AL-1 35mm SLR camera


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Manual Focus SLR Cameras

Football in Actio...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Jesse C. Plummer
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/2/2007
3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 1:50:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 1:50:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 1:50:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 1:50:31 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/4/2006 1:50:31 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
This is a rather old camera. I inherited from my Dad when he passed. He used it to take nature pictures. He enjoyed the wildlife aspects of it more that the plants and trees. He found a place not far from the house where there are alligators and he enjoyed taking pictures of the gators.
6/4/2006 1:50:31 PM
 
Randy Brasch 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 7:02:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 7:02:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 7:02:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 7:02:38 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/31/2005 7:02:38 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Takes excellent photo's in the auto matic mode. I like the focus aide, though I wish it worked in low light conditions. I find it difficult to use at times as it is an aperature priority camera as opposed to my AE1. I wish that someone would have told me that it does not have any timed shutter speeds under 1/30 sec (other than the bulb and or automatic settings).
1/31/2005 7:02:38 PM
 
Tim Saunders
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/20/2004
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 2:45:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 2:45:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 2:45:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 2:45:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/20/2004 2:45:21 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I actually didnt purchase this camera, but it was handed down to me when i was in high school. It has served me well for many years, and much abuse, and has travelled to numerous destinations. I have had only had minor repairs done to it, and it has snapped a lot of frames.
3/20/2004 2:45:21 PM
 
Dave  4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 12:58:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 12:58:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 12:58:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 12:58:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 12:58:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I have had this camera for more than 20 years and it never let me down.
2/1/2004 12:58:59 PM
 
Richard W. Turk 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 8:24:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 8:24:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 8:24:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 8:24:44 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/1/2004 8:24:44 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I use my al-1 for action mostly I really enjoy the view finder (qf) quick focus feature. This feature is great for photographers who are opticly challanged. The camera is light weight and very attractive although its kind of bulky. It does have a good grip feature where the AAA batteries fit.Yes its a keeper!!
2/1/2004 8:24:44 AM
 
Janice Rios 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 7:14:27 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 7:14:27 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 7:14:27 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 7:14:27 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/30/2003 7:14:27 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Grandma won this camera. I acquired it later. I like it, have always wanted a Cannon. My camera of choice is Minolta.
7/30/2003 7:14:27 AM
 
Zoltan Buday 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 3:23:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 3:23:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 3:23:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 3:23:21 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/17/2003 3:23:21 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Excellent camera for all uses. I've always loved using the Canon A-1 for all my photographs.
7/17/2003 3:23:21 PM
 

7 Reviews