*ist DL Digital SLR Camera


Pentax

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Digital SLR Cameras

Edge of a Petal
View photos created with this camera

The *ist DL Digital SLR Camera

Features:


  • 2.5-inch LCD monitor
  • Powered by 4 AA-size batteries (alkaline included, rechargeable
    NiMH recommended)
  • 6.1-megapixel sensor captures enough detail to create
    photo-quality 14-by-19-inch prints
  • Includes wide to moderate wide-angle lens
  • Store images on separately sold Secure Digital memory cards


© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 30 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Henrik juul Petersen 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a strikingly competent camera - once you get to know it. You need to know the basics of exposure to get the outstanding results that this camera is capable of, in full auto it is not really convincing. Great quality feel, too, extremely good and simple handling,and a menu than can be seen even by elderly eyes. Compact, and uses AAs, which is fine when travelling. A fine photographers tool, I am on my second DL, in between I tried Nikon, Canon and Minolta, but eventually returned to the DL. I hang on to it even though I have added a K10D, the DL`s small size and siplicity (and iso 3200) being an advantage. Highly recommended, but only to those who like to invest a little more in their photography than to point and shoot.

6/8/2007 11:03:30 AM
 
Mark Keech 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
My first digital SLR. I love being able to control focus and exposure so easily and fire it off quickly.
7/5/2006 4:32:53 PM
 
Donald P. Courville 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I love this camera. It's my first DSLR, and I agree with the reviewer that said the reviews were a bit harsh.. What the review said was, "some functions are buried in menus". But I didn't find them difficult to navigate. The ONLY thing I can see in need of an upgrade is the 6mp sensor, but Pentax is coming out with a 10 mp DSLR soon..
6/23/2006 5:23:16 AM
 
J Murtha 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm a novice and this is my first SLR so it's hard for my to articulate any likes or dislikes. Still learnin'.
6/20/2006 7:07:45 PM
 
Stephen  Bath
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/30/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had my Pentax DL for 7 months now, done over 4000 shots with it with everything from pinhole images (adapted Jessop's PK Mount Bodycap) to seascapes, model/studio work, classic car road runs, weddings/events and found it to be reliable as anything. I use Sigma, Pentax and Tamron lenses and the camera is much easier to set up than the reviews said. I just hope the DL2 will prove to be the perfect replacement.
6/19/2006 6:22:45 AM
 
Darren R. Varney
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/18/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Ideal budget DSLR. Takes all lenses Pentax has ever made plus any lens made for K-mount bayonet or M42 screw. The only limitation I have found so far is finding a suitable external flash, due to the P-TTL metering.
6/18/2006 8:58:59 AM
 
Donald P. Courville 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera got fairly good reviews in Popular Photography magazine. One thing they didn't like a lot was some of the functions are buried in menus, but I didn't find it difficult to use. It holds well in my hand, is light, and I LOVE the 2.5 inch LCD. Low-light can be a bit tricky, but not that bad for the autofocus. Overall, it's easy to use and takes great quality photos.
6/3/2006 7:21:17 PM
 
Marcia J. Hammler
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/27/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
There is delay between snapping the photo and capturing it - makes it easier to take spontaneous shots. It is a bit heavy which can ge tiresome after a while.
6/1/2006 9:07:40 PM
 
Linda Rampant 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
So Far so good, I haven't had it very long.
6/1/2006 8:18:37 PM
 
Shannon Beauford
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/31/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is a great camera! it's perfect for a first DSLR. with preset picture modes and manual controls for full creative control, continuous shooting at 2.5 fps, and very crisp pictures with little to no noise. What noise you may encounter can be easily filtered out without making your shot look too smoothed, blurred, or over-filtered.
and battery life is exceptional...I use Energizer rechargable 2500 mah and can take 300+ shots before needing a recharge.
5/12/2006 12:34:11 PM
 
Terri McMillon 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good camera although the auto focus does have some limitations with close up photography. It is also difficult to get pictures in low light situations.
5/9/2006 5:09:17 PM
 

First 10 of 30 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy *ist DL Digital SLR Camera from Amazon.com