EOS 630 (EOS 600) 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Rain n temple
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Zachary W. Sarette 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2008 12:37:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2008 12:37:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2008 12:37:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2008 12:37:06 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/28/2008 12:37:06 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Wonderful Camera. I'm shooting weddings with this camera. Make sure you use a good film and decent lens. I prefer Fuji color slides. I prefer this camera to my 40D, because it is lightweight and feels good in my hands to take a shot. I love my 40D, but you can't beat the graceful quality of full frame 35mm slides.
6/28/2008 12:37:06 PM
 
Valentina Toth 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 4:59:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 4:59:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 4:59:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 4:59:33 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 4:59:33 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I used to use this camera, back in the days of FILM. It was a lovely thing. Very easy to operate, with many functions. Its only downside was automatic film rewinding which sucked the film all the way back into the tube, which made it difficult for me to develop black and white negatives on my own. I would have used it a lot more if I had any Canon EF lens better than the one it came in package with, which was some godforsaken Canon 35-70mm one, awful quality. But I was only a teenager then, and I had no money to buy expensive photographic equipment, and because of that I never used this camera as much as I would have wanted to.
2/12/2006 4:59:33 PM
 
Eric Massimelli 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 1:20:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 1:20:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 1:20:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 1:20:43 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/17/2005 1:20:43 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Good Camera Lack Spot metering - Solid
4/17/2005 1:20:43 PM
 
Miles G. McBreen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/6/2005
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 6:53:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 6:53:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 6:53:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 6:53:34 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/13/2005 6:53:34 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Works very well in a water housing with the Canon 15mm lens for surf photography
4/13/2005 6:53:34 PM
 
Jeppe Thomas Schilder 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:09:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:09:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:09:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:09:44 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/6/2005 10:09:44 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
pretty good, a bit heavy and old though
4/6/2005 10:09:44 AM
 
Ronald E. Kennon 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2005 7:20:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2005 7:20:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2005 7:20:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2005 7:20:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/8/2005 7:20:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It is now my backup I purchaxed an EOS 10D last year and I use it almost daily. I have used the EOS 630 camera for many years. It replaced my EOS 650 which was lost.
1/8/2005 7:20:51 PM
 
Laureen M. Carruthers 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 9:28:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 9:28:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 9:28:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 9:28:24 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/12/2004 9:28:24 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
for an older camera, it still takes great shots. the only thing it's not great for is indoor photography...outdoor, I love it!
9/12/2004 9:28:24 PM
 
Jim Cross 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:39:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:39:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:39:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:39:09 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/30/2004 3:39:09 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
The 600 is what I bought after working my way thru a lot of EOS autofocus models in the last couple of years. The 10 and 100 (Elan in US) 'stuck' with me but the 50E (Elan II) went away as being ungainly and awkward. I've also got the RT- which is a 600 without a moving mirror!

Plus points are robustness, simplicity of design, and speed of wind. For me, a left handed left eyed photographer command dials on the camera back are a pain cos they are where my nose goes! So their absence on the 600 is a real plus.

Negative - well its a shame you have to shop for a grip to get one with a socket for remote release...

8/30/2004 3:39:09 PM
 
Doug  Murray 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:03:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:03:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:03:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:03:05 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/6/2004 10:03:05 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
This is a great starter camera for beginner's, but still has everything you need.
7/6/2004 10:03:05 AM
 
Zachariah Monotya 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 2:39:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 2:39:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 2:39:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 2:39:17 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2004 2:39:17 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is simply the best SLR ever made...
4/22/2004 2:39:17 PM
 
Laurent Adgie 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 3:49:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 3:49:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 3:49:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 3:49:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/13/2004 3:49:02 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fast, tough well-built camera only let down by an aging light measuring system. Wouldn't change it for anything else (OK, except an EOS 1v or 1Ds).
1/13/2004 3:49:02 AM
 

First 10 of 16 Reviews  (see all user reviews)