Lumix DMC-FZ30 Digital Camera


Panasonic

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : Digital Cameras : Compact Digital Cameras with Exposure Control

Payer
View photos created with this camera

The Lumix DMC-FZ30 Digital Camera

Features:


  • Powered by Lithium-ion battery pack (included); stores images on SD memory cards (32 MB card included)
  • 8-megapixel CCD captures enough detail for photo-quality 16-by-22-inch enlargements
  • 12x optical zoom Mega Optical Image Stabilization; free-angle 2.0-inch LCD display
  • Continuous AF keeps moving subjects in focus; AF Assist Lamp helps in dim lighting
  • Unlimited Consecutive Shooting allows you to shoot 3 frames per second at full resolution until your memory card is full

© Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


First 10 of 65 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Nancie M. DeMellia
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/14/2003
Contact Nancie
Nancie's Gallery
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
OMG OMG
I love this camera!!
I am still learning how to do all the great things!!
I need more lenses more!!!!
3/29/2011 11:51:06 AM
 
George Tzafos 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
The best bridge camera I even owned.
Once you really learn to use the camera, you can do miracles and get extremely good results.
11/3/2008 12:08:47 AM
 
Bunny Snow
BetterPhoto Member Since: 11/16/2004
Contact Bunny
Bunny's Gallery
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is the best, non whole frame camera I've had. But to be honest, I've only had two --the Canon S2-IS and the Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ30.

Recommended to me by Peter Hammer after my total hip replacement (but before a total knee replacement) to take on a trip to Greece, I've found myself absolutely amazed with this camera.

The lens is very sharp, and the zoom is incredible. When we rounded Italy's toe, I was still able to capture images of the land and its buildings from afar, as the images were amazing. I wish I had it when we went to China in 2005, as the only lens I could take due to weight was the Canon's 28-135 mm with my Canon Elan 7E, and in many ways, I could not get in close enough. With this camera, moving in close is not the issue --it's having enough light.

One of the few problems with this camera is that it is very noisy at low light. However, it was recommended that I use lower ISO's for better quality, which I did.

Overall, this is an amazing camera, especially for those who know something about photography. But even for those who don't, it's a camera in which to grow your skills.

10/28/2007 11:20:56 AM
 
Linda  Sabiston
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/7/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I love the FZ30. It produces crisp clean images and the 12X zoom with the motion stabilizer is fantastic. It offers many features in an easy to use fomat.
I have two small issue however. First, the noise in low light conditions second is the chromatic abberation in high contrast shots. Other than that, it's a great camera.
11/3/2006 7:04:28 AM
 
Sara J. West
BetterPhoto Member Since: 2/25/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM
Rating: 5 out of 5
I have had digital cameras of all makes and models. My favorite was an Olympus C-3000Z which I dropped and broke. I have had Fuji, Olympus, Nikon, etc. I received this as a birthday gift with a teleconverter, and 4 filters. With 2 1/2 weeks of using it I can easily say that I would stick to Panasonic. I like the feel of the camera and the fact the lens doesn't extend externally. Colors are fab. Also the main reason I wanted it was because of the image stabilization. I have taken photos handheld that I could never have captured with any of the others.
9/3/2006 8:47:34 AM
 
Eric E. Cobb
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/25/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I have owned and used all the Panasonic DMC-FZ10, 20, and now the 30 model. This camera has all the features that the more expensive models for half the cost. I donít think you can buy a better camera for light weight, great lens, and now the model has a better low light taking capability then previous models, and takes a great clear picture with great color. The 10, and 20 models have an almost one hand operation capability while the 30 needs two hands the left to operate the zoom. The FZ30 also has the rotate-able viewing screen on the back of the camera but Panasonic fell short when rotating 360 degrees. This could have been better as this was one of the reasons I purchased this camera. I was disappointed. I have other SLR digital camera but the Panasonic is the one I seem to always carry with because it is user friendly, the 1 to 12 zoom lens doesnít protrude out like a comparable zoom lens would with other cameras, making it a good camera to use in tight spaces. I would recommend purchasing the extended warranty with this camera and any other with all the complexity and stabilization motors, more is likely to go wrong. This has paid off with the first model Iíve owned. Good luck and happy shooting.
7/20/2006 4:58:59 AM
 
George E. Mahoney 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This is my first Digital Camera. I find it very user friendly and easy to understand. I did some homework before I purchased it and my decision was based on good reviews, other than noise issues. I think it offers good value. I have already invetiagted optional lense attachments for it.
7/7/2006 5:52:28 PM
 
Dale Emmert 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Like optical image stabilizer, light weight, Leica lens
6/18/2006 3:14:20 PM
 
Rachel Leigh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/14/2006
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
The panasonic is my first digital. I have enjoyed using it. It has been adequate for my use.
6/14/2006 3:30:41 PM
 
Rachel Leigh
BetterPhoto Member Since: 6/14/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I use the Panasonic because that is what my husband bought for me and it is better than what i had before. I have been able to take some very nice photos with it but do hope to eventually upgrade.
6/14/2006 2:22:36 PM
 
Mindaugas Kojelis
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/17/2006
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
a very good bridge - regrettably with a poor low light shots
6/13/2006 6:17:23 PM
 

First 10 of 65 Reviews  (see all user reviews)

Buy Lumix DMC-FZ30 Digital Camera from Amazon.com