*ist DL Digital SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Half Dome revisio...
View photos created with this camera

The *ist DL Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 2.5-inch LCD monitor
  • Powered by 4 AA-size batteries (alkaline included, rechargeable
    NiMH recommended)
  • 6.1-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 14-by-19-inch prints
  • Includes wide to moderate wide-angle lens
  • Store images on separately sold Secure Digital memory cards


© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


30 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Henrik juul Petersen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a strikingly competent camera - once you get to know it. You need to know the basics of exposure to get the outstanding results that this camera is capable of, in full auto it is not really convincing. Great quality feel, too, extremely good and simple handling,and a menu than can be seen even by elderly eyes. Compact, and uses AAs, which is fine when travelling. A fine photographers tool, I am on my second DL, in between I tried Nikon, Canon and Minolta, but eventually returned to the DL. I hang on to it even though I have added a K10D, the DL`s small size and siplicity (and iso 3200) being an advantage. Highly recommended, but only to those who like to invest a little more in their photography than to point and shoot.

6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM
 
Mark Keech 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My first digital SLR. I love being able to control focus and exposure so easily and fire it off quickly.
7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM
 
Donald P. Courville 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It's my first DSLR, and I agree with the reviewer that said the reviews were a bit harsh.. What the review said was, "some functions are buried in menus". But I didn't find them difficult to navigate. The ONLY thing I can see in need of an upgrade is the 6mp sensor, but Pentax is coming out with a 10 mp DSLR soon..
6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM
 
J Murtha 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm a novice and this is my first SLR so it's hard for my to articulate any likes or dislikes. Still learnin'.
6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM
 
Stephen  Bath
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/30/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had my Pentax DL for 7 months now, done over 4000 shots with it with everything from pinhole images (adapted Jessop's PK Mount Bodycap) to seascapes, model/studio work, classic car road runs, weddings/events and found it to be reliable as anything. I use Sigma, Pentax and Tamron lenses and the camera is much easier to set up than the reviews said. I just hope the DL2 will prove to be the perfect replacement.
6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM
 
Darren R. Varney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/18/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Ideal budget DSLR. Takes all lenses Pentax has ever made plus any lens made for K-mount bayonet or M42 screw. The only limitation I have found so far is finding a suitable external flash, due to the P-TTL metering.
6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM
 
Donald P. Courville 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera got fairly good reviews in Popular Photography magazine. One thing they didn't like a lot was some of the functions are buried in menus, but I didn't find it difficult to use. It holds well in my hand, is light, and I LOVE the 2.5 inch LCD. Low-light can be a bit tricky, but not that bad for the autofocus. Overall, it's easy to use and takes great quality photos.
6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM
 
Marcia J. Hammler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
There is delay between snapping the photo and capturing it - makes it easier to take spontaneous shots. It is a bit heavy which can ge tiresome after a while.
6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM
 
Linda Rampant 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
So Far so good, I haven't had it very long.
6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM
 
Shannon Beauford
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/31/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great camera! it's perfect for a first DSLR. with preset picture modes and manual controls for full creative control, continuous shooting at 2.5 fps, and very crisp pictures with little to no noise. What noise you may encounter can be easily filtered out without making your shot look too smoothed, blurred, or over-filtered.
and battery life is exceptional...I use Energizer rechargable 2500 mah and can take 300+ shots before needing a recharge.
5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM
 
Terri McMillon 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera although the auto focus does have some limitations with close up photography. It is also difficult to get pictures in low light situations.
5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM
 
Jason C. McCall 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 3:38:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 3:38:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 3:38:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 3:38:50 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/8/2006 3:38:50 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love nearly everything about the Pentax *ist DL Digital SLR! With an ISO range of 200-3200, Custom White Balance option (and a whole slew of presets), Depth of field preview, on-camera filters (black & white, sepia, soft, and slim), and the ability to use any Auto-aperture lens...There isn't another camera that matches it in my opinion.
5/8/2006 3:38:50 PM
 
Sabrina  Ehlenberger
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/22/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 9:25:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 9:25:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 9:25:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 9:25:01 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/22/2006 9:25:01 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just got this camera, I love it, very crisp pictures. But I am still learning how to use it. I am just a beginner
4/22/2006 9:25:01 PM
 

BetterPhoto Member
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 6:58:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 6:58:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 6:58:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 6:58:26 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/10/2006 6:58:26 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a brand new camera so I'm still learning to use it, but so far I love it.
4/10/2006 6:58:26 PM
 
Lorie A. Volkman 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 10:15:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 10:15:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 10:15:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 10:15:11 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/8/2006 10:15:11 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I don't think you can beat it for the price. After getting burned with a battery on a laptop, could not find after 5 years, I like that is used AA. Up until now I have used a point and shoot or film. It seems to fit in my hand and the buttons are all in the right spot, someone really put some thought into it! Oh, it also takes great pictures! I am a very happy camper! I think the versatility with the lenses is better than with some of the more well known brands presently, and I just plain like pentax lenses! (I can alway upgrade the body through the years, but lenses are forever.
4/8/2006 10:15:11 AM
 
Kerstin Mitchell
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/3/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 7:57:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 7:57:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 7:57:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 7:57:32 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 7:57:32 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it! Of course it is my first DSLR but it is very easy to use and I get some great pictures from it.
4/5/2006 7:57:32 AM
 
Harold K. Turner 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 7:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 7:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 7:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 7:37:49 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/25/2006 7:37:49 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
The Pentax ist DL is simple to use, and at 6.1 Mega pixels it takes great great photos.
3/25/2006 7:37:49 AM
 
Teresa A. Hillery
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/13/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 2:39:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 2:39:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 2:39:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 2:39:45 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 2:39:45 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This camera is the best camera I have ever used. Never thought I'd go digital, but I love it.
3/15/2006 2:39:45 PM
 
Randy Girouard 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 1:26:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 1:26:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 1:26:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 1:26:41 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 1:26:41 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
The Pentax *ist-DL is a basic DSLR great for a first time digital user like my self, It's a great option for some one just starting out without a lot of cash.
3/14/2006 1:26:41 PM
 
Joshua Parker 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 7:11:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 7:11:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 7:11:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 7:11:34 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/1/2006 7:11:34 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
i love it. the quality is really amazing. i am very pleased. it is also easy to learn. the controls are convenient and the screen is incredible!
3/1/2006 7:11:34 AM
 
Dave T 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 6:31:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 6:31:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 6:31:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 6:31:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/13/2006 6:31:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I really love this camera.It is my first SLR.I like that it uses AA rechargables.I had the Olympus for 1 weekend and returned it.It just felt awkward to me as well as cheaply made.My other camera is an Olympus digital 300 Stylus (built like a tank).After fighting for 5 minutes to get the lens hood on as well as being annoyed with the cheap feel of the body, I returned it.I paid about $250 less (after buying a 55-200 to go along with the 18-55 kit).As far as I'm concerned, the Olympus wins in megapixles but loses in build quality, ergonics, and ease of use .. no comparison at all!!!
2/13/2006 6:31:18 PM
 
Pam Kliment 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 6:46:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 6:46:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 6:46:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 6:46:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/5/2006 6:46:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
i love both my cameras
2/5/2006 6:46:56 PM
 
Michelle Lea  Guinn
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/3/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 4:09:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 4:09:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 4:09:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 4:09:02 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 4:09:02 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
LOVE IT, LOVE IT, LOVE IT!!! I grew up with my dad using Pentax, so naturaly it is the camera I'm most familier with. I have the K1000 and the lenses work great with the *ist DS. Light weight and very easy to use. Not to many bells and whistles which is nice, just straight to the point. mlg~
1/12/2006 4:09:02 PM
 
Kayla  5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:26:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:26:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:26:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:26:39 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/3/2006 11:26:39 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The brand is not as popular as the others, but I love my camera. It has great picture quality and I can interchange the lens from my Pentax 35 mm camera. It is also really simple to operate.
1/3/2006 11:26:39 PM
 
Charles G. Borden
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/8/2002
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 6:44:44 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 6:44:44 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 6:44:44 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 6:44:44 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/22/2005 6:44:44 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Pretty new so I am not sure yet. So far it seems easy to use and I like the results. I have been shooting in RAW format so I can tweek them later.
12/22/2005 6:44:44 AM
 
Hiroshi  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:50:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:50:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:50:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:50:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/13/2005 7:50:14 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Light and Cool
12/13/2005 7:50:14 PM
 
Nicole R. Nash-Arnold 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 4:42:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 4:42:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 4:42:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 4:42:15 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/2/2005 4:42:15 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best camera that I have owned to date. The product that I achieve from this camera is the best that I have been able to achieve so far. Love the functionality. This particular model has a larger screen that this model has had in the past which is very useful.
10/2/2005 4:42:15 PM
 
Agris Miks
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/6/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 12:20:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 12:20:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 12:20:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 12:20:29 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/19/2005 12:20:29 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
simple and so easy to work with it. I love lens mount.
9/19/2005 12:20:29 PM
 
Col Smith 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 8:19:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 8:19:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 8:19:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 8:19:48 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/13/2005 8:19:48 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Bought for close-up photography of native flowers Results are great... Very user friendly, still getting to know all options.
9/13/2005 8:19:48 AM
 
Kevin Wood
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/8/2002
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 2:15:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 2:15:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 2:15:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 2:15:10 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/13/2005 2:15:10 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Just bought it. Love it. Takes great pictures. This is fun compared to my film Pentax ZX-30.
8/13/2005 2:15:10 PM
 

30 Reviews  

Buy *ist DL Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com