EF-S 17-85 Lens


Canon

Categories: Reviews: Equipment : Lenses : Zoom Lenses

The EF-S 17-85 Lens

Features:

  • f/4-5.6 maximum aperture
  • Micro UltraSonic Motor (USM)
  • EFS mount for EOS 20D and Digital Rebel bodies
  • Canon's Image Stabilization system makes hand-held shots clearer
    17-85mm focal length
  • Wide-angle to telephoto lens

Amazon.com and Its Affiliate, BetterPhoto.com


7 Reviews  

Average Rating: 4.5 out of 5

4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Golden Cameras
 
Sheri L. Lefty
BetterPhoto Member Since: 3/4/2007
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2007 3:48:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2007 3:48:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2007 3:48:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2007 3:48:59 AM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 6/22/2007 3:48:59 AM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This lens is on my camera most of the time. I can get extremely sharp images. The only downside for me is the F/4-5.6, (the IS does help to some degree in that matter) but if all else fails, a tripod works. I use this lens for macros to landscapes. I did get the 70-200 2.8L USM for nature shots though, I can't seem to get close with the 17-85mm with out scaring my subject away.
6/22/2007 3:48:59 AM
 
Rich  4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 2:35:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 2:35:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 2:35:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 2:35:28 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 3/15/2006 2:35:28 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
I bought this one from my older brother who used the cash to move on to more L glass. I agree with the other reviewer that images are kind of soft at wide angle. Otherwise, the IS makes a great safety blanket. While helping a friend do a wedding shoot for a friend, this lens saved our butts. Low light+ISO already bumped to 1600+absolutely NO flash photography in the church=IS to the rescue. My friend wasn't able to capture "the kiss," but I sure did. Other plus: adds heft to my tiny DRebel XT.
3/15/2006 2:35:28 PM
 
Brad Calkins
BetterPhoto Member Since: 7/2/2005
4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 8:08:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 8:08:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 8:08:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 8:08:40 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 12/2/2005 8:08:40 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
This lens is on my camera almost all of the time. I have taken thousands of photos of my son (3 mo old), indoors, without flash with this lens. Canon's most comparable lens, the 17-40mm L lens, wouldn't be nearly as well suited for this purpose, given the number of photos I have taken above 40mm. I do notice light fall off in the corners when taking pictures for panoramic scenes to be stitched together, but suspect I could solve this with a tripod and smaller aperature. The focus speed and accuracy is as good/quiet as I have seen/heard, without having a faster aperature. I think if I was choosing a lens for landscape purposes, I would have opted for the 17-40mm. For taking pictures of family, people, or travel it is the perfect single lens to take with you. Since it is an EF-S lens, the lens hood matches the lens nicely. No zoom creep either!
12/2/2005 8:08:40 PM
 
Ricardo Ribeiro
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/30/2004
4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2005 5:26:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2005 5:26:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2005 5:26:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2005 5:26:02 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/26/2005 5:26:02 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
Ive baught this lens about a couple months ago as an "walk-arround" lens for the 350D... It is a great lens! The zoom range is perfect for 98% of the time! And allthough it is onle f/4-5.6 the Is realy works! Sharpness and colour saturation are very nice... only cons are: it is an EFS lens so can not use on my 35mm camerea; and it is expensive lens. Other than that I recomend this lens as a walk-arround lens for serious amateurs/intermidiate photographers.
9/26/2005 5:26:02 AM
 
Chris Macer 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 9:02:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 9:02:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 9:02:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 9:02:05 AM 4 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 9/6/2005 9:02:05 AM
Rating: 4 out of 5
This is a great lens that is attached to my body 90% of the time. I use it as a travel lens and the only time I take it off is when shooting sports. It is nice and sharp especially between around f/8-11. It has great colors and the IS really works. I can shoot down to about 1/10 handheld if it's not windy and apply a small amount on USM in PS like I usually do anyway. It has internal focusing so polarisers are no hassle. At 17mm it is a little soft in the corners but I rarely shoot this wide anyway. The other disadvantage is it's a little pricey for a f/4 but it's because of the IS and USM focusing. Also, the petal hood is sold seperatley which is a bit rude when you are paying this much for a lens IMHO. All round great walk around lens if you are happy with a slowish min app.
9/6/2005 9:02:05 AM
 
Swapnali Mathkar
BetterPhoto Member Since: 1/3/2004
5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 10:16:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 10:16:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 10:16:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 10:16:37 PM 5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 8/24/2005 10:16:37 PM
Rating: 5 out of 5
bought this as a kit with 20D. and since then I haven't used my older cheap 28-90 on 20D. The results are really great. IS works!
8/24/2005 10:16:37 PM
 
Manish A. Mehta 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 10:59:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 10:59:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 10:59:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 10:59:42 PM 4.5 out of 5 BetterPhoto Cameras 7/27/2005 10:59:42 PM
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Dedicated for 20D. Good lens for studio work and wedding. Image stabilizer is a blessing. Autofocus is very accurate. Image sharpness is wonderful. At 17mm slight distortion. At f/11 the lens performs very well. One thing is missing is that canon should provide lenshood with it when u buy it. Coz it is available seperately and most of the time it is out of stock. I think they should stop this policy of selling lenshood seperately. Cause today i am without the lens hood and it creates lot of problem. I hope canon will cosider this.
7/27/2005 10:59:42 PM
 

7 Reviews  

Buy EF-S 17-85 Lens from Amazon.com