Lumix DMC-FZ30 Digital Camera


Panasonic

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Mighty might!
View photos created with this camera

The Lumix DMC-FZ30 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Powered by Lithium-ion battery pack (included); stores images on SD memory cards (32 MB card included)
  • 8-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 16-by-22-inch enlargements
  • 12x optical zoom Mega Optical Image Stabilization; free-angle 2.0-inch LCD display
  • Continuous AF keeps moving subjects in focus; AF Assist Lamp helps in dim lighting
  • Unlimited Consecutive Shooting allows you to shoot 3 frames per second at full resolution until your memory card is full

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


65 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Nancie M. DeMellia
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2003
Contact Nancie
Nancie's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
OMG OMG
I love this camera!!
I am still learning how to do all the great things!!
I need more lenses more!!!!
3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM
 
George Tzafos 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best bridge camera I even owned.
Once you really learn to use the camera, you can do miracles and get extremely good results.
11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the best, non whole frame camera I've had. But to be honest, I've only had two --the Canon S2-IS and the Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30.

Recommended to me by Peter Hammer after my total hip replacement (but before a total knee replacement) to take on a trip to Greece, I've found myself absolutely amazed with this camera.

The lens is very sharp, and the zoom is incredible. When we rounded Italy's toe, I was still able to capture images of the land and its buildings from afar, as the images were amazing. I wish I had it when we went to China in 2005, as the only lens I could take due to weight was the Canon's 28-135 mm with my Canon Elan 7E, and in many ways, I could not get in close enough. With this camera, moving in close is not the issue --it's having enough light.

One of the few problems with this camera is that it is very noisy at low light. However, it was recommended that I use lower ISO's for better quality, which I did.

Overall, this is an amazing camera, especially for those who know something about photography. But even for those who don't, it's a camera in which to grow your skills.

10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM
 
Linda  Sabiston
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/7/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the FZ30. It produces crisp clean images and the 12X zoom with the motion stabilizer is fantastic. It offers many features in an easy to use fomat.
I have two small issue however. First, the noise in low light conditions second is the chromatic abberation in high contrast shots. Other than that, it's a great camera.
11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM
 
Sara J. West
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/25/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had digital cameras of all makes and models. My favorite was an Olympus C-3000Z which I dropped and broke. I have had Fuji, Olympus, Nikon, etc. I received this as a birthday gift with a teleconverter, and 4 filters. With 2 1/2 weeks of using it I can easily say that I would stick to Panasonic. I like the feel of the camera and the fact the lens doesn't extend externally. Colors are fab. Also the main reason I wanted it was because of the image stabilization. I have taken photos handheld that I could never have captured with any of the others.
9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM
 
Eric E. Cobb
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/25/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have owned and used all the Panasonic DMC-FZ10, 20, and now the 30 model. This camera has all the features that the more expensive models for half the cost. I donít think you can buy a better camera for light weight, great lens, and now the model has a better low light taking capability then previous models, and takes a great clear picture with great color. The 10, and 20 models have an almost one hand operation capability while the 30 needs two hands the left to operate the zoom. The FZ30 also has the rotate-able viewing screen on the back of the camera but Panasonic fell short when rotating 360 degrees. This could have been better as this was one of the reasons I purchased this camera. I was disappointed. I have other SLR digital camera but the Panasonic is the one I seem to always carry with because it is user friendly, the 1 to 12 zoom lens doesnít protrude out like a comparable zoom lens would with other cameras, making it a good camera to use in tight spaces. I would recommend purchasing the extended warranty with this camera and any other with all the complexity and stabilization motors, more is likely to go wrong. This has paid off with the first model Iíve owned. Good luck and happy shooting.
7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM
 
George E. Mahoney 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first Digital Camera. I find it very user friendly and easy to understand. I did some homework before I purchased it and my decision was based on good reviews, other than noise issues. I think it offers good value. I have already invetiagted optional lense attachments for it.
7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM
 
Dale Emmert 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Like optical image stabilizer, light weight, Leica lens
6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM
 
Rachel Leigh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/14/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The panasonic is my first digital. I have enjoyed using it. It has been adequate for my use.
6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM
 
Rachel Leigh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/14/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I use the Panasonic because that is what my husband bought for me and it is better than what i had before. I have been able to take some very nice photos with it but do hope to eventually upgrade.
6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM
 
Mindaugas Kojelis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
a very good bridge - regrettably with a poor low light shots
6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM
 
Nancie M. DeMellia
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2003
Contact Nancie
Nancie's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 9:53:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 9:53:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 9:53:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 9:53:55 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 9:53:55 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/panasonicfz30/
6/13/2006 9:53:55 AM
 
Brent T. Robertson 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 11:16:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 11:16:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 11:16:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 11:16:21 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/9/2006 11:16:21 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Beautiful Camera, easy to use and loaded with features. Also very light weight.
6/9/2006 11:16:21 PM
 
Alexandra Sandlin 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 9:03:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 9:03:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 9:03:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 9:03:55 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/5/2006 9:03:55 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Fully Digital. Great Leica telephoto lens.
6/5/2006 9:03:55 AM
 
Steve Wadlan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 8:28:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 8:28:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 8:28:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 8:28:13 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 8:28:13 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A good all in one camera. Low light use not so good. A good zoom range and reasonable macro.Nice feel to this camera.
5/29/2006 8:28:13 AM
 
Steve Wadlan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 5/29/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 4:58:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 4:58:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 4:58:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 4:58:56 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/29/2006 4:58:56 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
A good all in one Camera with a good zoom lens. Reasonable macro facility. Low light performance could be better. High speed focus is good.
5/29/2006 4:58:56 AM
 
Joanne M. Lane 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2006 9:26:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2006 9:26:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2006 9:26:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2006 9:26:02 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2006 9:26:02 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This camera is an excellent camera for photographers who want point and shoot and also the ability to use creative controls. The 12x optical zoom is great! I also really like the image stabalizer. This camera also lets you change megapixel size to get greater optical zoom!
5/28/2006 9:26:02 PM
 
TOM MICHAEL KULCZYCKI 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2006 9:13:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2006 9:13:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2006 9:13:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2006 9:13:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 5/28/2006 9:13:28 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
focusing a bit slow
5/28/2006 9:13:28 AM
 
Craig Koteles 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 1:02:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 1:02:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 1:02:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 1:02:33 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/26/2006 1:02:33 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have not owed it long, but from the little I have used it, it is one of the best digital cameras I have seen for the price.
4/26/2006 1:02:33 PM
 
Ailsa R. Davis 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 6:30:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 6:30:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 6:30:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 6:30:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/23/2006 6:30:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
beautiful camera 8mega pixels 12 x optical zoom digital slr. comfortable and easy to handle
4/23/2006 6:30:58 AM
 
Cameron Mackie 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 10:12:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 10:12:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 10:12:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 10:12:21 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 10:12:21 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great camera, does just about everything an entry level DSLR does for a fraction of the cost, only bad thing is the high noise levels above 100 ISO but can be improved with software like Neat Image
4/21/2006 10:12:21 PM
 
Cameron Mackie 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 5:46:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 5:46:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 5:46:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 5:46:58 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/21/2006 5:46:58 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Does just about everything as an entry level DSLR for fraction of the cost.
4/21/2006 5:46:58 PM
 
Annette Smieja 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 11:10:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 11:10:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 11:10:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 11:10:57 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/18/2006 11:10:57 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love my camera more and more all the time as I learn more about what it can do. It isn't for the average person who is used to point and shoot. I was real frustrated at first, but have taken a class and read the manual and now feel much more comfortable and knowledgable. I love that it has a big flip out LCD display screen. I am happy with the anti-shake feature and really like the placement of the dials and buttons.
4/18/2006 11:10:57 AM
 
Emre Eken
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/15/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 11:08:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 11:08:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 11:08:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 11:08:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/15/2006 11:08:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Just using for 2 weeks. I liked everything of it. I am a beginner photographer and reading "a better photo guide to digital photography" by J. Miotke. I'm learning a lot of new things and using them on my new camera. It has full manual capabilities.
4/15/2006 11:08:07 AM
 
Glenn Corrigan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 10:22:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 10:22:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 10:22:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 10:22:18 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 10:22:18 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
great
4/5/2006 10:22:18 PM
 
Glenn Corrigan 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 10:20:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 10:20:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 10:20:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 10:20:10 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 4/5/2006 10:20:10 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
so far everything is great i have only had it for two weeks and already i have been able to get some great pics and the quallity is beautiful the camera is an 8mp with a 12* optical zoom the lens is a leica dc it is able to be used by anyone as with the settings you can use the fully auto of fully manaul or anywhere in between i am really happy with this camera and am looking forward to getting some great pics fpr years to come :)
4/5/2006 10:20:10 PM
 
Jan M. Sarazen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/15/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:36:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:36:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:36:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:36:59 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:36:59 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just got the camera today,I'm pleased with the results!!
3/30/2006 4:36:59 PM
 
Jan M. Sarazen
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/15/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:25:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:25:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:25:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:25:07 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/30/2006 4:25:07 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
just got the camera,but I'm liking the results so far!
3/30/2006 4:25:07 PM
 
Nathalie Beaurin
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/21/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:33:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:33:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:33:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:33:12 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/28/2006 4:33:12 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love everything about this camera, but I haven't used it to its max I guess, just learning it
3/28/2006 4:33:12 PM
 
Jennifer N. Mazza
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 8:10:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 8:10:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 8:10:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 8:10:33 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 8:10:33 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This camera is great! You can use it for anything and pictures come out beautiful!
3/19/2006 8:10:33 PM
 
Gary S. Berman 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 5:37:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 5:37:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 5:37:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 5:37:46 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/19/2006 5:37:46 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Large 12x zoom. Excellent outdoor camera,fast response and shutter. Excellent auto focus.
3/19/2006 5:37:46 PM
 
Christina M. Rice
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/15/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 9:53:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 9:53:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 9:53:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 9:53:16 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 9:53:16 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
It is a 8 meg. and 12x zoom camera. It is a SLR type for a fraction of the price. I think it has great picture quality.
3/15/2006 9:53:16 PM
 
Marek Zietek 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 11:22:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 11:22:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 11:22:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 11:22:08 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/28/2006 11:22:08 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
fz30 very good, extra zoom, almost perfect - almost because of big noise over iso 100
2/28/2006 11:22:08 AM
 
Corinne Welp
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/13/2006
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:47:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:47:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:47:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:47:26 AM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/14/2006 7:47:26 AM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Don't know yet really. Just bought it. Stabilization seems to work well. Using the dials for shutter speed and focusing is something I have to learn. Zooming by hand is good and the manual focus is also nice. It's heavier than my previous camera. And the colours are not as vibrant.
2/14/2006 7:47:26 AM
 
Betty Mercey 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 7:22:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 7:22:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 7:22:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 7:22:14 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/12/2006 7:22:14 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great camera with many possibilities.
2/12/2006 7:22:14 AM
 
Thomas S. Pipia
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/16/2004
Contact Thomas
Thomas's Gallery
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 7:31:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 7:31:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 7:31:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 7:31:01 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/11/2006 7:31:01 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Love the bigger zoom capabilities, the intuitive controls and manual zoom ring.
2/11/2006 7:31:01 PM
 
Chris  T. Arneson 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 8:55:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 8:55:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 8:55:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 8:55:14 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/10/2006 8:55:14 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Not a fan of the high noise, even though it isnt too bad. A little software and im shooting cleaner than cameras twice the price. I like the super zoom lense. its great. I dont like the lcd viewfinder, but i guess its the only way you could have the great features on this camera.
2/10/2006 8:55:14 PM
 
Nina C. Fitzgerald 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 1:28:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 1:28:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 1:28:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 1:28:12 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 2/7/2006 1:28:12 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love this camera... Panasonic really made some excellent changes with this years' model. To include the new zoom/focus rings on the lense. By far the most useful feature this year is the flipscreen. I have had mixed results in low light conditions; however, this may be completely my fault. But I must say... This camera is my best friend!
2/7/2006 1:28:12 PM
 
Phillipa Judd 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:32:58 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/30/2006 8:32:58 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
amazing camera-very user friendly
1/30/2006 8:32:58 PM
 
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 12:21:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 12:21:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 12:21:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 12:21:59 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 12:21:59 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
clear pictures 12x optical zoom
1/16/2006 12:21:59 PM
 
Vicki Hunt
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2004
Contact Vicki
Vicki's Gallery
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 3:36:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 3:36:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 3:36:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 3:36:11 AM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/16/2006 3:36:11 AM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
Brand new
1/16/2006 3:36:11 AM
 
Swami Gurupremananda
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/1/2004
Contact Swami
Swami's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 2:43:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 2:43:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 2:43:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 2:43:08 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 2:43:08 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Lica lens 35 to 420mm, One click Apeture and Speed adjustment, RAW mode.
1/12/2006 2:43:08 PM
 
William Moore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/17/2002
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 7:49:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 7:49:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 7:49:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 7:49:58 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/12/2006 7:49:58 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Still in my experimental stage....What I consider to be Excellent about the camera body 1. Ergonomics although the right grip might be too deep for smaller hands. 2. Weight 3. Tripod threads are metal and inline with the lens 4. EVF at 235,000 pixels is clear, bright and I haven't found a need to use the LCD screen which at 235,000 pixels is a work of art. 5. Manual Zoom Ring fluid damped is as good as the one on my Canon Elan II. 6. Manual Focus set on mode 2 along with the EVF pixels makes it easy to get good focus along with the button on the lens to aid in manual mode. 7. Shutter button perfect position. 8. Exterior buttons and 4 way controller. 9. Thumb rest (no buttons to worry about getting in the way.) 10. Aperture Dial (90% of my photos are in aperture mode.) 11. Diopter adjustment 12. Secure Digital card, USB and I0 and battery doors. 13.
55mm threads for filters etc., I use cir. polarizer, ND filter, Split field ND filters. 14. LCD rests facing in to protect the screen. Next review will include assessment of the menu, display, and 4 way controller.
1/12/2006 7:49:58 AM
 
Wendie Sakakeeny 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 7:17:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 7:17:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 7:17:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 7:17:46 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/6/2006 7:17:46 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's unfair to come to any conclusions...I've just had this since Christmas, and I still have tons to learn. While the FZ30 has a huge range of options, they are all pretty intuitive. The 12x optical Leica lens is really exciting...the camera balances and handles well. since Boston's weather has been pretty gloomy...I've had only cloudy and indoor ops. Grabs focus nicely, does well in low light...give me a few months for a full story.
1/6/2006 7:17:46 PM
 
Les M. Ryan
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/20/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 3:45:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 3:45:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 3:45:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 3:45:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/5/2006 3:45:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is my next best camera. I bring it with me when the size and weight of my Canon 20D is an issue. Its light weight, 11:1 zoom, f/2.8, and image stabilization make it a great take anywhere camera.
1/5/2006 3:45:51 PM
 
David Procter
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/2/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 6:40:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 6:40:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 6:40:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 6:40:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/4/2006 6:40:33 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I'm enjoying this camera and am still learning how to use it. V difficult to use in lower light. High ISO 200+ very noisy.
1/4/2006 6:40:33 AM
 
Airn Mcpharlaine
BetterPhoto Member Since: 12/28/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:08:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:08:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:08:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:08:51 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/28/2005 11:08:51 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
It's a damn good camera. I'm not going to get into it. go to dpreview.com if you're curious.
12/28/2005 11:08:51 PM
 
William Moore
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/17/2002
2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 6:01:57 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 6:01:57 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 6:01:57 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 6:01:57 PM 2.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/27/2005 6:01:57 PM
Rating: 2.5 out of 5
in test stage to see how noisy it is and to test it's color, lens quality (sharpness)
12/27/2005 6:01:57 PM
 
Dondy Dona 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 3:24:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 3:24:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 3:24:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 3:24:53 AM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/25/2005 3:24:53 AM
Rating: 3 out of 5
i borrow this camera from my friend
12/25/2005 3:24:53 AM
 
Angus M. Roberts 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 5:21:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 5:21:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 5:21:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 5:21:23 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/21/2005 5:21:23 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Ease of use and quality of image are excellent for this class of camera.
12/21/2005 5:21:23 AM
 
R.C. Wilson Jr.
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/22/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 2:53:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 2:53:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 2:53:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 2:53:10 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/11/2005 2:53:10 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Almost the same features of the FZ10, but with 8 megapixels instead of 4. Zooming is now done on the lens instead of a button on the camera(saving on battery power). For now will give a 5, but will check back when have had time to evaluate.
12/11/2005 2:53:10 AM
 
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 2:08:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 2:08:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 2:08:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 2:08:56 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2005 2:08:56 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Excellent 8 MP resolution. Leitz lens, flexible controls.
12/10/2005 2:08:56 PM
 
Josep M. Alegre 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 11:48:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 11:48:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 11:48:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 11:48:27 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/5/2005 11:48:27 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Everything perfect except noise at high ISO
12/5/2005 11:48:27 PM
 
James A. Hamilton 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2005 8:52:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2005 8:52:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2005 8:52:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2005 8:52:45 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/3/2005 8:52:45 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is my second Panasonic FZ camera and I love it! It is the best digital camera on the market in this price range.
12/3/2005 8:52:45 AM
 
Steven Brys
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 11:18:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 11:18:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 11:18:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 11:18:07 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/16/2005 11:18:07 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I love exerything about this 12X zoom marvel. From the way it feels in my hand, to the high quality photos, the ability to shoot in Raw, the variant angle LCD, and to its wonderful good looks. I even love the confident sound the shutter makes each time it is pressed.
11/16/2005 11:18:07 AM
 
Michael Wilkie 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 12:26:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 12:26:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 12:26:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 12:26:19 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/15/2005 12:26:19 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
this is the best digital SLR available. Strong 8.3 megapixels and 12x zoom within a lens that doesn't need to be changed make it a wonder to work with. Throw in the Image Stabilization feature and you'll never have a blurry shot. ISO is a bit limited, but nothing a little editing can't fix. The versatility of this camera and all the functions available for the price give it top billing!
11/15/2005 12:26:19 PM
 
anonymous A.  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 9:34:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 9:34:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 9:34:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 9:34:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/14/2005 9:34:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Only the high noise put me off upgrading to this model from my FZ10, but for all those who love this camera, the very inexpensive PURE IMAGE program from Mediachance.com turns noisy Lumix pictures into photos that equal my Canon D20.
11/14/2005 9:34:09 PM
 
Erik Bjers
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/17/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 8:17:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 8:17:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 8:17:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 8:17:45 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 8:17:45 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Just got this camera about a week ago, and have only had one chance to use it. It takes great close-up and distant shots. As others have said, Iíve noticed a little noise with low light shots, but I keep my Fuji E550 for night shots (takes great nigh shots). I got the FZ30 as a new primary camera because of the 12X zoom and 8 mega pixels, plus the ability to attach 55mm lenses and filters, not to mention the different aspect ratios (3x2 and 16x9). Over all a great camera.
11/8/2005 8:17:45 PM
 
Tom Gross
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/16/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 4:18:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 4:18:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 4:18:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 4:18:03 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/8/2005 4:18:03 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Great Lens. Mechanical zoom is much better than the electronic ones. 8 megapixels and RAW shooting are big pluses. Biggest negative is noise, especially at higher ISO and in darker light.
11/8/2005 4:18:03 PM
 
Mitch Spence
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/16/2004
Contact Mitch
Mitch's Gallery
3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 12:52:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 12:52:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 12:52:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 12:52:00 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/6/2005 12:52:00 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
I just got this camera to have a "carry along" camera. I've been using a digital SLR exclusively, so I'm having a learning curve here, particularly about dealing with an electronic viewfinder, which is very different from the optical SLR viewfinder and is giving me some fits. I do, so far, think, however, that this is a very nice compact and lightweight, comparatively, "semi-SLR," with a pretty extraordinary lens. My rating is only in comparison to an SLR. If I were to compare it to other cameras in this class, it would be higher. At the moment, there is no easy way to deal with its raw files. I'm working on that.
11/6/2005 12:52:00 PM
 
Ciprian Truta 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 12:19:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 12:19:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 12:19:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 12:19:07 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/23/2005 12:19:07 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Impressive 12x optical zoom, high quality image stabilizer, hi-res LCD and EVF, high quality image output, full manual control(zoom, focus, aperture and shutter) lots of nice features, menus and settings, solid constructed.
10/23/2005 12:19:07 PM
 
William P. Titus
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/27/2004
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 7:54:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 7:54:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 7:54:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 7:54:05 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/14/2005 7:54:05 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Outstanding features: Glass to Leica standards 12x zoom Image stablization Start up by 1 second Up to 8 megapixel
10/14/2005 7:54:05 PM
 
Thane H. Myers
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/25/2005
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 3:36:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 3:36:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 3:36:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 3:36:41 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/28/2005 3:36:41 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
After over 750 shots with this camera, I find I like it a lot, with perhaps one exception: there is still more grain/noise than I like to see, with images shot in low-light conditions. But it has many positive traits, that balance this out.
9/28/2005 3:36:41 PM
 
Kim L. Clark 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 7:32:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 7:32:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 7:32:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 7:32:32 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/25/2005 7:32:32 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The camera is great if you do mostly manual focas, image may be blurry when using auto focas
9/25/2005 7:32:32 PM
 
Robin Nichols
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/22/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:32:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:32:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:32:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:32:13 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/31/2005 8:32:13 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Only just released, huge improvement over Lumix FZ20! It's pretty much everything you'd want in a DLSR except for the fact that the lenses can't be changed. Why would you want to with a focal length 'reach' between 35mm and 432mm!
7/31/2005 8:32:13 PM
 

65 Reviews  

Buy Lumix DMC-FZ30 Digital Camera from Amazon.com