't use the eye controlled auto focus feature. It feels a bit "gimmick-y" to me. Luckily, it's easy enough to disable. The film rewind is eerily quiet. As a matter of fact, the first time I came to the end of a roll, I had no idea it was rewinding until I saw the numbers changing! All in all, it is an excellent value (particularly if you pick up a used one) and highly recommended.
1/16/2008 11:59:18 AM
 
Tamie Seevers

member since: 7/8/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
When we bought our camera we talked to some camera repair shops to ask if they have repeat repairs on the EOS A2. They have not. They said it was a great camera, so we bought it.
7/8/2006 10:18:01 AM
 
Daniel Holman

member since: 7/29/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a good all around camera. I really like the wieght and size of it, along with all the features that it has.
2/15/2006 10:41:57 AM
 
Marisa  Garner

member since: 2/9/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the Canon EOS A2, because it is versatile and very adaptable. I also have the Quantum flash attachment, which is very useful. Dislike: NOT DIGITAL
2/11/2006 4:54:38 PM
 
Gabriel D. Brown
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/31/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
While it hasn't been in production for almost 10 years, the EOS A2 is still one of the best cabable SLR film cameras around. It offers me all of the control and capabilities that a professional needs to get the job done with a minimum of fuss. It's ergonomic, relatively light, and very quick.
1/31/2006 6:29:47 PM
 
Taika Aitken

member since: 1/12/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love.
1/12/2006 6:54:19 PM
 


member since: 10/31/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I'm a beginner so it's hard for me to give an extensive evaluation about the camera. So far I can say that I find this camera to be very easy to use. So for now, I give it a good rating ;)
11/3/2005 4:41:57 PM
 
Dan Renfro

member since: 11/27/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent slr with no downsides I've discovered after using it for 10 years.
7/15/2005 6:11:48 AM
 
Matt the Photographer

member since: 12/24/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
the best 35mm camera ever.
5/19/2005 4:55:35 PM
 
Cookie Serletic

member since: 9/13/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, very dependable.
1/26/2005 5:13:07 AM
 
Jeanne M  Hatch

member since: 6/6/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Liked this camera, except that it wasn't full frame. have relaced it with EOS 1V
10/19/2004 7:41:11 PM
 
James P. Borthwick

member since: 10/13/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Wonderful camera, easy to use with a system you can grow with.
10/19/2004 6:35:32 PM
 
James P. Borthwick

member since: 10/13/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good camera, system you can grow with, easy to use and great results.
10/13/2004 7:33:29 PM
 
James P. Borthwick

member since: 10/13/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Very good camera, system you can grow with, easy to use and great results.
10/13/2004 7:32:35 PM
 
Sally  A. Rothweiler

member since: 2/25/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Love it! A little heavy, and bulky. But I love the results!
9/12/2004 7:35:10 PM
 
Sally  A. Rothweiler

member since: 2/25/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love this camera. Very Easy to use!
9/10/2004 6:10:21 AM
 
Stephen B. Dilg

member since: 8/18/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love it, just wish it was a digital.
8/18/2004 1:46:48 PM
 
Harry C. Lines

member since: 6/28/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera has been my work horse since it came on the market. Although it is no longer made I still like shooting with it. It is a heavy body and the turn on dial switch did break which I was told was a design flaw, but Canon did repair it and I still shoot with this camera.
7/7/2004 6:40:33 PM
 
Wendy S. Cooper

member since: 3/17/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Takes good pictures, easy to use and understand.
4/12/2004 7:26:30 PM
 
Steve C. Hinds

member since: 2/1/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have used a A2 for about 18 years, since the EOS3 came out, it now is a backup camera. The main weakness of the camera is the command dial, that can need eventual cleaning. The popup flash quit functing on mind, but Irarely used it anyway. The picture quality has always been great. They talk about the durability of the higher end cameras such as the EOS 3 and IV; the A2 survived a waist high drop and still functions as if such never happen (note-the flash had quit functing well before this). A Canon note- the flash quit the first year, a Canon rep tried to place the blame on a camera drop, that at that time had not happen--while this is a critical slap at Canon, my other customer service dealings have all been very positive.
3/31/2004 5:34:55 AM
 
Mike Cole

member since: 2/4/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Cant image anything more you could want from a 35mm slr. it has socket mount for studio lights, 1/8000 of sec and a million other features. I just dont use film much any more.. ha and I work for Kodak oops
2/7/2004 6:14:10 PM
 
Derek Holyhead

member since: 12/26/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I have had this camera from new since 1990, it has been reliable and takes clear sharp pictures with the std 50mm f1.8 and Canon 75-300mm f4/5.6 telephoto zoom. I used it all the while, took some good competition pictures but about 5 years ago I got sucked into the digital revolution and lost my way. I have now decided to get back into 35mm photography and have dusted it off and am raring to go! Shows it's age when I look at newer EOS models but never the less it still takes decent pics.
12/26/2003 2:33:27 PM
 
Matthew M. Magee

member since: 8/6/2003
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I love my camera. I used to work (in high school) for a rafting photography company in the Royal Gorge (Canon City). They used the same camera, and when I was a photographer I learned it in and out. It has enough custom and manual settings to get what you want out of a photograph. I great camera.
8/6/2003 7:23:23 AM
 
Karol Grace
BetterPhoto Member
Contact Karol
Karol's Gallery
threedogstudio.com

member since: 7/7/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Got it because my aging eyes need auto focus. Loved, loved, loved my previous Canon A-1, so I stayed with Canon for a new camera. It's easier to load and does a lot of good automatic stuff like reading the ISO, etc., BUT its operation is not as intuitive to me as the A-1. I really used shutter and aperature control on the A-1, and with the Eos A-2 it takes too much fiddling, so I usually leave it on program. I don't like auto focus, either, but I'm grateful to have it. The delay between pressing the button and the picture snap bothers me and sometimes I get a really wrong part of the shot in focus.
7/4/2003 8:36:57 PM
 
Doug Trenner

member since: 6/4/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Kind of a long learning curve at first but great once you master it.
6/18/2003 1:52:49 PM
 
Maynard  McKillen

member since: 3/5/2003
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I own two A2 bodies and use them heavily. Both have problems with the command dial: One dial spins too freely, instead of "clicking" from one mode to the next, and the other dial has so much drag I know it will break soon. I've had the command dial repaired once already on one of these A2s. The PC sockets on both A2 bodies are loose, and once in a blue moon I seem to get an intermittant connection as a consequence.
I like this camera model despite these shortcomings, primarily for one reason. Paired with a Canon 430EZ speedlite, it can focus remarkably well in poor light, so it really shines on dimly lit dance floors at wedding receptions. It also earns a place in my gadget bag for being able to focus on wedding party couples and the bride and groom during processionals, recessionals and Grand Marches. These are all situations where people are moving toward me, and the auto focus doesn't hunt! It manages to find the distance quickly enough that my subjects are sharp in the resulting photos. Gone are the days when I would prefocus and use small f/stops to assure sharp photos during such moments.
I often need fast film rewind, and the A2 has it. In cold weather, I prefer slower rewind, hoping, perhaps wrongly, to minimize the possibility of static electricity damaging a roll of film during rewind. The A2 can be switched between high and low film rewind speeds.
The 1/200th flash sync speed is respectable during fill flash situations outdoors, though some newer Canon bodies have even higher sync speeds when paired with appropriate compatible flash units.
The A2 has proven to be a workhorse, and has paid for itself many times over. Now if they could design a retrofit command dial that lasts and a milspec PC socket...
6/15/2003 9:34:13 PM
 
Larry N. Winkiewicz

member since: 11/29/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I bought my Canon EOS A2 with the seemingly "over"-encouragement from the local camera shop salesmen who steered me away from the Nikon line of camera systems towards Canon. (Perhaps they knew it was being discontinued last year?!?!) As I knew I wanted to pursue photography more than just a hobby, I wanted something with more capabilities that would grow as my photography abilities did. The Elan 7/7e (lacking the pc terminal) wasn't going to cut it and the EOS 3 and 1v out of my price range I took the Canon A2 home, read over the owners manual, and gave it a test drive in my kitchen ; taking pictures of my wife and cats! Reading the owners manual was like reading a foreign language and when I got my first roll of 24 back , 21 out of 24 pictures were extremely blurry ! Needless to say, after spending $700.00 cdn on a camera , you think it would produce better pictures than a junky $5-6.00 disposable! But they were bad and I honestly thought the camera was broken even though it was brand new !!! I was disappointed and got a response from the store manager that I should have used a tripod ! I didn't get any hints or tips previously from the store so I was on my own but I figured putting it on full-auto according to the manual should give the simplicity and results of a point-and-shoot ! Dead wrong ! So after more rolls of shooting in different conditions with different lighting my ratio of blurry , poorly focused pictures to good pictures gradually improved by struggling with it and wasting money on lousy pictures being returned by the developer!
It has been only late this year 2002 after the spring in my command dial broke and was replaced and the camera cleaned, lubed and adjusted (coincidence???) that I've been getting very good results from the A2 , finally convincing me that it's not broken but it was the photographer's (me!) lack of experience that was mostly to blame - that and the lack of after-purchase assistance I received from the photo store. I still to this day can't follow that damn owners manual too well but I've had to make do with tips and help from friends, fellow photo club members, and Betterphoto.com that I've been able to master my first SLR to the point where now my pictures are coming out quite good! I plan to try and buy a Magic Lantern guide to help me understand my camera a whole lot better than I do...
The A2 is a very good camera for those intermediate photographers who know what they're doing , have a firm grasp on the technology aspect of electronic SLR cameras , and for those with ALOT of patience and understanding. Do note that the complaints about the command dial spring breaking ARE TRUE - it happened to me but otherwise , it's a good camera overall for the "knowledgeable" photographer !
11/29/2002 11:54:38 AM
 

27 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.