BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EOS 630 (EOS 600) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Waterfall
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


16 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Zachary W. Sarette

member since: 6/28/2008
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Wonderful Camera. I'm shooting weddings with this camera. Make sure you use a good film and decent lens. I prefer Fuji color slides. I prefer this camera to my 40D, because it is lightweight and feels good in my hands to take a shot. I love my 40D, but you can't beat the graceful quality of full frame 35mm slides.
6/28/2008 12:37:06 PM
 
Valentina Toth

member since: 2/12/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I used to use this camera, back in the days of FILM. It was a lovely thing. Very easy to operate, with many functions. Its only downside was automatic film rewinding which sucked the film all the way back into the tube, which made it difficult for me to develop black and white negatives on my own. I would have used it a lot more if I had any Canon EF lens better than the one it came in package with, which was some godforsaken Canon 35-70mm one, awful quality. But I was only a teenager then, and I had no money to buy expensive photographic equipment, and because of that I never used this camera as much as I would have wanted to.
2/12/2006 4:59:33 PM
 
Eric Massimelli

member since: 4/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good Camera Lack Spot metering - Solid
4/17/2005 1:20:43 PM
 
Miles G. McBreen
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 4/6/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Works very well in a water housing with the Canon 15mm lens for surf photography
4/13/2005 6:53:34 PM
 
Jeppe Thomas Schilder

member since: 4/6/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
pretty good, a bit heavy and old though
4/6/2005 10:09:44 AM
 
Ronald E. Kennon

member since: 1/8/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is now my backup I purchaxed an EOS 10D last year and I use it almost daily. I have used the EOS 630 camera for many years. It replaced my EOS 650 which was lost.
1/8/2005 7:20:51 PM
 
Laureen M. Carruthers

member since: 9/12/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
for an older camera, it still takes great shots. the only thing it's not great for is indoor photography...outdoor, I love it!
9/12/2004 9:28:24 PM
 
Jim Cross

member since: 8/30/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
The 600 is what I bought after working my way thru a lot of EOS autofocus models in the last couple of years. The 10 and 100 (Elan in US) 'stuck' with me but the 50E (Elan II) went away as being ungainly and awkward. I've also got the RT- which is a 600 without a moving mirror!

Plus points are robustness, simplicity of design, and speed of wind. For me, a left handed left eyed photographer command dials on the camera back are a pain cos they are where my nose goes! So their absence on the 600 is a real plus.

Negative - well its a shame you have to shop for a grip to get one with a socket for remote release...

8/30/2004 3:39:09 PM
 
Doug  Murray

member since: 6/25/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a great starter camera for beginner's, but still has everything you need.
7/6/2004 10:03:05 AM
 
Zachariah Monotya

member since: 4/22/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is simply the best SLR ever made...
4/22/2004 2:39:17 PM
 
Laurent Adgie

member since: 1/13/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fast, tough well-built camera only let down by an aging light measuring system. Wouldn't change it for anything else (OK, except an EOS 1v or 1Ds).
1/13/2004 3:49:02 AM
 
Julia Lucas

member since: 12/31/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera has quick focus, easy to hold, light, is good on the run. The lens is easy to change in a hurry. I photographed a lot of kayakers and whitewater rafters with this camera in the rain and raging water. It's still clicking!
12/31/2003 3:27:17 PM
 
Julia Lucas

member since: 12/31/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the perfect camera for adventure photography. It's light, quick focus, easy to use on the run, easy to change the lens and hold it with one hand. I photographed a lot of kayakers and white water rafters using this camera in rain and raging water. It's still clicking!
12/31/2003 3:24:55 PM
 
Gerald W. 

member since: 9/27/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The 630 works excellent as long a you don't the off-camera cable, after several shots the camera will lock-up and you have to take the bat. out to reset it. If time is not critical you can take 5 to 20 shots before it happens. Canon said there is too much communication taking place between the flash and the camera. This doesn't happen on the EOS A2, EOS 3, or Elan 7. We bought it when if 1st hit the USA market and sold it 8 yrs in excellent condition 100s & 100s of 36 shot rolls.
9/27/2003 8:39:34 PM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com

member since: 6/14/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
See http://www.dougnelsonphoto.com/-/dougnelsonphoto/article.asp?ID=100
for some sources for adapters that allow the use of Leica, Contax, Pentax screw and Nikon lenses on EOS cameras. You will have to focus manually, but that's a small trade off for such versatility.
The 630 is a prime candidate, as it is NOT a bottom of the line camera, and is selling on keh.com for less than $200.
1/10/2003 11:27:44 AM
 
Peter 

member since: 3/14/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
the 630, or in the southern hemisphe it is called the 600. it is canon's version of a pro camera before the 1 series. it has a solid body, 5 frames a second motordrive, lots of custom fuctions so that you can fine tune the camera to your needs. it still takes the same battery, the 25cr2 that fits many of the canons and are still being used now.it has interchangeable focusing screens. so it's a boon with people who wear glass's like myself.and it's still a lot like the current model shape. the focusing has only one focus point and it's slower focusing compared to the newer models. but as a second camera for a sports photographer or as a first camera for an advanced amateur it's great.
8/19/2002 7:59:17 PM
 

16 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.