EOS A2 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Bright Lights Swi...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 27 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
John Caruso
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/27/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2008 11:59:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2008 11:59:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2008 11:59:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2008 11:59:18 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2008 11:59:18 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I bought a used EOS 5 (the European/Japanese version of the A2E) as a second film body, backing-up my EOS 1. It is responsive and intuitive. The images are fantastic (as one would expect), and the body has a definite feel of quality to it. I don't use the eye controlled auto focus feature. It feels a bit "gimmick-y" to me. Luckily, it's easy enough to disable. The film rewind is eerily quiet. As a matter of fact, the first time I came to the end of a roll, I had no idea it was rewinding until I saw the numbers changing! All in all, it is an excellent value (particularly if you pick up a used one) and highly recommended.
1/16/2008 11:59:18 AM
 
Tamie Seevers 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2006 10:18:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2006 10:18:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2006 10:18:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2006 10:18:01 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2006 10:18:01 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
When we bought our camera we talked to some camera repair shops to ask if they have repeat repairs on the EOS A2. They have not. They said it was a great camera, so we bought it.
7/8/2006 10:18:01 AM
 
Daniel Holman 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 10:41:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 10:41:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 10:41:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 10:41:57 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/15/2006 10:41:57 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a good all around camera. I really like the wieght and size of it, along with all the features that it has.
2/15/2006 10:41:57 AM
 
Marisa  Garner 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 4:54:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 4:54:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 4:54:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 4:54:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 4:54:38 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I like the Canon EOS A2, because it is versatile and very adaptable. I also have the Quantum flash attachment, which is very useful. Dislike: NOT DIGITAL
2/11/2006 4:54:38 PM
 
Gabriel D. Brown
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/31/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 6:29:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 6:29:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 6:29:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 6:29:47 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2006 6:29:47 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
While it hasn't been in production for almost 10 years, the EOS A2 is still one of the best cabable SLR film cameras around. It offers me all of the control and capabilities that a professional needs to get the job done with a minimum of fuss. It's ergonomic, relatively light, and very quick.
1/31/2006 6:29:47 PM
 
Taika Aitken 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 6:54:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 6:54:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 6:54:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 6:54:19 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 6:54:19 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love.
1/12/2006 6:54:19 PM
 
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 4:41:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 4:41:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 4:41:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 4:41:57 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 4:41:57 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I'm a beginner so it's hard for me to give an extensive evaluation about the camera. So far I can say that I find this camera to be very easy to use. So for now, I give it a good rating ;)
11/3/2005 4:41:57 PM
 
Dan Renfro 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 6:11:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 6:11:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 6:11:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 6:11:48 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/15/2005 6:11:48 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is an excellent slr with no downsides I've discovered after using it for 10 years.
7/15/2005 6:11:48 AM
 
Matt the Photographer 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 4:55:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 4:55:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 4:55:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 4:55:35 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/19/2005 4:55:35 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
the best 35mm camera ever.
5/19/2005 4:55:35 PM
 
Cookie Serletic 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 5:13:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 5:13:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 5:13:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 5:13:07 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/26/2005 5:13:07 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera, very dependable.
1/26/2005 5:13:07 AM
 
Jeanne M  Hatch 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 7:41:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 7:41:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 7:41:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 7:41:11 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/19/2004 7:41:11 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Liked this camera, except that it wasn't full frame. have relaced it with EOS 1V
10/19/2004 7:41:11 PM
 

First 10 of 27 Reviews  (see all user reviews)