AT-1 35mm SLR Camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

4:30 preshoot
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Crys Rickard
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/11/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 1:31:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 1:31:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 1:31:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 1:31:24 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/11/2006 1:31:24 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
My very first film camera I ever bought for school and learning photography. Its a super all manual camera, not a lot of modern camera functions. Lenses can be a bit hard to find now and then, but i still love this one, and its light meter still works spot on!!
5/11/2006 1:31:24 AM
 
Nicole M. Tomlin 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 8:08:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 8:08:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 8:08:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 8:08:00 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2006 8:08:00 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
this is an antique camera but created some amazing photos.
1/17/2006 8:08:00 PM
 
Josh Adelson 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 11:55:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 11:55:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 11:55:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 11:55:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/5/2005 11:55:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is nearly 30 years old. It was the first camera I ever bought for myself, and it still works great. I rarely use it since going digital, but it comes in handy when I need a greater range of focal lengths than my digital's built-in lens offers. Also, it has a lot of sentimental value for me.
11/5/2005 11:55:30 AM
 
Jamie M. Whiddon
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 11:31:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 11:31:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 11:31:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 11:31:42 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/29/2005 11:31:42 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera was passed down to me by my father. He purchased it about 25-30 years ago. I am using this camera to learn more about photography and until I decide & learn what kind of digital camera would be best for me. This is an EXCELLENT camera but is somewhat difficult to hold and take shots quickly unless using the tripod.
6/29/2005 11:31:42 AM
 
doug Nelson
DougNelsonPhoto.com
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 11:16:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 11:16:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 11:16:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 11:16:51 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2005 11:16:51 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera shines when you want to go light. The AT-1 and the FD 35 f2.8 would be a great backpacking camera. Despite its cheap-looking construction, with gaps between parts, it has a great reliability record, unlike the also featherweight T-60. I don't like the way the needle and circle get lost when shooting dark scenes, but I can live with it. Canon cheaped out by not including exposure compensation. KEH.com recommends using only a silver-oxide battery with the AT-1. You will definitely learn the basics with the AT-1. You have no choice.
1/5/2005 11:16:51 AM
 
Sandra C. Pharr 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 7:16:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 7:16:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 7:16:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 7:16:21 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2004 7:16:21 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the camera I started SLR's with and I still use it from time to time. It have been a great camera.
7/31/2004 7:16:21 AM
 
Matt M. L'Etoile 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 9:14:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 9:14:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 9:14:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 9:14:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/8/2004 9:14:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I would rate every singer Canon FD camera a 10. No other camera at the time came even close to rivaling the Canon FD system. The AT-1 is among some of the best cameras in the world. It is INCREDIBLY reliable and will keep on shooting for many many years
7/8/2004 9:14:45 AM
 
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 4:47:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 4:47:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 4:47:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 4:47:01 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/17/2004 4:47:01 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the simpleness of using this camera. Yet, you get great results and I created them myself!
2/17/2004 4:47:01 AM
 
Rebecca Owen 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 3:09:09 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 3:09:09 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 3:09:09 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 3:09:09 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/9/2004 3:09:09 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
I like this camera for ease of transport and quick shooting capabilities but would like to go digital soon.
1/9/2004 3:09:09 PM
 
Becky Gossett 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 11:54:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 11:54:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 11:54:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 11:54:39 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/29/2003 11:54:39 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Coming from someone who knows relativly nothing about cameras, (but is quickly learning)I love this camera. It's totally manual, so it forces me to think before I snap the picture.
12/29/2003 11:54:39 AM
 
Nancy Mueller Shepherd 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 9:07:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 9:07:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 9:07:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 9:07:51 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/6/2003 9:07:51 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
It's my "old reliable"....I also have a Canon T70 but go back to using this camera because I like the total manual control I have over exposure, setting etc....
10/6/2003 9:07:51 AM
 

First 10 of 12 Reviews  (see all user reviews)