BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS 650 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

rain drops
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


28 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Wes Phillips

member since: 6/26/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good all round camera
6/26/2006 8:18:18 PM
 
Roger D. King

member since: 6/14/2006
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Even though this EOS model is old, it still produces fairly good images. A great film camera for photographers of all skill levels. (I haven't made the conversion to full digital yet)
6/14/2006 12:13:46 PM
 
Sylvia Augustus

member since: 12/28/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I will always love Canon's camera bodies and lenses. My EOS body is almost indestrcutible. The lenses are heavy but you can not beat the quality of the photos captured.
6/8/2006 8:03:58 AM
 
Chelsea Mallory

member since: 5/17/2006
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
it's a pretty good camera lasted a long time and took pretty good pic's when I got used to it.
5/17/2006 5:21:29 PM
 
Sylvia R. Augustus

member since: 12/29/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. They don't make camera bodies like this one anymore. Hands down this camera captures the most vivid images on film. The only problem is that it that it makes a lot of noise.
12/29/2005 11:55:35 AM
 
Lisa M. Renberg

member since: 9/27/2005
1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 1.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 1.5 out of 5
My second slr camera given to me as a gift. It came without an instructional booklet so I get to play around with it to see how it works. Not my best camera.
10/28/2005 7:37:33 AM
 
Qwerty Uiop
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/26/2005
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
I bought this camera because I wanted to experience auto-focus and because the manual said it could be used for infrared photography. For the latter, though, it left a light leak around the sprockets and so I stopped using it for that.
10/17/2005 5:02:12 PM
 
Alvin Stiles
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/26/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Well this is a pretty good camera, fast and holds well in the hands, I call this my canoe camera, if it falls overboard, no major loss. Canon has much better cameras than this old one.
7/26/2005 8:40:38 PM
 
Alvin Stiles
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/26/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Well this is a pretty good camera, fast and holds well in the hands, I call this my canoe camera, if it falls overboard, no major loss. Canon has much better cameras than this old one.
7/26/2005 8:39:56 PM
 
Nick  J. Skajewski

member since: 7/18/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I rate my camera a 3.5 because its a little outdated meaning its a 35 mm SLR. One thing I like about it is I know my camera well in all conditions along with my variety of lenses.
7/19/2005 6:45:51 AM
 
Bob A. Domaradzki

member since: 6/19/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My EOS 650 is easy to use and light.It makes for good standard photography.It has a number of settings which I rarely use because I go for auto exposure and only work manually with focus and zoom for which the 650 is good.It does a good job considering that I let it do most of the work-I just compose the shot and focus and zoom.I get good results using just that method.I used to use a Canon 630 which is just the same except it has a multiple exposure function which i miss.For 35mm photography I rate my Canon well-the lenses produce good results if used properly.There's nothing much I don't like about it.
6/19/2005 9:18:05 PM
 
Greg Pichnej
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/18/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Canon EOS 650 is a strong well built reliable worker eclipsed only by the convience of digital capture by the inovative Canon D20.
6/18/2005 9:09:23 AM
 
Nancy C. Cassell

member since: 12/16/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great old camera. It has been all over and has always been reliable. It is easy to adjust settings quickly. I like everything about it for a 35mm.
4/11/2005 1:28:16 PM
 
Alan Brown

member since: 10/10/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
Bought this when the EOS 1st came out. It has been a great camera.
3/28/2005 1:00:58 AM
 
Maria Gamble
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 7/13/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My Canon EOS 650 was actually a gift. A friend of mine had this camera along with a 50mm lens that he said he would never use. He said is was given to him and he only used it once. So he figured since I was into photography he'd give it to me. I was absolutely floored when he showed it to me and said I could have it. I like this camera alot - it doesn't have the speed of the Rebel Ti but it is an excellent back-up camera.
3/8/2005 2:45:03 PM
 
Dennis Carr
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 3/5/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
i think it takes great pictures but i hate the lightmeter.
3/6/2005 6:15:04 PM
 
PATRICIA A. CASEY
BetterPhoto Member
Contact PATRICIA
PATRICIA's Gallery
patriciacasey.com

member since: 12/24/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the "feel" of the camera. It is my second digital, my first slr digital. Love the support I get from Canon. I'm finding it easy to use. The one objection is the quick shut down & the hesitation in restarting.
1/13/2005 2:18:40 PM
 
molly 

member since: 5/7/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Although the Canon EOS 650 is an older model Canon, I continue to be pleased at the outcome of the pictures. It is easy to handle and has been a great camera for me to learn the basics on before taking the serious "digital plunge." I am using a EF 35-100 macro lens and occasionally a Canon EF 100-300 zoom lens.
5/10/2004 8:18:32 AM
 
David Sallee

member since: 3/31/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Takes very good pictures. The only problem I have had is the Sticky Shutter Syndrome...
3/31/2004 12:16:26 AM
 
Oscar E. Caballero

member since: 3/30/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Camera is pretty old but works great. Very easy to use and gives me some great results. Since I'm on a very tight budget I purchased a very low quality 650mm manual focus lens and the camera still gave me great pictures.So I'm very pleased with this camera
3/30/2004 6:50:24 AM
 
Kathy Thornhill

member since: 3/19/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Even though I bought this second hand, it works great. I particularly like the depth of field preview. I also have an ESO Rebel which does not have this feature. T
3/25/2004 1:15:53 PM
 
Lorrie Emin

member since: 2/21/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is an old but wonderful camera...like a trusted friend, I can always count on it.
2/21/2004 7:42:06 PM
 
Travis  A. Rabalais

member since: 12/31/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I purchased my Canon EOS 650 in 1986 shortly after in came out. I took the camera to Europe andd shot over 60 rolls of film ranging from B&W to color. This camera never missed a beat. Ever picture was perfect. I have a digital camera (Fuji Finepix 4900) I like it but I still find myself going back to my EOS 650. I wish that I could find some of the accessories that were offered back in the 80's.

I just purchased a EF IS USM 75-300 lens. The camera with this new lens is better than anything out there.

Canon did a excellent job with this camera.

12/31/2003 8:09:25 AM
 
CHAN CHUN MING

member since: 11/2/2001
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Easy to use. Wide range of auto-focus lens by Canon.
11/25/2003 6:06:21 AM
 
Edward J. Underwood

member since: 5/17/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera does all that I require and produces great pictures particularly with my zoom lense.
7/15/2003 4:24:25 PM
 
Gordon J. Evans
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/8/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Deb's review is right on point.

I bought the EOS 650 over 13 years ago at this point, and considering its age, I still find myself using it on a regular basis (despite having the Canon EOS Elan 7, Nikon Coolpix 995 and Canon A70 as alternatives). I've used this camera regularly over the years (in a couple of weeks about a year ago I shot 70-80 rolls with it and if my memory is correct, still have the same battery in the camera), and nothing, nothing at all has gone wrong with it (this despite exposure to salt air at the coast, mountain hiking, snow, sleet and lots of rain here in the Pacific Northwest).

American Photo's June 2003 issue recognized the camera as one of 25 that "changed photography" in large part because it was the first to take the focussing motor out of the camera and put it into the lens (allowing for quicker more accurate autofocus). And while the newer models are quieter and the focussing more accurate with more speed (at least using the USM line of Canon lenses), I'd recommend this camera to anyone starting out (can't imagine they'd cost much given the age on something like e-Bay).

While I try to think of this camera as a second, used primarily for black and white film or a different ISO while out on a shoot using something else, I am constantly amazed that some of my better pics come from this 13 year old Canon.

6/30/2003 6:37:10 AM
 
Melissa Williams

member since: 3/29/2003
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I got it as a hand-me-down. It's nearly impossible to find the accessories for it like the technical back E or the remote control, etc which are needed if you want to do bulb exposures. That irritated me, so I got the Rebel 2000 and the remote switch. Now that I have the Rebel, I only use the 650 as a backup or as a prop in my pictures, or if I'm worried it'll get broken while out shooting a concert or something. The 650 is slower, heavier, bulkier, and just not as cool as my rebel.
6/24/2003 4:14:42 PM
 
Deb Thomas

member since: 4/18/2001
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought the EOS 650 13 years ago. I've used it hard, it went through 4 semesters of photography classes, and several weddings, including my own. It has been capturing our animals, 2 children, neices and nephews and the countless other things I photograph. I have on occation been known to dream of other cameras but I can't say that this camera has ever disappointed me. The one thing it does not have is the ability to do multiple exposures.

The EOS 650 was early in the Canon EOS line and can be used on fully program and autofocus or can be used with manual settings and manual focus. The program controls were great for a beginner to SLR photography, the camera worked like a point and shot and this feature still comes in handy when I hand the camera to my husband so that he can take a rare picture of the girls and myself. But, when I started taking photography in college, this camera gave me the capability to set all the controls myself, giving me the creative control I wanted. The camera body has a metal frame unlike the Rebels which are plastic, so it has a bit more heft but it is not a terribly bulky camera. It always feels good to hold (I'm female and I have read that some cameras seem too big for a woman's hand, not the case with this camera.)

Controls are easy to use, a combination of pushing a button and rotating the dial is usually all that is needed.
Depth of Field preview is a nice feature that is missing from some lower end AF models but not this one. Lots of features for an early model AF.
Compatatble with all of Canon's EF lenses.

The LCD screen was rated to last five years before needing servicing, mine is still working after 13 years. I haven't had this camera serviced at all in all the years of hard use.

I went to the camera store not having any clue what camera to buy, fell in love with this one the minute the sales lady handed it to me and paid more that I had planned. I have never regreted the purchase of this camera and have enjoyed using it.

I would certainly purchase a good used model of this camera as a second body and have recommended it to people who would like a good entry level SLR. Maybe I'm a bit biased since this was my first love affair with a camera and has gone down this wonderful road of photography with me but this camera has always delivered for me and that means a lot.

8/25/2002 4:25:28 PM
 

28 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.