BetterPhoto.com - Become a better photographer today!
EMAIL:
PASSWORD:
remember me:     
     


EM 35mm SLR Camera


Nikon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

LightTrac Screen ...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


22 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
NIHAR R. BEHERA

member since: 5/30/2006
2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2 out of 5
Very Good camera. I like this metal sturdy body.
5/30/2006 12:32:21 PM
 
Angela Garibay
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 11/13/2001
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera and although I have since bough three other cameras, I keep this one as well. Its easy to use and takes great photos.
4/20/2006 9:47:54 PM
 
Christine Higson
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/12/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
A great first camera for a beginner in SLR 35mm photography.
2/2/2006 3:52:13 AM
 
Jerry H. Williams
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 1/16/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Old Reliable Film camera, still works, good learning tool
1/31/2006 10:18:07 PM
 
Brad R. Stewart
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 6/6/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
Have had this camera for about 15 yrs and it shoots very detailed pictures. Only complaint is I get unwanted light streaks in some exposures, have not been able to figure out where it comes from yet.
6/11/2005 5:40:47 PM
 
Ally D. Pershing

member since: 5/24/2005
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
I don't really like the fact that my camera doesn't have manual shutter speed. It doesn't give me very good contrast, but I have noticed that it is better if I set the ISO two notches above what my film is, that's just a little trick my uncle taught me.
5/24/2005 2:44:50 PM
 
Kevin Ekstrom
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/20/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
An O.K starter camera, but not one to feep in your bag.
This camera has very little in options.
Manual use is non-existant.
I sold mine 2 months after I purchased it.
5/20/2005 11:49:16 AM
 
Kevin Ekstrom
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 5/20/2005
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
An O.K starter camera, but not one to feep in your bag.
This camera has very little in options.
Manual use is non-existant.
I sold mine 2 months after I purchased it.
5/20/2005 11:47:56 AM
 
David W. Chumbley

member since: 3/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
very good camera...nice quality pics
3/20/2005 6:41:20 PM
 
Konstantin Leonenko

member since: 11/6/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
love automaitic exposures up to 30 mins!!!
11/6/2004 6:54:15 AM
 
Jim Anderson

member since: 7/6/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
OK, so it's a "beginners" camera. I've been taking pictures for 45 years and I think it's one of the neatest little 35mm's around. It lacks a few features but at an ebay price of around $50 it may be the best bargain in manual film camers on the market. I use it right along side my old F and F3 and it holds it's own against them. It's tough and, best of all, light enough to take with me hikiing or on my bike.
9/17/2004 11:26:22 PM
 
Anonymous Anonymous
BetterPhoto Member

member since: 9/12/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
A present from my Mum. Great camera and good quality pictures. A dinosaur in todays photographic world but one I will keep and still use.
9/17/2004 12:33:34 PM
 
Yvonne Whitney

member since: 6/28/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
I like it because the camera body isn't made of the cheap plastic that most cameras are now made out of. Another reason why I like it is because you don't have to learn all of that technical stuff that's needed to operate the digital cameras. I looked at other new and used cameras before deciding on the Nikon EM. I purchased it at a new/used camera store and the owner/manager didn't pressure me into getting a camera I wouldn't want. I am looking at getting more lenses, filters, etc for my Nikon as I can afford them.
6/28/2004 5:23:35 PM
 
Aaron R. Whitney

member since: 4/29/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is a fixed ap SLR. This was my go to war camera for my military career. I bought this camera as a teenager and it is still going strong for me now in my 30's.
6/3/2004 8:17:35 AM
 
Phillip M. Paulk

member since: 6/5/2003
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellent starter camera.
4/13/2004 5:25:42 PM
 
Sandra Marcum

member since: 3/10/2004
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 3 out of 5
It is good but an older model. When it is set on auto the shutter gets stuck closed. I like being able to zoom right up on something. Remember I am not professional so dont laugh LOL!
3/10/2004 7:29:46 PM
 
Carmin Carocciolo

member since: 3/8/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The camera is ok able to travel- Howeveer it isn't sharp enough at times when enlarging-
3/8/2004 5:18:17 PM
 
Carmin Carocciolo

member since: 3/8/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
The camera is ok able to travel- Howeveer it isn't sharp enough at times when enlarging-
3/8/2004 5:18:17 PM
 
Carmin Carocciolo

member since: 3/8/2004
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
It's like I stated 35mm is ok just not sharp enough some times- It is easy to get around though-
3/8/2004 5:12:29 PM
 
Peter III Dimaguila

member since: 10/11/2002
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4 out of 5
My first SLR, and easy to use, can take great photos
9/20/2003 7:16:41 AM
 
Dorenna Hart

member since: 8/27/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it.
8/27/2003 7:12:21 PM
 
Aaron R. Whitney

member since: 4/29/2003
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
Rating: 5 out of 5
The Nikon EM has been my standard "go to battle camera". Literaly, and figuratively. While a Military Police Officer, my Nikon EM took great pictures in the conflicts in Panama, and the Persian Gulf. If you want the benefits of and SLR with the ease of a point and shoot, get on Ebay and find an EM! My favorite thing about it has to be it's durabilty. My EM has taken punishment no piece of equiptment should be expected to survive! The body is dented, the counter glass is busted out, and I have half a countries worth of dirt in there. The pictures that come out are still as good as the day I bought it.
6/23/2003 7:47:53 PM
 

22 Reviews  

Add your own review

Copyright 1996-2014 BetterPhoto.com, Inc. All Rights Reserved.