Maxxum 7xi SLR Camera


Minolta

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Cameras : 35mm Film Cameras : Auto Focus SLRs

Upper Antelope Ca...
View photos created with this camera

Back to Photo School?
Learn how to use this camera in a BetterPhoto online photography course.


18 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4 out of 5

4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Matthew M. Schoenfelder 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 6:18:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 6:18:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 6:18:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 6:18:32 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/14/2006 6:18:32 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
An excellent camera for the money. Easy to switch between manual and auto focus while framing a shot, depth of field preview, capable metering and auto-focus system. Solid build quality and a wide array of useful features (again, for the money)eg. mid-reload function, 3 custom pre-sets, mirror-lock, records exposure data, flash compensation dial. Down-sides: Minolta has faded from the camera market after losing the digital SLR battle to Canon and Nikon. My next camera will be a Canon which means of course, buying a whole new set of lenses. I have used the camera for 5 years though and feel that I have definitely gotten my money`s worht out of it.
3/14/2006 6:18:32 AM
 
Fernando De Paz Melendez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/14/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:59:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:59:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:59:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:59:29 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:59:29 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best Film Photo Camera iīve ever had. Sadly, it was stolen. :-( I couldnīt use the "Function Card" feature but the photos i took with it made me fully satisfied.
1/14/2006 5:59:29 PM
 
Fernando De Paz Melendez
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/14/2006
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:57:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:57:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:57:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:57:49 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/14/2006 5:57:49 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
This is the best Film Photo Camera i ever had. Sadly, it was stolen. :-( I couldnīt use the "Function Card" feature but the photos i took with it made me fully satisfied.
1/14/2006 5:57:49 PM
 
Mark  Wayne
BetterPhoto Member Since: 10/31/2005
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 9:08:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 9:08:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 9:08:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 9:08:00 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 11/3/2005 9:08:00 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
Great SLR with 21 worlds first features. Predictive AF and 14 segment metering system work together to detect changes in image magnification to evaluate a scene.
11/3/2005 9:08:00 PM
 
John R. Luton 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 4:22:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 4:22:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 4:22:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 4:22:49 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/23/2005 4:22:49 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I like the flexibility of SLR cameras, like working with film, and the ability to change lenses. Wish I could get the immediate feedback of a digital.
8/23/2005 4:22:49 PM
 
Scott W. Skinner
BetterPhoto Member Since: 8/5/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 3:06:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 3:06:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 3:06:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 3:06:14 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/5/2005 3:06:14 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've had this camera for several years and just love it. Very fast focus and user friendly.
8/5/2005 3:06:14 PM
 
Alvin Stiles
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/26/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:29:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:29:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:29:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:29:02 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/26/2005 8:29:02 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Great camera! Fast in everything from focusing to FPS, nice weight, I find that I can hand hold it at slow shutter speeds and still get a sharp image. I use it mostly for shooting black and white.
7/26/2005 8:29:02 PM
 
Lonnie D. Jones 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2004 6:25:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2004 6:25:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2004 6:25:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2004 6:25:36 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/10/2004 6:25:36 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
My 7xi has been a reliable workhorse for several years now. I rate it in the top 5 for film-based SLR's
12/10/2004 6:25:36 PM
 
Laura Gariano 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 6:21:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 6:21:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 6:21:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 6:21:09 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/17/2004 6:21:09 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Love it. Only detraction is sometimes the autofocus is slow on locking on target.
9/17/2004 6:21:09 PM
 
Ken R. Edwards 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 5:44:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 5:44:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 5:44:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 5:44:24 PM 3 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/1/2004 5:44:24 PM
Rating: 3 out of 5
Nice AutoFocus 35 mm.
9/1/2004 5:44:24 PM
 
Robert Makley 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 2:43:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 2:43:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 2:43:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 2:43:57 PM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/24/2004 2:43:57 PM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Light and easy to work with. All auto setting great for quick shots. Still like to be able to be creative so the manual settings come in handy.
3/24/2004 2:43:57 PM
 
MICHELLE A. PARKE 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 6:07:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 6:07:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 6:07:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 6:07:50 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/17/2004 6:07:50 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Good so far. I need to learn more of the features. I would really like to get a Digital Nikon camera for sports photography, however I have many lens' for my minolta. I need to win the lottery.
1/17/2004 6:07:50 PM
 
Lori Ross 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 7:03:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 7:03:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 7:03:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 7:03:35 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 1/11/2004 7:03:35 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
great SLR - I have the 500MM AF mirror lens and many others for this camera to include lots of filters, etc. I love this camera but not the expense of developing as I don't do my own processing.
1/11/2004 7:03:35 PM
 
chinwenwa osuwa 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 5:34:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 5:34:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 5:34:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 5:34:08 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/28/2003 5:34:08 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
great metering and wonderful pictures.
8/28/2003 5:34:08 AM
 
Sam Ellis 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 6:24:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 6:24:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 6:24:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 6:24:24 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/16/2003 6:24:24 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
A fantastic camera - despite the cost !!!!
7/16/2003 6:24:24 AM
 
Karen M. Kroll
BetterPhoto Member Since: 4/24/2003
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 6:56:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 6:56:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 6:56:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 6:56:30 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2003 6:56:30 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I've had this camera for years and have only turned out beautiful pictures. Would recommend to people starting to become more serious about taking more then average pictures.
6/22/2003 6:56:30 AM
 
Renata Ferenc 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:07:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:07:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:07:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:07:44 PM 3.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/19/2003 9:07:44 PM
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Great Camera. It’s easy to pack, carry, and handle.Has an array of features that will quickly satisfy beginner photographers and yet be valuable tools for photo hobbyists.
6/19/2003 9:07:44 PM
 
Djordje S. Kis 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2002 9:52:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2002 9:52:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2002 9:52:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2002 9:52:33 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/21/2002 9:52:33 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
I purchased it used, for about 100 Eur. Very good quality, for the money. Fast AF and film transport, excellent light mettering. Much better camera than the new amateur Canons or Minoltas. Not so compact body, easy for use. I don't recommend Minolta xi zooms.
8/21/2002 9:52:33 AM
 

18 Reviews